We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel, a little pricey”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Birmingham
Ranked #29 of 80 Hotels in Birmingham
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Nice hotel, a little pricey”
Reviewed March 1, 2013 via mobile

Spent one night here for an event in downtown Birmingham. Hotel is located in a very good location, just a couple of miles from downtown. There are a wide variety of restaurants, all within walking distance. I thought the room was furnished nicely and was very clean. The bed was extremely comfortable. Very nice amenities in the bathroom. The only negative to the room itself was the outside noise. I was woken early in the morning by the sound of sirens on some sort of emergency vehicle. Wasn't anything major, though. I really didn't hear much hallway noise or noise from rooms next door, which is a big plus! The front desk service was so-so. They were efficient, just not overly friendly. I ran into an employee in the elevator, and again not much customer service personality. Nothing really bad, just didn't seem overly happy to be working there. The hotel was a little pricey. I could have probably saved a few dollars by staying at a couple of the hotels located within walking distance from this one. There is an attached parking garage, which was really nice. I think it was $10 per night. One last thing though: I have not stayed at a Doubletree in several years. I thought that the cookie was much better back then! Now, they just hand it to you at check-in, with your room key. Almost like it is a burden, instead of a nice little perk.i would recommend this hotel, and I would stay here again, but I would definitely look on-line for a discounted rate.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank johnrman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
medwards1978, Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Birmingham, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
Hello, my name is Michelle Edwards, guest service manager with the Doubletree hotel in Birmingham, Al. I apologize about the service not exceeding your expectations. We sincerely pride ourselves on giving the best customer service to all of our guests. I am glad to know that you will return and if you do please feel free to contact me personally because I would like to ensure you get a great rate and I would love to help make your stay even more enjoyable. Also it would give us the opportunity to exceed your expectations and show you outstanding friendly service. Thank you and I hope to speak with you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

718 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    207
    218
    145
    95
    53
See reviews for
146
101
50
353
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham
2 reviews
Reviewed February 25, 2013

I stayed one night in a top floor king. Great view of the city. Clean room, comfy bed and friendly staff. Not liking this review app though it is forcing me to give a 200 character minimum.......not happy with that.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ronice G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
medwards1978, Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Birmingham, responded to this review, March 23, 2013
Hello, my name is Michelle Edwards, guest service manager at the Doubletree hotel in Birmingham, Al. I hope you come back and visit us and I will try to get you a room on the top floor again. Besides the view, there are other great attributes the hotel as to offer. Maybe your next visit could be to our newly renovated fitness center. And this easter which is only a week and half away our pool will be opened and we have revitalized the patio area. So I hope you come back and visit with us very soon. Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norcross
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2013

No free Wifi??????? Move up to the 21st century.The heat did not work but they took care of it promptly. The bar tender was a life saver. He told us about a free ride supplied by the hotel to the restaurant and pick us up.Also made great Cosmos.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank goodfoodjunkie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
medwards1978, Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Birmingham, responded to this review, March 23, 2013
Hello, my name is Michelle Edwards, guest service manager at the Doubletree hotel in Birmingham, Al. It is great to hear a guest say they enjoyed their stay and was treated exceptionally by our associates. We do have free wireless in the lobby area, restaurant, lobby bar as well as our 24 hour business center. I hope you come back and visit and perhaps visit some more restaurants, there are over a dozen in the 5 points district area that's only 2 blocks from the hotel. And I'm sure we can arrange our shuttle driver to assist you again with transportation. Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2013 via mobile

The staff was amazing!! I made the trip to birmingham to visit my dad who I haven't seen in over 20 years, and I chose this hotel because its near his home. From the moment I checked in I was greeted by name and given all the gold member perks. The front desk staff in particular are some of the friendliest I've ever met in all of my travels. After meeting my dad I came back to tell them about it, next thing I know we spent almost an hour talking (it was 1130 so it was pretty slow). Room was decent, all of my request were fulfilled and I honestly can say this has been one of th best hotel expirences I've had. I will definitely stay here again.

Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank Dwoody83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
medwards1978, Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Birmingham, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
Hello, my name is Michelle Edwards with the Doubletree hotel in Birmingham, Al. I am so pleased to hear that you had an enjoyable stay and your visit with your dad was an extremely positive one. We pride ourselves with making guests feel welcomed and at home and I am glad to know that we succeeded with you. I hope you come back and visit with us. Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McDonough, Georgia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2013

This site is an excellent location and within walking distance to UAB, Medical Center, and Five Points. The front desk staff and bartender are extremely friendly, although drink prices are high ($5.65 for a beer). Lighting in the rooms and bathrooms (low output) are TERRIBLE as the hotel is environmentally friendly. The fitness room is excellent with multiple treadmills, weight machines, and free weights.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Oherb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
medwards1978, Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Birmingham, responded to this review, March 23, 2013
Hello, my name is Michelle Edwards, guest service manager, I am happy to know that you enjoyed your stay. I hope you continue to visit with us and please to contact me personally so if there's anything I can do to make it better and I would be more than happy to assist you. Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bella Vista, Arkansas
Level 6 Contributor
95 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2013 via mobile

This is my second stay at this hotel and once again pleased. I saw other's comments about noise. There's no more noise here than at any other hotel in a big city. There will always be some just because its all cement and sound cascades upward, give the hotel a break there. My room was huge and clean. The ac drowned out any outside noise the thick curtains didn't, and I'm a light sleeper. Although the 808 Bistro was closed the full menu was available from the lobby bar. I had an amazingly tender filet and margarita.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stormygirl71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
medwards1978, Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Birmingham, responded to this review, March 23, 2013
Hello, my name is Michelle Edwards, guest service manager with the Doubletree hotel in Birmingham, Al. I am glad that you came back to visit with us and you had another great stay. I hope you keep coming back and contact me personally when you do because I would love the opportunity to try and help your stay be even more enjoyable. Thank you and I hope to speak with you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 1, 2013

We always enjoy our stay at the Doubletree Birmingham. The rooms are clean, staff is great, and of course the location is ideal.

I do, however, had a few concerns about hotel amenities. This is one the few hotels I have stayed at that charge a surcharge for using their internet. Most hotels have complimentary wifi, Hilton brand included. I think it is ridiculous to have such a surcharge. No refrigerator or microwave in the rooms! Again, most hotels have one or both in their rooms. I believe their competitor across the street offer these complimentary amenities. For these reasons, I wished we booked elsewhere in Birmingham for our trip. We come back every year at this time, and i believe I will look into other hotels nearby that offer more for the same rate.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike and John D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
medwards1978, Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Birmingham, responded to this review, March 23, 2013
Hello, my name is Michelle Edwards, guest service manager with the Doubletree hotel in Birmingham, Al. I am glad to know that you enjoyed your stay but if you will provide us with another opportunity to impress you further it would definitely be appreciated it. We have complimentary refrigerators available upon request. When you come back to visit just ask for me and I can help ensure that this amenity is available for you. We do have a central location for the microwave for our guests to use in the hotel. Also, we have rates that includes breakfast and our breakfast is hot and fresh with over a dozen items to choose from. So we do have some great amenities you didnt have an opportunity to experience. But if you come back and visit and ask for Michelle I can help ensure you experience all that we have to offer. Thank you and I hope to speak with you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
0.3 mi away
Courtyard Birmingham Downtown at UAB
0.0 mi away
Residence Inn Birmingham Downtown at UAB
0.2 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Birmingham Downtown Near UAB
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
SpringHill Suites Birmingham Downtown at UAB
0.2 mi away
The Hotel Highland Downtown UAB
1.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Birmingham Downtown - The Tutwiler
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Birmingham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Birmingham

Property: Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Birmingham
Address: 808 20th St S, Birmingham, AL 35205
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alabama > Birmingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#23 Business Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Birmingham 3.5*
Number of rooms: 298
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience a contemporary urban retreat in the heart of downtown Birmingham at DoubleTree by Hilton Birmingham, on the campus of University of Alabama at Birmingham (UAB). Get down to business with BBVA Compass, Southern Company, Health South, Regions Financial Corporation, O’Neal Steel, Southern Research Institute – all located just steps from our door. Explore the city's James Beard Award winning cuisine, history, arts and entertainment that bring you back to Birmingham time and again. Located in the vibrant 5 Points South district the DoubleTree by Hilton Birmingham is just blocks away from Region’s Park, Uptown, Lakeside, and the BJCC Convention Center Complex. Navigating the city is a breeze with our complimentary shuttle service within a 1-mile radius and DART vintage trolleys. Birmingham-Shuttlesworth International Airport (BHM) are 15 minutes away and readily accessible via our complimentary airport shuttle service. Our hotel in Downtown Birmingham is ideal for conferences, training, events, and celebrations. We feature a 24-hour business center and 15,000 sq. ft. of versatile meeting and event space including a ballroom, two boardrooms, and four breakout spaces. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Agoda, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Birmingham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Birmingham
Birmingham Doubletree

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing