We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect place to stay in downtown birmingham'”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Hotel Highland Downtown UAB
Ranked #26 of 79 Hotels in Birmingham
Certificate of Excellence
Birmingham, Alabama
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect place to stay in downtown birmingham'”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2013 via mobile

Great place to stay in the middle of 5 points. Walk to all the restaurants & bars. Hotel staff was very personable & accommodating. A fun surprise was finding sticky notes in the room from the house keeper with nice welcome statements. A nice touch. So we left her thank you notes & dollars strategically places around the room.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Karen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HHDOS, General Manager at The Hotel Highland Downtown UAB, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Thank you Karen B for your awesome review of our hotel! And the housekeeper was so excited...thank you from her to you!! We certainly appreciate your taking the time to review the hotel, as we know how busy one can be! Thank you again, and please come and visit anytime!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

340 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    142
    116
    44
    22
    16
See reviews for
47
116
32
86
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Heflin
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2013

The pictures for this hotel are misleading. It was hard to find because of the trees growing ove the name of the hotel. It looked nothing like the picture displayed when I made the reservations. I choose it because it was close to the hospital and I was traveling with my 86 year old mother who was unable to walk very far but that was a mistake. There is no parking for the hotel except for valet parking. This would have been fine if I had of known before hand. The heat and air conditioning cannot be controled by a thermostate because it is in an old building. You could either have air or heat or off. We had to choose off. When we went for breakfast the next morning. The food was all but gone and was not replenished. We were able to have enough batter for a waffle and I gave my mother the last piece of sausage and I didn't tell her it was the last piece or she would not have ate it. This hotel cost 20,000 points and it wasn't worth 8000 points. Then when I check my credit card statement the hotel charged my card $16 for valet parking and did not even mention the cost when I went to the front desk the next morning. My advise to avoid this hotel even if you have to stay 10 miles away. The driving in Birmingham is not bad enough to stay close to the hospital if it means staying at this hotel. Thanks Hotel Highland for nothing. Judy Williams.

Room Tip: Choose another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jwilliams821
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HHDOS, General Manager at The Hotel Highland Downtown UAB, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Thank you JWilliams821 for taking the time to let us know about your experience at our hotel. I do so apologize for not meeting your expectations and appreciate your comments~ I do hope you will stay with us again in the future. Thank you again and have a wonderful day
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montana, Usa
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2013

I have stayed at the Hotel Highland a number of times and it is always a pleasure. The staff is terrific and they have great memories...many say hi to me by name, which is always nice after a long day of travel. The rooms are really nice - comfy beds, most are suites and have a separate living area and a kitchenette with microwave and fridge. And they allow pets! They also include a nice breakfast, including hot items every morning. Their fitness center is small, but I rarely run into anyone in it. The location can't be beat - they are close to many really great restaurants, the requisite Starbucks and still close to downtown. From a weary traveler perspective...feels like home!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kristine O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HHDOS, General Manager at The Hotel Highland Downtown UAB, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Thank you Kristine O for such an awesome review of our hotel! We are always so glad to see you! We are happy to make a wreary traveller feel safe, warm and welcomed! I will be passing your wonderful comments onto the staff, as they will be happy to hear~ Thank you again and we will see you in the very near future!! Renee :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hollywood, Florida
Level Contributor
121 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2013

The hotel is part of Choice's Asend Collection. The hotel has unique furnishings, great service, clean super breakfast and is centered near many great restaurants. If you don't chose their Valet parking you are limited to parking on the street or public parking garage.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HHDOS, General Manager at The Hotel Highland Downtown UAB, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel! We certainly appreciate the very favorable comments....thanks!! Please come back and visit with us the next time you are in Birmingham!! Have a wonderful rest of your day and thank you again~ :) Renee
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2013

I was taking the Amtrak through the South on holiday and made Birmingham one of my stops. Having being stuck in very generic, chainy hotels for most of the way I wanted something a little bit different with a touch of originality. It was also important that I could walk to places I wanted to eat and see with relative ease. Needless to say, the Highland ticks all the boxes!

The staff are wonderful; polite and courteous but without being pandering or overly formal.They called me taxis, gave me recommendations and were basically just nice to chat to. Meghan at the front desk gave me a friendly welcome, answered all of my questions and was kind enough to check me in early. The icing on the cake was an upgrade to a suite, which brings me onto the lodgings...

My room was great, impeccably clean and full of personal touches (I thought the notes from the housekeepers were rather adorable). My bed was huge and comfortable and the bathroom amply stocked with various toiletries that I'd forgotten! The décor and furniture, like the rest of the hotel, is quirky, original and very pretty.

When I wasn't enjoying the food and the sights in Birmingham I also had a couple of drinks at the bar which, thought small, had a nice, lively atmosphere. Both Kendra and Sarah were charming, friendly tenders (if you have a sweet tooth ask Sarah to make you a cotton candy martini!) who make you feel right at home there.

All in all I had a fantastic visit, the staff alone made it worth it. If I'm going that way again I shall certainly be back!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VixxBack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HHDOS, Director of Sales at The Hotel Highland Downtown UAB, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Oh my...thank you for such a fabulous review of our hotel! We are so very excited that we could help make your holiday a wonderful one! The "girls" will be so thrilled that you have mentioned them in your review....as I cannot wait to show it to them! Thank you so much again, as we certainly hope to see you again in the very near future! Take care~ Renee :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, Tennessee
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2013

From the view of your hotel room to the quality of the furniture to the friendliness of the staff, the care put into the experience by the staff and developers can be seen. It was probably the best experience I have ever had with a hotel stay. The prices are reasonable for the location and a great value for the amount of accommodations and benefits you receive. Another great feature is the valet parking; your car is stored in a secure lot below the building. I will only stay here when I visit Birmingham from here on out.

Room Tip: Get a room high enough up so you can have the full view of the mountain and awesome architecture of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ths0002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HHDOS, Director of Sales at The Hotel Highland Downtown UAB, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to write such an awesome review of our hotel!! We certainly appreciate the kind words and will pass them along to the staff~ We are looking forward to seeing you again in the very near future! Thank you again! Renee :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enterprise, Alabama
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2013

I stayed at the Hotel Highland located in the Five Points District when taking my daughter to UAB. The staff really sets this hotel above the rest. Sarah, Stephanie and Lauren went out to their way to make sure everything was just right and had me feeling like family after just two nights! I used the valet service (great guys) and though it is $16 a night, I didn't have to fight for parking, which was really helpful when driving back and forth to UAB multiple times. The proximity to fine dining is also a huge plus. If you stop by the wet bar, say hi to Sarah for me!

Room Tip: If you'd like to skip valet parking, weekend and and after 5 or 6 pm are free in metered areas.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gwh20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HHDOS, Director of Sales at The Hotel Highland Downtown UAB, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a fabulous review of our hotel!! We certainly love the staff here and the "girls" will be so excited to know that they have been mentioned in your review!! We are looking forward to seeing you again in the very future! Take care and thank you again~ Renee
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
0.2 mi away
Doubletree Hotel Birmingham
Doubletree Hotel Birmingham
#30 of 79 in Birmingham
3.5 of 5 bubbles 637 reviews
0.2 mi away
Residence Inn Birmingham Downtown at UAB
1.3 mi away
Redmont Hotel Birmingham, Curio Collection by Hilton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Birmingham Downtown - The Tutwiler
0.0 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Birmingham Downtown Near UAB
0.6 mi away
Courtyard Birmingham Downtown at UAB
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hotel Highland Downtown UAB? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hotel Highland Downtown UAB

Property: The Hotel Highland Downtown UAB
Address: 1023 20th St S, Birmingham, AL 35205-2605 (Formerly Hotel Highland at Five Points)
Location: United States > Alabama > Birmingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Romantic Hotel in Birmingham
#20 Family Hotel in Birmingham
#26 Business Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Hotel Highland Downtown UAB 3*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Highland at Five Points South is located just minutes/blocks from UAB and right in the center of all the fabulous restaurants (including Highland Bar & Grill, Chez FonFon, Surin, Ocean, and Twenty Six, just to name a few) and entertainment venues! It is THE place to be while in Birmingham! Just minutes from the Birmingham Courthouse, BJCC, Kirklin Clinic, UAB Highlands and shopping areas! With 63 amazing rooms and suites, with affordable rates that include breakfast and WiFi...it is your "home away from home". Call today to book your reservation! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Hotel Highland Downtown UAB reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Highland At 5 Points
Highland At Five Points Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing