We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great location, great pricing, comfortable and clean”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Birmingham Airport
Ranked #55 of 79 Hotels in Birmingham
San Francisco, CA.
Level Contributor
73 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“great location, great pricing, comfortable and clean”
Reviewed April 4, 2014 via mobile

My title above says it all, they have a great breakfast buffet for $7!!! Thats a cup of coffee price in NY or California. And they have shuttles to the airport. Room are large and comfortable and its locate right off a freeway for easy access. About 8 minutes to downtown Birmingham. Nice bar lounge and if your Holiday Inn rewards member, comp beer or wine on check in.

Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank LeVagabonde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ken H, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Birmingham Airport, responded to this review, April 7, 2014
Thank You for your recent review, as well as being a IHG rewards member. We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay. If you happen to be in the Birmingham area this summer we hope that you return as our guest and check out the pool. We have some exciting events coming up that feature the pool are and our resturant. Also ask any staff member for details on our "Name our Restaurant" contest. You could win IHG reward points if your suggestion is chosen.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

369 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    67
    82
    95
    66
    59
See reviews for
81
65
34
147
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
64 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2014

This is a decent Holidayinn that has updated rooms. The exercise room has new equipment and the staff is friendly. The area around the hotel is very shady and run down. There are not many restaurants within walking distance other than a Hardees and a gas station. It's slightly alarming that there is a security guard at the front door when you arrive at the hotel. I did not feel comfortable walking in the neighborhoods surrounding this location.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LonePalm07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ken H, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Birmingham Airport, responded to this review, April 7, 2014
Thank you for your recent review of our hotel. We were delighted to have you as our guest. We understand your concern regarding safety and security and I can assure you that we are as safe as any hotel in Birmingham. In my 15 years of experience and working for multiple brands I have experienced less issues here than any other hotel I have worked at. We at the Holiday Inn also understand that no matter where you stay it is always important to take every precaution to assure guest safety and it is our hope that the security guard presence will bring a little added extra security and not a feeling of insecurity. We also have put a lot of time and effort into our restaurant. We are aware of the limited dinning options in the area. Steel city Bar and Grill is located in our lobby and offers great cuisine at a reasonable price. From our delicious Philly cheese steak to our Southern fried chicken. We hope that you will return as our guest when in the Birmingham area and give Steel City a try.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Alabama
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 20, 2014 via mobile

This was the worst night I have ever spent in a hotel ever. The traffic noise was so bad I couldn't sleep at all. The front desk was "unaware" of this issue. The shower was the best part of this stay.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ken H, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Birmingham Airport, responded to this review, March 25, 2014
Thank you for your recent review. We are aware of the challenges of being an airport property and unfortunately noise is one of them. I apologize that options such as our sleep kits that offer some noise reducing solutions were not offered to you. Thanks to your review we will have a refresher with the staff on how to be more sensitive to our guest noise concerns. We hope you will give us another try when in the Birmingham area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2014 via mobile

This hotel is good for a place to just stop for the night if you don't mind some slight highway/airport noise. The neighborhood is not great but appears safe. The front desk staff could be friendlier but nothing that's not overlooked easily. If you're headed east of Birmingham, the location will save you from rush hour traffic in the morning.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank twills723
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ken H, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Birmingham Airport, responded to this review, March 25, 2014
Thank you for your review. We are pleased to hear our location worked out great for you, but it is our goal to be so much more than just a convenient location. We welcome the opportunity to discuss your other concerns during your stay. If you would like to contact the hotel directly we would love to hear how we can better serve you and all of our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
43 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2014

To start the hotel is in need of a renovation. The rooms are tired. The exercise room has one pike and two treadmills and a cheap fan that doesn't move the air and is dusty so hard to breath when working out. The restaurant on site is a plus as most HIE don't have full restaurants but the menu and quality of the food need help. The airline boarding pass computer only has the four major US based airlines which is unfortunately not one I was flying and when I used the computer in the business centre the printers did not work. On the positive side the front desk staff is friendly. Overpriced for what you get. I understand to find a fairly good place to eat it is a 15 - 20 minute drive form the hotel.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DrDavid44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ken H, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Birmingham Airport, responded to this review, March 25, 2014
Thank you for your recent review. We regret that your stay was anything less than perfect. As with all of our guests your feedback is welcomed and we will give all of your concerns our undivided attention, in hopes that, not only will you return as our guest and experience the level of service you expect when staying at Holiday Inn, but also with the goal that no additional guests will experience less than satisfactory service and/or accommodations when staying at our property.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level Contributor
74 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2014

We had an early flight and wanted to be close to the airport, so we chose this Holiday Inn. Having read some of the reviews, of the airport hotels, we were a little apprehensive. It is located right off the interstate, but I wouldn't call the neighborhood "Very Bad", as one review did. It is surrounded by gas stations (the one directly behind it was 20 cents cheaper per gallon, than the ones on the main road) and a Hardee's across the street. It is an older property but well maintained. The lobby was nice (as was the bar) and the clerk friendly and efficient. Again, older, but nice. The room was very spacious, and attractive. (updated) It had a mini fridge and microwave, as well as a coffee maker. The bed was comfortable - even had a choice of firm or soft pillows. Our room faced the interstate, and I could hear the traffic (barely), but once, asleep - nothing. They offer a breakfast buffet for $7.99 and wish we could have tried it, but time did not permit. (ate at Hardee's, across the street) A free shuttle van is also available, to the airport, if needed. If we're ever in the area, again, would not hesitate to stay here.

Room Tip: Maybe a room not facing the interstate
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Racefan24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ken H, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Birmingham Airport, responded to this review, March 4, 2014
Thank you for your recent review of our hotel. We are pleased to hear that our property met all your needs. It is our hope that you will return as our guest when in the Birmingham area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallassee, Alabama
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 26, 2014

I made my reservation a month in advance; they didn't have a room when I got here. Finally gave me the Executive Suite. VERY BAD neighborhood. No restaurants. VERY VERY noisey! Glad I am only here for one night!

Room Tip: Stay at another hotel!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Byrdhouse0821
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ken H, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Birmingham Airport, responded to this review, February 28, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to address your concerns during your recent stay with us. Being that we are an airport property we do understand that the noise level can be annoying. We are currently in the process of implementing sleep kits to aid in getting a goodnight's rest without all the outside noise. We hope that you give us another try when in the area, and take advantage of one of our kits to assure you a goodnight rest.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Birmingham
2.8 mi away
Comfort Inn Birmingham - Irondale
3.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites
4.1 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#47 of 79 in Birmingham
76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
SpringHill Suites Birmingham Downtown at UAB
3.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Birmingham Downtown - The Tutwiler
5.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Birmingham East Irondale
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Birmingham Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Birmingham Airport

Property: Holiday Inn Birmingham Airport
Address: 5000 Richard Arrington Jr Blvd N, Birmingham, AL 35212-1410
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alabama > Birmingham
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #55 of 79 Hotels in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Birmingham Airport 3*
Number of rooms: 226
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The spectacular Holiday Inn Birmingham Airport Hotel is known for the highest in quality service and accommodations. Located just 1 mile from the Birmingham International Airport, just off I-20/I-59 and I-459. We are consistently top rated nationally in overall guest satisfaction. This hotel offers a smoke- and pet-free environment with beautifully appointed guest rooms and suites. Offering meeting rooms able to accommodate up to 200 people. Our hotel features complimentary airport shuttle service, complimentary Wi-Fi, 24-hour state-of-the-art fitness facility. Stay and Fly Packages are available. The Holiday Inn Birmingham Airport Hotel is close to the history that makes Birmingham unique. Whether you are visiting Birmingham on business or pleasure, you ll find our hotel staff is here to accommodate all of your needs. We are centrally located, placing our hotel minutes from downtown and convenient to many attractions and business locations, such as Barber Motor Sports, Talladega Super Speedway, Civil Rights Museum, 16th Street Baptist Church, Birmingham-Jefferson Convention Complex, University of Alabama at Birmingham, Alabama Adventure Theme Park, Splash Beach Water Park and Five Points South Entertainment District. The Holiday Inn Birmingham Airport offers exceptional service and accommodations you have come to expect and deserve. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and HRS so you can book your Holiday Inn Birmingham Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Birmingham Airport Hotel Birmingham
Birmingham Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing