We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“looks like it's been through a war!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
La Quinta Inn & Suites Birmingham Hoover
Ranked #25 of 79 Hotels in Birmingham
Hoover, Alabama
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“looks like it's been through a war!”
Reviewed October 3, 2012

Stay at La Quinta inn often.First room no a/c, back to front desk, move to another room. Smells bath floors sticky with shoes on, chipping walls, doors look if they were used for drums. Choose somewhere else... Many overherd complants at front desk.!!!!!!!!!

Room Tip: Go to diffrent hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rickyhadaway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

676 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    253
    198
    115
    65
    45
See reviews for
277
162
52
108
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
133 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2012

Fast easy check-in, clean room with comfortable bed. Biggest drawback is the lack of places to eat in close proximity. You have to get back on interstate and drive up another exit to get to a restaurant (even fast-food)!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gulfport, Mississippi
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 4, 2012

My first stay at this hotel went well and without any problems. That's the only reason why I'm rating this "average."
I called the front desk to ask about the air conditioning and the staff member asked if I brought a dog. I said yes and with an attitude, he said "Well you didn't tell me that. Pets aren't allowed on the first floor." First of all, I didn't know that and he didn't ask; next, I heard other dogs barking on this floor and said so. He said if I made sure my dogs kept it down I wouldn't have to move. I find it bad business that I would have to move on my own for their mistake since I checked "pets" on the online reservation. On top of that, the blankets on beds had holes in them and they were out of bar soap.
If it were just one of these problems, it would still have been an okay experience, but the combination of all three (along with one of my keys not working), led to a really miserable stay.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Willofthewisp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Powell
Level Contributor
32 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2012

Booked this room on line. Arrived late at night. Room requested was smoking. Person on duty was nice, gave us our key and up the filthy elevator we went. Opened door to non-smoking room to see bed clothes bunched up on bed (looked like someone may have been under them), fast food cup on nightstand and lights on. Upon return to lobby, manager(?) apologized and said housekeeping marked room as clean. I reiterated that reservation also had been made for a smoking room.
Got to our "new" room and the door was cracked open. No one was inside and the bed was made so we put our stuff down. Bathroom was disgusting (urine stains down side of toilet and on floor). Carpet nasty. A few tiny bugs in bed. Slept on top of bedspread with clothes on and would not even shower in that skank hole.

Room Tip: Keep driving. This place is gross!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Diane F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2012

All around clean and pleasant hotel; very friendly staff. Beautiful outdoor pool deck for those hot summer days. Rooms are nice, clean and comfortable. Didn't get a chance to sample the quality of the breakfast, as I slept in!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with La Quinta

Helpful?
Thank tman4140
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed August 26, 2012

This hotel is in a very good and convenient location. The rooms, serivce, and hotel staff were pleasant and it was very reasonably priced. Breakfast was good. I would recommend it and will stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with La Quinta

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pelham
1 review
Reviewed August 14, 2012

I booked a room on 8/13/12. I checked in at 3:51 PM and by 4:30 I was on my way to the hospital. When I called to explain to the desk clerk, he was very rude to me and told me basically I checked in so the $94.00 I spent is gone. I did get discharged by midnight, but I think that some compensation of some sort should be given besides for rude service. I used to tell my friends about this hotel, but it will never happen again. I have even called several times for the manager and cannot get a call back. This is very unprofessional service from a hotel.

Room Tip: Do not stay there
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mandi H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
7.4 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Birmingham Homewood
7.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Carlton Suites
6.9 mi away
La Quinta Inn Birmingham / Cahaba Park South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 mi away
Birmingham Marriott
Birmingham Marriott
#27 of 79 in Birmingham
428 reviews
2.0 mi away
Days Inn Galleria-Birmingham
Days Inn Galleria-Birmingham
#39 of 79 in Birmingham
351 reviews
4.6 mi away
Red Roof Inn Birmingham South
Red Roof Inn Birmingham South
#56 of 79 in Birmingham
420 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Quinta Inn & Suites Birmingham Hoover? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Quinta Inn & Suites Birmingham Hoover

Property: La Quinta Inn & Suites Birmingham Hoover
Address: 120 Riverchase Pkwy E, Birmingham, AL 35244-1811
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alabama > Birmingham
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Best Value Hotel in Birmingham
#17 Romantic Hotel in Birmingham
#19 Family Hotel in Birmingham
#25 Business Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — La Quinta Inn & Suites Birmingham Hoover 2.5*
Number of rooms: 140
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, LaQuinta, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your La Quinta Inn & Suites Birmingham Hoover reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Quinta Inn And Suites Birmingham Hoover
La Quinta Inn & Suites Birmingham Hoover Hotel Birmingham
La Quinta Birmingham
Birmingham La Quinta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing