We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Stay in Birmingham”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Hotel Highland Downtown UAB
Ranked #27 of 79 Hotels in Birmingham
Certificate of Excellence
Columbia, Tennessee
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Best Stay in Birmingham”
Reviewed September 6, 2013

From the view of your hotel room to the quality of the furniture to the friendliness of the staff, the care put into the experience by the staff and developers can be seen. It was probably the best experience I have ever had with a hotel stay. The prices are reasonable for the location and a great value for the amount of accommodations and benefits you receive. Another great feature is the valet parking; your car is stored in a secure lot below the building. I will only stay here when I visit Birmingham from here on out.

Room Tip: Get a room high enough up so you can have the full view of the mountain and awesome architecture of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ths0002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HHDOS, Director of Sales at The Hotel Highland Downtown UAB, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to write such an awesome review of our hotel!! We certainly appreciate the kind words and will pass them along to the staff~ We are looking forward to seeing you again in the very near future! Thank you again! Renee :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

340 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    142
    116
    44
    22
    16
See reviews for
47
116
32
86
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Enterprise, Alabama
1 review
Reviewed August 26, 2013

I stayed at the Hotel Highland located in the Five Points District when taking my daughter to UAB. The staff really sets this hotel above the rest. Sarah, Stephanie and Lauren went out to their way to make sure everything was just right and had me feeling like family after just two nights! I used the valet service (great guys) and though it is $16 a night, I didn't have to fight for parking, which was really helpful when driving back and forth to UAB multiple times. The proximity to fine dining is also a huge plus. If you stop by the wet bar, say hi to Sarah for me!

Room Tip: If you'd like to skip valet parking, weekend and and after 5 or 6 pm are free in metered areas.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gwh20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HHDOS, Director of Sales at The Hotel Highland Downtown UAB, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a fabulous review of our hotel!! We certainly love the staff here and the "girls" will be so excited to know that they have been mentioned in your review!! We are looking forward to seeing you again in the very future! Take care and thank you again~ Renee
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, TX
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2013

This is kind of a quirky location / hotel....in a good way. I would definitely stay there again despite some "glitches" that were understandable......like the TV station in the bar couldn't be changed because they were updating the dish? cable? There was also something the bar was out of.....can't remember.

It's charming and a little kitschy. The rooms were of a nice size, but as I informed the hotel, our room was very musty-smelling......unlike our kids' room.

They have a breakfast that we were not able to eat because we had leave for the airport so early.

Right down the street and around the corner are some fabulous restaurants.

Yes, I will be there again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lee J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HHDOS, Director of Sales at The Hotel Highland Downtown UAB, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel on TripAdvisor! We certainly do appreciate your kind comments and will surely look into that musty smell~ Please come and visit with us again! Have a wonderful day! Renee
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niceville, Florida
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2013

Hotel Highland is located in the Five Points District which makes it easy to walk to some fine dining. The staff was excellent and the rooms were fine. It's an old building so the space/price is high. Nice lobby and bar, but nothing to write home about.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JRoser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HHDOS, Director of Sales at The Hotel Highland Downtown UAB, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Thank you JRoser for your review of our hotel! We certainly appreciated your comments and look forward to seeing you again the very near future! Thank you again for for taking the time to tell us about your stay! Have a wonderful day~ Renee
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
little rock arkansas
Level Contributor
290 reviews
103 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 394 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2013 via mobile

We broke up a long driving trip with stays in Birminham each way and after being confused about lodging and locations, settled in this quirky eight story but small non-chain hotel which was affordable and near some very good restaurants. We paid 114 for the smallest room and when our kids joined us on the return, paid 170 for a two room suite. It is a very urban location and they rely on valet parking. I have a thing about paying for hotel parking and easily found on-street parking steps from the hotel. It was metered and fortunately our timing allowed us free 6pm to 8am parking. The decor is kind of quirky modern. The staff was kind of down home folks who were nice. The suite was really nice and spacious with wet bar, micro and fridge, huge sep bedroom and pretty good couchbed. This hotel is quirky and not perfect, but a welcome addition to chain sameness and we will return.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jimjade3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HHDOS, Director of Sales at The Hotel Highland Downtown UAB, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Thank you JimJade3 for your wonderful comments about the hotel! We are for sure "down home folks" as we hope everyone has an awesome experience with us while in Birmingham! Though not perfect, we do strive to make sure everyone is happy, happy, happy! We hope to see you and your family again in the very near future!! Thank you again~ Renee
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
175 reviews
149 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 207 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2013

The Highland is very arty, the décor throughout is imaginative and colourful. Our light 8th floor corner accommodation, room 807, was huge - bedroom, lounge and kitchenette - with views of the city. The bathroom was fine too. The aircon was quiet, wifi free and the generous choice at breakfast was included in the room rate. Staff were friendly, helpful and informal.
The location is excellent. There are many good restaurants nearby (try '26'), adjacent self-parking at $4 per day was a bargain and it's just a 10 minute drive to downtown.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank afcok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HHDOS, Director of Sales at The Hotel Highland Downtown UAB, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review about your experience with us here at The Hotel Highland! We love that particular room, as it is the only one in the hotel like that....and the view is wonderful! We hope to see you again soon in the Magic City and look forward to meeting you~ Thank you again and have a fabulous day Renee
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackson,MS
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 16, 2013

They staff is really outstanding here. They really seem to go all out to make things nice and clean. The location was within walking distance of many great restaurants, which was a plus! Rooms are small but very comfortable beds and nice decor.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tripplannerm0m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HHDOS, Director of Sales at The Hotel Highland Downtown UAB, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Thank you Travel Planner Mom for sharing your experience with us here at the Hotel Highland, as we certainly enjoyed having you all with us! So glad to hear wonderful positive feedback that I can share with our staff, as we strive to make everyone's stay most enjoyable! Thank you again for taking the time to write such a lovely review! We are looking forward to seeing you again in the very near future! Take care Renee
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
0.2 mi away
Doubletree Hotel Birmingham
Doubletree Hotel Birmingham
#30 of 79 in Birmingham
630 reviews
0.2 mi away
Residence Inn Birmingham Downtown at UAB
1.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Birmingham Downtown - The Tutwiler
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Redmont Hotel Birmingham, Curio Collection by Hilton
0.6 mi away
Courtyard Birmingham Downtown at UAB
0.0 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Birmingham Downtown Near UAB
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hotel Highland Downtown UAB? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hotel Highland Downtown UAB

Property: The Hotel Highland Downtown UAB
Address: 1023 20th St S, Birmingham, AL 35205-2605 (Formerly Hotel Highland at Five Points)
Location: United States > Alabama > Birmingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Romantic Hotel in Birmingham
#20 Family Hotel in Birmingham
#26 Business Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Hotel Highland Downtown UAB 3*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Highland at Five Points South is located just minutes/blocks from UAB and right in the center of all the fabulous restaurants (including Highland Bar & Grill, Chez FonFon, Surin, Ocean, and Twenty Six, just to name a few) and entertainment venues! It is THE place to be while in Birmingham! Just minutes from the Birmingham Courthouse, BJCC, Kirklin Clinic, UAB Highlands and shopping areas! With 63 amazing rooms and suites, with affordable rates that include breakfast and WiFi...it is your "home away from home". Call today to book your reservation! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Hotel Highland Downtown UAB reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Highland At 5 Points
Highland At Five Points Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing