We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Room to improve”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
La Quinta Inn & Suites Birmingham Hoover
Ranked #21 of 80 Hotels in Birmingham
Chicago, Illinois, United States
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Room to improve”
Reviewed November 25, 2012

There is little pride of ownership in this La Quinta. I will start with the positives: The staff is, on the whole, eager to please. They will work with what little they have to try and help with what you need. The location is convenient to the Riverchase Mall area, and there is little noise from the "outside world".

On the other hand: The "fitness room" is a joke. The room is the size of a closet, and the equipment is in disrepair. The laundry facility looks like the target of weekly break-ins: The soap dispenser is empty and has clearly been pried open more than once, the door to the room behind the laundry has obviously been kicked in several times, and lease of all, the prices on the wall are different than the prices on the machines. Bring your own detergent and some brass knuckles.

Breakfast is OK, but not well thought out. It's one thing to offer instant grits in the south, but with no microwave safe bowls on the buffet, how is one to make them (or the oatmeal)? And no real butter for a spread with muffins, bagels, and waffles?

In general: The signs of wear and tear are obvious on doors and in public areas. The furniture in the rooms has seen better days. The gazebo needs maintenance (I'm nitpicking now).

Is it a decent price? Sure. But ownership needs to invest some money in a makeover.

Room Tip: The walls are thin, and being pet friendly, if you are staying next do a dog it sounds like they are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Torrey L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

696 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    263
    200
    121
    65
    47
See reviews for
284
165
54
114
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Rome
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed November 17, 2012

Great hotel, I was there for 3 days working in Tuscaloosa. All the other hotels was booked and this one was the only one I could find. It was game day in Alabama and the other rooms range from 250 to 1000 a night.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with La Quinta

Helpful?
Thank Timothy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Florida
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 14, 2012

We stay at La Quintas all of the country because they are pet friendly. We have always had a great experience except for this nightmare. I was going to my fathers funeral and checked in.....they had us booked in a smoking room and said nothing available except a smaller room (we had to pay for the one we booked) then there was no hot water....we called down to the front desk no one answer....we went down to the front desk...n o one, so we gave up and went to dinner and called the 800 number and they could not get any one to answer either. When we got back to the hotel we went in again an ran into the maintenance person and she tried to get the front desk clerk to come out and she refused......just a total nightmare...hotal needs to be updated...smelly

Room Tip: Do not stay
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KatrinaLange
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2012

This is a very nice hotel at a very reasonable price. Easy check in by helpful staff. Room clean and specious with desk to work at with several outlets in easy reach. All you may need in the room for a comfortable stay. Well position with easy access to many reputable restaurants and a gas station almost next door. Nice little gazebo area just off the breakfast area. Breakfast normal US breakfast hotel fare. I would thoroughly recommend this hotel for a clean, relaxing and comfortable stay.
I would suggest Zapata Mexican Restaurant 2005 County Road 17, Birmingham, AL which is only 2 or 3 minutes away. Good food, service and price.

Room Tip: All rooms inside with elevator to the various floors !
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wilkesworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed October 21, 2012

We stayed here during a baseball tournament. the hotel was great and will stay again next time.. I have never been disappointed in any of the LaQuinta's i have stayed at. Would highly rec. any of them anywhere so far.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with La Quinta

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
7.4 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Birmingham Homewood
6.9 mi away
La Quinta Inn Birmingham / Cahaba Park South
7.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Carlton Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Days Inn Galleria-Birmingham
Days Inn Galleria-Birmingham
#40 of 80 in Birmingham
367 reviews
6.9 mi away
Birmingham Marriott
Birmingham Marriott
#26 of 80 in Birmingham
442 reviews
7.0 mi away
Drury Inn & Suites Birmingham Southeast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Quinta Inn & Suites Birmingham Hoover? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Quinta Inn & Suites Birmingham Hoover

Property: La Quinta Inn & Suites Birmingham Hoover
Address: 120 Riverchase Pkwy E, Birmingham, AL 35244-1811
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alabama > Birmingham
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Birmingham
#17 Romantic Hotel in Birmingham
#19 Family Hotel in Birmingham
#25 Business Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — La Quinta Inn & Suites Birmingham Hoover 2.5*
Number of rooms: 140
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, LaQuinta, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your La Quinta Inn & Suites Birmingham Hoover reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Quinta Inn And Suites Birmingham Hoover
La Quinta Inn & Suites Birmingham Hoover Hotel Birmingham
La Quinta Birmingham
Birmingham La Quinta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing