We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden Chain Gem”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Hotel Highland Downtown UAB
Ranked #28 of 80 Hotels in Birmingham
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 19, 2012

From the valet parking to the funky elevators to the local brews on tap in the bar area, you wouldn't know that the Hotel Highland is a member of the Choice Hotels family (Econo Lodge, Comfort Inn, etc.). The Highland is about as "boutique" as you will find in Birmingham.

Beds are comfortable & the shower has nice pressure, but the antiquated heating & cooling system may have you asking for a fan or extra blanket depending on the season (this is readily admitted by hotel in a note on each room's wall). The location is one of the hotel's best aspects, though; the Highland is within walking distance to just about every high-end restaurant or dive bar you would want in the Five Points area.

I only had a few negatives from the two times I've stayed at the Highland...

1) The bar area is inconsistent. There are no published hours (that I could find) & you always seemed to surprise whoever was behind the bar, as if they weren't expecting that someone would actually want to have a drink there.

2) There is no literature on the hotel, save a beat-up laminated green flyer in the room. Visitors want to know about the history of the hotel & the area around it. It can be hard having faith in a property when it won't even brag on itself.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SN1752
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HHDOS, Owner at The Hotel Highland Downtown UAB, responded to this reviewResponded May 2, 2012

Thank you so much for taking the time to let us know about your stay with us here at The Hotel Highland while in Birmingham! We are working on the items discussed in your review and will hopefully have something in place in the very near future! You are so right about the information and have had a time coming up with the perfect "out of the box" item for the rooms! Thank you again, as we are looking forward to seeing you again! Have a fabulous day! Renee :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (347)
There are newer reviews for The Hotel Highland Downtown UAB
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

244 - 250 of 347 reviews

Reviewed April 18, 2012

We stayed at the Highland Hotel the last weekend in March 2011. We arrived 3:15 and were told that our room was not ready. (check in time is 3) We were given a room at 3:40. When we got into our room the safe did not work and one of the bedside lamps did not work. We called front desk and they sent up a key for the safe but there was no lock on the safe. Totally unusable safe. When we returned that night the lamp still did not work.
Saturday mornng we went to use the coffee maker and it did not work. We called the front desk again and the receptionist told us she just got there at 7am and could not help us. She did call back and appoligized and sent us a working coffee maker. A young man came up and confirmed that the lamp was broken and it was fixed when we returned Saturday afternoon.
Besides these incidences the makeup mirrow light did not work and the toilet seat was very loose and could have been a problem if you were not careful.
Our friends airconditioner did not work , thank heaven ours did.
I sent an email to the manager K French and she obviously does not care because she has not even replied to my email. So here I am telling you.
The location is very good, they just need to make sure they pay attention to detail.
Sherry Green- Columbus GA

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fiskgreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HHDOS, Director of Sales at The Hotel Highland Downtown UAB, responded to this reviewResponded May 2, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to make a review of our hotel, as we must take the good with the bad! It also allows us to improve in areas that are sometimes overlooked. I am aware that you and our General Manager having been having a hard time connecting and know that she is looking forward to talking with you, as we appreciate and value your opinions. Again, our apologies and hope to see you in the near future! Renee :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2012

For $100 extra we got fake rose petals, a horrible continental breakfast, & sparkling wine (not champagne). Also, we had sloppy housekeeping, a dusty room, and 1star customer service. We have had better romance packages at other hotels for less.

Room Tip: The rooms are humid but the suite was well appoointed.
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mrs4Daddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HHDOS, Director of Sales at The Hotel Highland Downtown UAB, responded to this reviewResponded April 18, 2012

Thank you for your comments regarding the Romance Package~ My untmost apologies that the package was not up to your or our expectations. Though we do always use the silk rose petals, as they do not stain and you can take with you as a memory keeper, the champagne should not have been a sparkling wine. We have trained and created a better description of what the package should be for our staff to have a better understanding of its contents. Again, thank you for letting us know, and again our apologies~ Renee

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2012

We have stayed there many times, it is just so convenient for downtown appointments.
they need to get their ice machine fixed on the floors. No trouble to get ice, they deliver to the door. Hotel close to a variety of good eateries.

Room Tip: End of hall rooms seem a bit bigger.
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vv67954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HHDOS, Director of Sales at The Hotel Highland Downtown UAB, responded to this reviewResponded April 18, 2012

Thank you so much taking the time to write your thoughts and comments on your stay with us here at The Hotel Highland! We so appreciate your input and look forward to seeing you on your next visit! Have a wonderful day~
Renee

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2012

My husband and friends stayed there this past weekend for the Jimmy Buffet concert and had a great experience! We were greeted everytime we walked in the front door and there was someone there to open the door for us each time. We choose the Valet parking and they were awesome! The breakfast was also good. I found this to be in a great location and the staff was very nice! Would definitely stay here again. The only complaint that I would have is that we could hear the music from across the street pretty loud and very late. Also you definitely have to eat at Fuego's it was great!

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Charlene B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HHDOS, Director of Sales at The Hotel Highland Downtown UAB, responded to this reviewResponded March 6, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write such a nice review of our hotel, as we so appreciate the good and bad! We also love Fuegos....their taco's are so very tasty! I will pass your comments onto the staff, as they like hearing the guests feedback as well~ Thank you again and we look forward to seeing you on your next trip to Birmingham! Renee

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2012

This hotel was just ok. THe best thing about it is the location. In 5 points near restaurants, etc... I walked to the downtown and passed other hotels that are not as close to anything because to be honest i found B'ham to be a bit dead downtown. The hotel is ok but I kept hearing loud music when I was there at night which annoyed me. I dont know if it was coming from in or outside the hotel so might not be anything the hotel could have controlled but it was hard to sleep. The room was big enough. But I dont know - something about it was lacking. THe decor was kind of 50s retro mod which was ok. But I dont think my particular room had been cleaned very well. There were no towels in the bathroom when I got in and there was a piece of something like a pretzel or something in the middle of the floor. Anyway not the best impression when coming in. The whole hotel kind of gave me a "meh" feeling. Not awful, but not impressive either.

Stayed: February 2012, traveled on business
Thank JenandTomandMonty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HHDOS, Director of Sales at The Hotel Highland Downtown UAB, responded to this reviewResponded March 6, 2012

Thank you so much for your review of our hotel. Our Executive Housekeeper was informed of your review and has handled this situation within her department. I am expressing her and my apologies for this oversight in your room, as this is not the service we strive for in our hotel~ However, we so appreciate your bringing this to our attention. We so hope you will stay with us again while in Birmingham, as we are positive your experience will be up to your expectations~ Renee

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2012

After reading many reviews, my wife and I(and another couple) stayed at The Hotel Highlands this past weekend while we were in Birmingham for Wicked. What a huge disappointment!!!

We arrived at the hotel shortly after 1 and were told our room would not be ready til 3. Not a big deal since check in is at 3. After returning from a long lunch, our room was not ready. It is now 3:10. We were told they were running behind. A little after 4, we finally got our rooms, over 1 hour past published check in. To make matters worst, hotel bar was not open, which was strange for a Saturday.
We told our friends to meet us back down at the bar at 5:30 for cocktails before dinner. Upon arrival, the bar was still closed. Asked front desk clerk why it was closed, we were told "because we don't open til 6:30 tonight". What a lame excuse.
The highlight was that when we returned from the show, the bar was open and the bartender was very nice. We asked her why they weren't open earlier than 6:30, she informed us that she can only work 40 hours a week as the hotel will not pay overtime and she was the only bartender. What a joke.
When leaving in morning, we called down to have valet pull car around. After checking out, we were told valet they were short on employees and it would be another 20-30 minutes. So we ask for keys and followed valet worker to parking lot.
In all, huge disappointment. With so many out of work and hotel sold out to capacity, they can afford more employees.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank pkwilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HHDOS, Director of Sales at The Hotel Highland Downtown UAB, responded to this reviewResponded February 23, 2012

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience at our hotel with us. I cannot convey how disappointed we are that your stay was not up to your or our expectations. There are no words to say that can undo this unacceptable and dishearting treatment of our staff to you and your friends, except to extend our utmost apologies, as this level of service is not normal or tolerated. I would be so grateful if you would call me at your earliest convenience to discuss this matter in further detail. My direct line is 205-271-5998. My apologies again to you, your wife and friends~ Renee

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
0.0 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Birmingham Downtown Near UAB
0.2 mi away
Residence Inn Birmingham Downtown at UAB
0.6 mi away
SpringHill Suites Birmingham Downtown at UAB
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Birmingham
1.3 mi away
Redmont Hotel Birmingham, Curio Collection by Hilton
0.6 mi away
Courtyard Birmingham Downtown at UAB
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hotel Highland Downtown UAB? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hotel Highland Downtown UAB

Address: 1023 20th St S, Birmingham, AL 35205-2605 (Formerly Hotel Highland at Five Points)
Location: United States > Alabama > Birmingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Romantic Hotel in Birmingham
#20 Family Hotel in Birmingham
#26 Business Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range: $135 - $209 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Hotel Highland Downtown UAB 3*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Highland at Five Points South is located just minutes/blocks from UAB and right in the center of all the fabulous restaurants (including Highland Bar & Grill, Chez FonFon, Surin, Ocean, and Twenty Six, just to name a few) and entertainment venues! It is THE place to be while in Birmingham! Just minutes from the Birmingham Courthouse, BJCC, Kirklin Clinic, UAB Highlands and shopping areas! With 63 amazing rooms and suites, with affordable rates that include breakfast and WiFi...it is your "home away from home". Call today to book your reservation! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your The Hotel Highland Downtown UAB reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Highland At 5 Points
Highland At Five Points Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing