We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best place to stay in Birmingham, but . . .”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Sheraton Birmingham
Ranked #31 of 79 Hotels in Birmingham
GreenLeadersSilver level
New York
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Best place to stay in Birmingham, but . . .”
Reviewed December 11, 2012

The property is somewhat run down. The rooms are OK; they are decent-sized and have been updated, but there are problems with the water (sometimes too hot no matter what you do), and the hallways and carpets are dingy. The restaurant is passable, although it sometimes closes befo it's supposed to, and the bar is way too loud and the food way too fried. The staff, however, is exceptionally friendly and helpful; I would give the staff close to a 5-star rating. If there is a convention or some other large gathering at the hotel, it can be very loud, because people hand out in the atrium, and all the rooms on the atrium side of the building can hear the noise reverberating throughout the atrium, which seems to amplify it. A Westin is opening next door in 2013; I suspect that will immediately become the best place to stay in downtown Birmingham.

Room Tip: Tough choice. The atrium rooms can be noisy; the tower rooms are a bit smaller.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RDWilson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark N, General Manager at Sheraton Birmingham, responded to this review, December 14, 2012
Thank you RDWilson for taking the time to review our hotel. It is regrettable that your stay did not meet your expectations; we are aware of some of the challenges that the hotel faces, and we are taking needed steps to help improve our processes.

We appreciate you taking the time to post such positive comments about the team - it’s always great to hear that our guests appreciate our incredible staff at the Sheraton Birmingham Hotel!

Your online review provides our hotel with valuable information; thank you for your comments and I’ll make sure to address your feedback to the team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

951 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    255
    275
    232
    110
    79
See reviews for
158
134
59
422
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (198)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
Reviewed December 10, 2012

I will start with compliment with Bellman Byron Woods who greet us with a smile and handling
of baggage with best of care. The staff check us in short amount of time. I was their for the SWAC Championship week. I enjoy my stay with the Sheraton.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gene1111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark N, General Manager at Sheraton Birmingham, responded to this review, December 14, 2012
Dear gene1111,

Your review is very important to us. Thank you for taking the time to write such wonderful comments about our staff at the Sheraton Birmingham Hotel. Byron will be pleased to hear about your review. Thank you, and we look forward to having you again when you’re in Birmingham.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tarheel
1 review
Reviewed December 9, 2012

I wanted to take a moment to write this letter on behalf of Carolyn Todd. I was really impressed with the excellent service she provide at dinner. on 6 Dec.2012. The food was out standing. If am every in Birmingham for any reason I will stay at the Sheraton.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Edward S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark N, General Manager at Sheraton Birmingham, responded to this review, December 14, 2012
Dear Edward S,

Thank you so much for your review. It’s always a pleasure reading wonderful comments about the team at the Sheraton Birmingham Hotel. Carolyn will receive the credit she deserves.

Thank you.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocala, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2012

I always stay at the Sheraton when in Birmingham, because they allow pets up to 80 pounds and I travel with my dogs. It is an average Sheraton, however, as a result of the design, the rooms overlooking the atrium are VERY loud. I have also had many issues with getting a room at check-in as they are always "sold out" every time I have stayed. I find this annoying, especially at a Platinum SPG member. This last stay, one out of two of my rooms was not available until after 6:00PM, although I arrived at the hotel at 1:00PM to check-in! Also, I was told I would receive a call when my rooms became available, and after 3 hours still had not received a call although I was told it should be no longer than an hour.

In general, the Sheraton is a great location if you have an event at the convention center, but I can't wait for the Westin to open next door!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jaitraveling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark N, General Manager at Sheraton Birmingham, responded to this review, December 14, 2012
Dear jaitraveling,

Thank you for your loyalty to the Starwood Preferred Guest Program and for writing a review about your stay. The popularity of our frequent traveler program was not demonstrated during your check in process and we certainly apologize that you encountered this delay. I appreciate the comments that you have shared as a loyal traveler. I will make certain to address your concerns with the Department Leaders to improve our check in processes.

Thank you for your review, and we anticipate your return (as well as your wonderful dogs) to the Sheraton Birmingham Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed December 7, 2012

The staff at the Sheraton is what makes this hotel. The shuttle driver, front desk, gift shop and restaurant servers are all awesome. Jasmine in the Sports bar is a GEM!

I had to give this hotel an average rating, however, because my room really was just "average". It was a double and seemed very cramped. The one bed was right up against the window with no room to get around it. Bathroom is very small with no vanity space. Shower temperature was very temperamental as it was either too hot or too cold. I couldn't get that "just right" temperature using the handle, and it also varied on its own. I love the make-up mirror in the bathroom, but it was loose and wouldn't stay in position on its own. The bed and pillows were comfortable. Flatscreen TV and single cup coffee maker with Starbucks brand coffee.

There is wired internet in the room for a charge, but no wireless. Wireless is only available in the lobby. I travel with my IPad and Iphone so this is not a positive for me.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank theokitty916
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark N, General Manager at Sheraton Birmingham, responded to this review, December 14, 2012
Dear theokitty916,

Thank you for connecting with us!

With regards to the Internet access, it’s a pleasure to inform you that the hotel will have WIFI in the near future. While you may categorize the Sheraton Birmingham Hotel as average, I am happy to read that our exceptional commitment to customer service exceeded your expectations; Jasmine will be recognized and congratulated for her efforts.

Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed December 4, 2012

This is a typical unkept, convention center hotel. Kept alive by the continuous inflow of convention attendees, it would die a quicker death if it had more competition. Hallways are littered with leftover room service trays, carpet stained and soiled throughout. The sports bar in the atrium filled with so much smoke from an apparent broken grease ventilator, that you really can't stay in there to eat. The rooms have a tiny bathroom with virtually no vanity, even though our room was an upgrade.
But the best part is the greedy manner in which they rip you off in their parking fees. It's $20 which might seem a little much for a medium sized town in the south, but that's apparently not enough profit for them. If you leave your car after 4pm, they won't give it back to you without paying another $10! So even though our car was parked for only about 20 hours, the charge is in reality $30.

Room Tip: Better to drive in daily from a nice clean and reasonably priced suburban hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank elaine30004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sidonia S, Marketing Coordinator at Sheraton Birmingham, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
Dear janjanllc,

I am deeply troubled to hear about your experience at our hotel, and I apologize for the inconveniences. From my understanding, you’ve had a chance to speak with someone from our hotel about the issues you've addressed in your review. Our priority is to make sure that you leave happy; we failed this time. Yet, I hope that our efforts to correct your situation will give us an opportunity to have you with us again. Please feel free to contact me directly at the hotel if you have any questions or additional concerns.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
Reviewed December 3, 2012

Great customer service at the breakfast buffet from Carolyn Todd! She was very friendly and took good care of our family. Thanks Carolyn for your excellent service. We thought you did a great job and the food was good.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SMS186
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sidonia S, Marketing Coordinator at Sheraton Birmingham, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
Dear SMS186,

Thank you so much for the great feedback about Carolyn Todd! I've forwarded this information to the Hotel Management Staff so that Carolyn is recognized accordingly.

Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
0.1 mi away
The Westin Birmingham
The Westin Birmingham
#15 of 79 in Birmingham
439 reviews
0.4 mi away
Redmont Hotel Birmingham, Curio Collection by Hilton
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Birmingham Downtown - The Tutwiler
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
SpringHill Suites Birmingham Downtown at UAB
1.5 mi away
Residence Inn Birmingham Downtown at UAB
1.2 mi away
Courtyard Birmingham Downtown at UAB
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Birmingham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Birmingham

Property: Sheraton Birmingham
Address: 2101 Richard Arrington Jr Blvd N, Birmingham, AL 35203-1101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alabama > Birmingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sheraton Birmingham 3.5*
Number of rooms: 757
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sheraton Birmingham Hotel has 123,000 sq ft of updated event space and is connected by skywalk to Birmingham/Jefferson Convention Complex. We're home to Birmingham's largest ballroom (25,000 sq ft). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sheraton Birmingham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Birmingham Hotel Birmingham
Birmingham Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing