We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not Recommended, staff is polite but incompetent!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Birmingham Airport
Ranked #55 of 79 Hotels in Birmingham
NC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Not Recommended, staff is polite but incompetent!”
Reviewed July 20, 2008

First room they gave me, after waiting for and hour to get it ready, was already occupied when I went through the door, nice surprise. They done the same thing to another guy while I was in the lobby waiting. Second room had a broken air conditioner. By this time I was getting pretty uneasy about the place. The third room was decent, well organized and clean, although the AC had to basically be running at or near high to cool the room, it had only gotten to 88 that day so it wasn't all that hot outside. While waiting for the first room to get ready I thought I'd drive a little ways and pick up something to eat. I drove about mile in 2 directions and the further I went the worse the area got, it's basically located in the slums. I finally settled for a Hardee's with an 88 rating. I was glad to get out of there the next day.

  • Liked — Convenience to the Interstate
  • Disliked — Incompetent Staff
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Grateful11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

365 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    82
    94
    65
    58
See reviews for
80
65
34
145
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta
1 review
Reviewed July 16, 2008

I do a tremendous amount of traveling and I think that I am a hotel expert. Well my expertise was taken to the next level once I stayed at the Holiday Inn Birmingham Airport. Most of the time airport hotels are the worst properties that a person can stay in, that is next to the roadside-truckstop motels. I was pleasant ly surprised about my stay at this Birmingham hotel.

When my flight back home was cancelled I called the hotel and made a reservation. the lady who made my reservation was most pleasant and helpful. She even offered some local places to dine before I arrived to the hotel.

When I actually arrived every one that appeared to be an employee offered to help me with my one travelling roller. Imagine that! I joked with the front desk and said I must be the only guest in the hotel. She simply smiled and said "you are and that makes you the best!"

The room was great! the building itself looks older but I was surprised about the interior decor. Looks like a new hotel. And thank goodness, the room was spotless! it's increasingly becoming hard to find this!

The hotel has a bar area and it was like I was at my local bar---this was a nice end to the evening, since I did not intend on being there.

All in all a great hotel!

  • Liked — the employees
  • Disliked — location
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Southsophis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VictoriaGr
1 review
Reviewed July 12, 2008

The reviews below cannot be about the same hotel that I stayed in. The staff was beyond helpful and pleasant, answering all of my questions without hesitation. I didn't have a car during my stay and the front desk organized a convinient Birhmingham tour possible to accomplish via taxi service. My 3-day stay was comfortable, fun, and convenient. The rooms were clean, great TV and channels, delicious restaurant, and nice pool. Take my word for it... this hotel was well worth the visit.

  • Liked — The convenient location to the airport... makes travelling easy!!
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank VictoriaGr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mmelymo
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2008

Hotel is located in the ghetto. They do not have 24 hour security. My car, along with 6 others was broken into in the parking lot, that by the way does not have security cameras. The police officer did not want to file a report and said it was a bad area for crime and prostitution. The hotel staff and mangement were rude and not helpful when I have contacted them about the break-in. The GM said that you park there at your own risk. I understand that but I would like to think that I was in a secure area. This was by far my worst hotel experience. The bathrooms are small. The air conditioner did not blow cold air, just AIR. No vending machines. Overall horrible experience. My window cost $345 to replace, I had to have my car detailed to remove the blood and glass, and I had almost $1,000 dollars worth of electronics stolen from my car. If that is not a good enough reason to never return, then I don't know what is.

  • Liked — nothing
  • Disliked — everything
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mmelymo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san diego, ca
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2008

any positive impression i had when i walked in to their updated and remodeled lobby was taken away during my two-night night stay when i accidentally left my wedding ring on the desk in my room and returned that night to find it missing. stolen, actually.


the night security officer took a report and i've been told that i would hear from the hotel's insurance company...but that was 5/21/08.


the wedding ring was approx $2000-2500. it was the only thing on the desk when i left the room.


furthermore, the housekeeper did something that hasn't been done to my belongings before...she moved my toothbrush out of the styrofoam cup that i had placed it. she threw the cup away and left the toothbrush on the sink. who touches a guest's toothbrush???


i'd recommend that you not stay at holiday inn express at birmingham airport. despite their commercials, i don't feel smarter today for staying there.

  • Disliked — the theft
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank arhats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
87 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2008

I'm a Priority Club member and I just stopped in at the end of a long day of driving. I figured if I didn't like the rate I'd get back on the road. Rate quoted was $140, I asked for discount as it was 1030pm and rate became $89-I could live with that and I think I will try this plan whenever possible. They let me use the "night cap" drink voucher for my morning coffee which was nice. I'd like it if there was some form of a breakfast considering the price. The room was very nice except the tub had some sort of patch around the drain, functioned fine. No noise on the non airport side.

  • Liked — modern decor
  • Disliked — no breakfast
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SubicChick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maine
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2008

would def stay here again, they were so friendly and helpful. 100% brand new, plazma tv, fridge, mirocrowave...

shuttle to airport and some downtown things

would have liked for there to have been breakfast included

  • Liked — clean, SAFE, new and increadably helpful
  • Disliked — no breakfast, and it would have been nice if the shuttle took you more places
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank acaciaruth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Birmingham
2.8 mi away
Comfort Inn Birmingham - Irondale
3.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites
4.1 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#47 of 79 in Birmingham
3.5 of 5 bubbles 75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Birmingham East Irondale
3.4 mi away
SpringHill Suites Birmingham Downtown at UAB
3.2 mi away
Sheraton Birmingham
Sheraton Birmingham
#33 of 79 in Birmingham
3.5 of 5 bubbles 926 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Birmingham Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Birmingham Airport

Property: Holiday Inn Birmingham Airport
Address: 5000 Richard Arrington Jr Blvd N, Birmingham, AL 35212-1410
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alabama > Birmingham
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #55 of 79 Hotels in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Birmingham Airport 3*
Number of rooms: 226
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The spectacular Holiday Inn Birmingham Airport Hotel is known for the highest in quality service and accommodations. Located just 1 mile from the Birmingham International Airport, just off I-20/I-59 and I-459. We are consistently top rated nationally in overall guest satisfaction. This hotel offers a smoke- and pet-free environment with beautifully appointed guest rooms and suites. Offering meeting rooms able to accommodate up to 200 people. Our hotel features complimentary airport shuttle service, complimentary Wi-Fi, 24-hour state-of-the-art fitness facility. Stay and Fly Packages are available. The Holiday Inn Birmingham Airport Hotel is close to the history that makes Birmingham unique. Whether you are visiting Birmingham on business or pleasure, you ll find our hotel staff is here to accommodate all of your needs. We are centrally located, placing our hotel minutes from downtown and convenient to many attractions and business locations, such as Barber Motor Sports, Talladega Super Speedway, Civil Rights Museum, 16th Street Baptist Church, Birmingham-Jefferson Convention Complex, University of Alabama at Birmingham, Alabama Adventure Theme Park, Splash Beach Water Park and Five Points South Entertainment District. The Holiday Inn Birmingham Airport offers exceptional service and accommodations you have come to expect and deserve. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Holiday Inn Birmingham Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Birmingham Airport Hotel Birmingham
Birmingham Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing