We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place - close to work!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Doubletree Hotel Birmingham
Ranked #31 of 79 Hotels in Birmingham
Birmingham, United States
2 reviews
“Great place - close to work!”
Reviewed February 14, 2014

Several times I have been snowed in at work in the past 2 years - I am a nurse at UAB Hospital Each time I have stayed at The Doubletree on University Blvd & 20th Street on short notice and was always able to be accommodated The front desk staff, housekeeping, restaurant waitstaff have always been more than accommodating... Each time I have not been disappointed!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Tonya M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle E, Front Office Manager at Doubletree Hotel Birmingham, responded to this review, April 9, 2014
Hello,
I am Michelle Edwards, guest service manager, with the Doubletree hotel Birmingham. We understand that we are in the middle of downtown Birmingham and when tragic weather happens we have to go above and beyond to help our guest during such a stressful time. We are more than happy to extend our hospitality to you, UAB and other business when you need us to be there for you. We cant predict the weather but we can choose to smile and give great service no matter what the situation may be. Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

659 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    184
    210
    135
    86
    44
See reviews for
133
92
46
324
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Germantown, Tennessee
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed February 14, 2014

My fiancee and I recently stayed at the Doubletree by Hilton in the 5 pts district of Birmingham. It's right in the heart of everything, and as we were on a scouting mission for our wedding, it was very convenient to finding restaurants and photograph locations. The staff was great, very friendly and helpful. Sue, the bartender, is awesome! The rooms were pretty expensive for no free wifi and no refrigerator or microwave or anything extra in them. No continental breakfast even.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
1 Thank Lee P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle E, Front Office Manager at Doubletree Hotel Birmingham, responded to this review, April 2, 2014
Hello,
My name is Michelle Edwards, guest service manager with the Doubletree hotel in Birmingham, Al. Its so good to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. Many of our guests enjoy the 5 points south district and find it very convenient since its located only 2 blocks from our hotel. I hope you come back and visit with us again. Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 14, 2014

I and a few coworkers were stuck in town due to inclement weather. We needed to stay in town in order to be at work the next morning. We would have paid a lot more just to have a room. Instead, we were offered the corporate rate, greeted like queens, and received warm smiles on a very cold day. Cannot say enough good things about this hotel. I would highly recommended staying here even if I was not stranded! True Southern hospitality!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Linda T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle E, Front Office Manager at Doubletree Hotel Birmingham, responded to this review, March 29, 2014
Hello,
I am Michelle Edwards, guest service manager, of the Doubletree hotel in Birmingham. I appreciate you being our guests. It was our pleasure to accomodate you when the city was surprised with the snow storm. UAB is like family to us here at the Doubletree because we are technically on their campus and we always have UAB as our guest for business and hospital visitis. So thank you and I hope you come and stay with us again. Hopefully, under better weather conditions.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, AL, United States
1 review
Reviewed February 11, 2014

We stayed at the Birmingham Doubletree on Tuesday and Wednesday nights, Jan. 28 & 29. The hotel staff took in lots of stranded people (due to the first problem snow in 21 years) and handled things with compassion and class. Many hotel employees worked around the clock. We were two of the lucky ones who did get a room late Tuesday, and we thoroughly enjoyed the facilities and people. Those who spend the night in the lobby and banquet room were made as comfortable as possible with blankets and pillows. The national weather picture shows a similar storm coming Feb. 11 & 12, and I'm confident the Doubletree will graciously handle the overflow as it did so well in January. Thanks. G. Keller, Audubon, IA

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Gary K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle E, Front Office Manager at Doubletree Hotel Birmingham, responded to this review, March 22, 2014
Hello,
I am Michelle Edwards, guest service manager with the Doubletree hotel Birmingham. Its not just about paying guests with us, its about anyone who comes through our doors being treated special. Anyone who comes through our doors are our guests whether you are paying for a room or not. So, especially for a tragic weather situation we are going to accomodate everyone who walks through our doors. The people who were stranded and that slept in our banquet space we didnt charge, we gave them pillows, blankets, water, etc. We care and we know how important it is not just to say you care but to show you care. Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goodyear, United States
1 review
Reviewed February 11, 2014

The staff at the Doubletree Birmingham is very friendly and welcoming. The food is great and the rooms are clean. The hotel is located in a great area and very close to local dining and nightlife. I would definitely stay at this hotel again the next I am in Birmingham.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Jenise D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle E, Front Office Manager at Doubletree Hotel Birmingham, responded to this review, March 22, 2014
Hello,
I am Michelle Edwards, guest service manager with the Doubletree hotel Birmingham. We try our best to give our guest great customer service. We want to be exceptional for you because you are our guest and we want to be hospitable. So, its great to know that we succeeded with our goal to give great service with you. I am also glad you enjoyed our food. We have excellent chefs who cook most items from scratch. We hope you will be back soon to visit. Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tellico Plains, Tennessee
Level Contributor
186 reviews
132 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2014

Clean well run property. Good recognition of HHonors for diamond members including breakfast, HHonors floors with water, and as a bonus free parking. This property is downtown and near the medical district. It is surprisingly easy access to I-65 (straight down 3rd avenue) and for that reason I would not rule it out for those passing through. If you are diamond, you can park before you check in and return to the first floor for check in. I will be back.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle E, Manager at Doubletree Hotel Birmingham, responded to this review, March 22, 2014
Hello,
I am Michelle Edwards, guest service manager with the Doubletree hotel Birmingham. We always welcome Diamond members because you are loyal to the hilton brand so we are loyal to you. Unlike most hotels, at the Doubletree hotel in Birmingham, Diamond members receive a full hot complimentary breakfast. Other hotels, offer continental items, here you have a option, because if you dont have an opportunity to sit with us and enjoy the buffet or you are just not up to a big plate of great breakfast food with a variety of breakfast items, you may choose continental items instead. We cant wait to have you as our guest again. Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auburn, United States
1 review
Reviewed February 7, 2014

Great Hotel, only thing I wished they offered free WiFi. Overall experience was well. They offered free coffee and water for guest. The room was very clean when I arrived and smelled fresh. They have lots of amenities, but I was unable to enjoy the short stay. They are very understanding with changing your reservation. The policy about changing or canceling your reservations is well and better than most hotels. It was different that they offered a coffee upon arrival. The cookie was good and warm as the promise.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Ayanna T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle E, Manager at Doubletree Hotel Birmingham, responded to this review, March 22, 2014
Hello,
I am Michelle Edwards, guest service manager with the Doubletree hotel Birmingham. We appreciate you staying with us. I am glad the staff was accomodating and made you feel comfortable. I am super excited that you enjoyed our warm doubletree cookie that you receive upon your arrival. Everyone who is a guest and who comes to check in receives a warm cookie, a cookie that recipe is special for Doubletree hotels only. We dont buy the cookies from another company and its their cookie and their recipe. Doubletree cookies are original, one of a kind and they are loved by most. We hope you have the opportunity to come back and stay with us. Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
0.4 mi away
SpringHill Suites Birmingham Downtown at UAB
0.0 mi away
Residence Inn Birmingham Downtown at UAB
0.2 mi away
The Hotel Highland Downtown UAB
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Courtyard Birmingham Downtown at UAB
0.2 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Birmingham Downtown Near UAB
1.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Birmingham Downtown - The Tutwiler
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Doubletree Hotel Birmingham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doubletree Hotel Birmingham

Property: Doubletree Hotel Birmingham
Address: 808 South 20th Street at 8th Avenue, Birmingham, AL 35205
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alabama > Birmingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#23 Business Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Doubletree Hotel Birmingham 3.5*
Number of rooms: 298
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick and HRS so you can book your Doubletree Hotel Birmingham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Birmingham
Birmingham Doubletree

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing