We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice hotel, safe and plenty to do In the surrounding area.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Hotel Highland Downtown UAB
Ranked #28 of 80 Hotels in Birmingham
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 5, 2011

Nice Place to stay hotel up keep was great, the room was a good size and for a building of that age it is in great shape. The breakfast bar was amazing, plenty of options to choose from, hot waffles, cereal, eggs,sausage,lots of drink selections, fresh fruit, and much more. The only two small problems I had was the musty smell in the room and the lack of air conditioning in the room. It was august and over 100 outside so that may have something to do with that. Other than that nice place to stay.

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RdunnMurray_Kentucky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HHDOS, Director of Sales at The Hotel Highland Downtown UAB, responded to this reviewResponded August 16, 2011

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of the hotel! We certainly appreciate your comments and compliments! Please stop by and say hello on your next visit to Birmingham! Have a fabulous day~

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (348)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

264 - 270 of 348 reviews

Reviewed July 27, 2011

I had wanted to stay at the Highland, but it was booked up... but I ended up there on the last night of the trip when my flight was cancelled. There was a good jazz band in the bar, with a lively, fun crowd and a friendly bartender. I really enjoyed it.

The room was good - nothing very special, but clean and nice. No complaints there. The staff was helpful, and the rate reasonable. The location is great - right near good restaurants, a record store, and other useful amenities.

I'll certainly stay there again on my next trip.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rohrbach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HHDOS, Director of Sales at The Hotel Highland Downtown UAB, responded to this reviewResponded August 16, 2011

Thank you so much for your review! We hope to see you again soon~

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2011

Staff is great! Rooms are perfect! Best place in Birmingham!

  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mattman1900
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2011

This is a small but well appointed hotel with excellent service. The rooms are not very large (except for the suites) but are well furnished and comfortable. Valet, front desk and housekeeping staff are very friendly and always helpful. The location at Five Points South is near several excellent restaurants (The Highlands Bar & Grill, 26, Ocean, Chez Fon Fon) so you have many good choices within easy walking distance. Not much retail shopping available in the area, though. Valet parking is a little pricey ($14 per day) but there is a self park alternative available. Overall a great place to stay and good value for the price.

Room Tip: Corner suites are great option
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Travlalot1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HHDOS, Director of Sales at The Hotel Highland Downtown UAB, responded to this reviewResponded May 26, 2011

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our hotel on TripAdvisor! We strive for every guest to have an excellent stay with us and look forward to seeing you again~ Thank you again for letting us know about your expereince! Renee

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2011

We stayed at the Hotel Highland a year ago and liked it very much, for the hotel itself as well as the convenience to the two Frank Stitt restaurants down the street. This year we returned from dinner around 8:00 pm, ready for a good nights sleep before continuing our trip early the next morning.

We discovered that our room was directly above the bar where a live band was p[laying very loud music. The room furnishings were literally vibrating with the bass notes. I called the desk and asked how long the music would play and was told until 11:00...three more hours. I asked to be moved to another room and was told that was not possible as they were fully book. I asked them to find me a room in another hotel, which the clerk, Meghan,graciously did, 20 miles to the north of Birmingham. We moved out around 8:45 to the other hotel.

We checked in at 3:00 pm, a time when other rooms were certainly available. They claim they do not assign rooms until check in. A large bus load of guest were checking in when we left for dinner at 6:00.

To not have informed us when we checked in that room they assigned us would be uninhabitable until 11:00 I find inexcusable. If you chose to stay here, be sure to ask to see your room before accepting it. Who knows what other horrors await the unsuspecting guest in other rooms.

Room Tip: Get a room as far away form 204 as possible.
See more room tips
Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
2  Thank ArtinBR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HHDOS, Director of Sales at The Hotel Highland Downtown UAB, responded to this reviewResponded April 22, 2011

We so apologize for your stay not being up to the standards we all stive for in the hospitality business. The hotel is extremely active due to the wonderful restaurants and entertainment venues located in the Five Points Area. Please call me at your earliest convenience at 205-271-5998 to discuss in further detail. I am looking forward to talking with you. Thank you for your comments and hope that in the future we can once again be your "home away from home". Renee

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2011

Stayed here for the 2nd time. Love this place. Great location, great funky rooms. Rate is always good.
Love the views from the rooms.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Strigs8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HHDOS, Director of Sales at The Hotel Highland Downtown UAB, responded to this reviewResponded April 19, 2011

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review of our hotel! We certainly appreciate your time and are glad that your stay with us was enjoyable! We are looking forward to seeing you again~

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2011

The bellman didn't help us with our bags, the entire hotel smells and is constantly vibrating (?), the service was crappy and the look of the hotel was circus meets beetlejuice.

Stay at the aloft, we moved there after one night

  • Stayed: April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cabelltini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HHDOS, Director of Sales at The Hotel Highland Downtown UAB, responded to this reviewResponded April 21, 2011

Thank you for your review, as we so appreciate the good with the bad, otherwise we would not know, nor would we be able to fix the issues! I do so apologize that your stay with us was not up to your or our standards or expectations. At your convenience, I would love to talk to you about your stay in detail so we may continue to strive for excellent service and not the service you encountered during your stay. Thank you again for taking the time to tell us, as we do appreciate the feedback~ I look forward to talking with you. Renee

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
0.0 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Birmingham Downtown Near UAB
0.2 mi away
Residence Inn Birmingham Downtown at UAB
0.6 mi away
SpringHill Suites Birmingham Downtown at UAB
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Birmingham
0.6 mi away
Courtyard Birmingham Downtown at UAB
1.3 mi away
Redmont Hotel Birmingham, Curio Collection by Hilton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hotel Highland Downtown UAB? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hotel Highland Downtown UAB

Address: 1023 20th St S, Birmingham, AL 35205-2605 (Formerly Hotel Highland at Five Points)
Location: United States > Alabama > Birmingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Romantic Hotel in Birmingham
#20 Family Hotel in Birmingham
#26 Business Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range: $147 - $222 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Hotel Highland Downtown UAB 3*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Highland at Five Points South is located just minutes/blocks from UAB and right in the center of all the fabulous restaurants (including Highland Bar & Grill, Chez FonFon, Surin, Ocean, and Twenty Six, just to name a few) and entertainment venues! It is THE place to be while in Birmingham! Just minutes from the Birmingham Courthouse, BJCC, Kirklin Clinic, UAB Highlands and shopping areas! With 63 amazing rooms and suites, with affordable rates that include breakfast and WiFi...it is your "home away from home". Call today to book your reservation! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your The Hotel Highland Downtown UAB reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Highland At 5 Points
Highland At Five Points Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing