We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Run, don't walk”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Birmingham Airport
Ranked #57 of 79 Hotels in Birmingham
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Run, don't walk”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2012

We chose this hotel because it was not far from the Civic Center and it seemed to be a good value. The front desk clerk was pleasant and said "no problem" when I asked for a room in a quiet area. I went up to my room, opened the door, and was greeted by the roar of the Interstate highway which runs a short block from the property. I went back down and requested a room on the other side of the hotel and they obliged without hesitation. The room was fine, noise-wise. Carpet was worn and had some suspicious stains. I had reserved a second room for family members, and had prepaid both. Upon checkout, the clerk could not find evidence of the prepay for the second room, and although I pulled up my bank account on my laptop and showed him that the Holiday Inn had deducted the cost of both rooms (in separate transactions, no less), he tried to make me pay again. After an hour of "I don't have access to accounting," I left without the matter being resolved. Ultimately the HI DID find the prepay info and I was not charged a second time. Perhaps worst of all is the breakfast buffet which is staffed by individuals who look like they'd rather be anywhere but in the restaurant. The pans of food were more often empty than full. Service was horrible. Location is in a run-down area. Will never return to this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ladyrev484
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Case Manger at Holiday Inn Birmingham Airport, responded to this review, April 16, 2012
Dear ladyrev484,

Thank you for leaving us a review. Your feedback is very important to us. I am sorry about the miscommunication of your prepaid bill. I am happy to hear that was resolved. Your comments about the service in the restaurant will be shared.

Thanks again,

Katie J
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

359 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    81
    92
    64
    56
See reviews for
78
65
33
143
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Aurora, Missouri
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2012

We chose Holiday Inn in Birmingham because we were able to redeem Priority Points at this location. My daughter and I checked in about 8:30pm. The desk help was busy on the phone when we arrived so it took them a while to help us. We were given room 506. When we opened the door to our room, it was bolted from the inside.... a baby was crying and I'm sure we frightened the family we almost walked in on. We went back downstairs to request a room without people in it. The staff was surprised that the room was occupied. We were given room 419. The bathroom toilet shot water out the top/side of it when flushed, so we had a mess to clean up. Otherwise, the room was clean. We just didn't feel safe. We were hungry and (fortunately) drove our car across the street to the Hardees. Upon exiting our car, we were hit up by a homeless man wanting money. On our way out of Hardee's we were hit up by two more homeless men. We made it through the night and left around 4:30 am. Won't be staying again on the way home. Yikes!

Room Tip: Find another hotel in a different location. Bad section of town.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Winona B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Case Manager at Holiday Inn Birmingham Airport, responded to this review, April 4, 2012
Dear Winona B,

Thank you for taking the time to express your thoughts and concerns.
I apologize for the inconveniences you experienced at our hotel. I assure you that the safety of our guests is of utmost concern to us. I would like to discuss this further with you. I have sent you a private message in effort to obtain more information about your stay. I look forward to hearing back from you.

Katie J
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
75 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 264 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2012

I always use Marriott, but tried Holiday Inn because of the free parking and airport shuttle. The value considering the parking was OK, but we couldn't sleep! The air conditioner unit was so loud that I felt like I only slept a few hours. On top of that they don't even offer coffee for early risers. I think the cafe opened at 8 AM, which did us no good trying to catch a 630 AM flight. I rechecked the website and it doesn't say anything about no coffee. Granted, they do have coffee makers in the rooms, but those small, filter bags are terrible. I won't do the Holiday Inn thing again.

Room Tip: Go to a Marriott.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Bigfoot1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Birmingham Airport, responded to this review, April 9, 2012
Bigfoot1981,

First of all, thank you very much for your recent stay. I am so sorry to see you did not enjoy your overall experience with us. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions to ensure similar situations can be avoided in the future. We appreciate the candid feedback we receive and welcome any opportunity to improve.

Ben J
IHG Care
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeachLizard_MD
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2012

We stayed her only because we were catching a flight very early in the morning. It met our needs, but we'd have to think long and hard about staying here again. We arrived in the evening, bought dinner in the hotel restaurant and brought it back to our room. Left the hotel at 5:45 in the morning.

The good: it's about 90 seconds from the airport; the shuttle runs every 20 minutes.

The not-so-good: Disinterested, unhelpful desk clerk at our 5:20 am checkout; we were an inconvenience to the waitress that would have rather continued visiting with the businessmen at the bar than take our to-go order; the tub that drained very, very slowly after a quick shower.

This place is very old. Some of it has been updated but its age (and in some cases the grime) still shows through.

One tip... If you have to catch an early flight and have no other alternatives but to stay here, ask for a room on something higher than the second floor. When I went up to the third floor for ice (no ice machine on the second floor) it was clearly cleaner and more recently updated than ours.

Room Tip: Third floor or higher.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank BeachLizard_MD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Birmingham Airport, responded to this review, March 26, 2012
Dear BeachLizard_MD,

I am very sorry for the issues you had with the service you received. I understand your stay was not 100 % but I do hope you can stay with us again.

Katie J
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spokane, Washington
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2012

The only bad thing about this hotel was the noise. The walls/doors/windows are not incredibly thick so we could hear people talking in the hallways and cars zooming by on the nearby highway. The fridge in our room also made quite a bit of noise.

Everything else was great. We got a great rate on priceline. The location was perfectly situated right next to the airport. The main level's hardwood floor is beautiful and the bar and restaurant are terrific. Staff were friendly. I would stay again and I would reccommend this hotel to anyone needing accommodations near the airport.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ncaa2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
130 reviews
113 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2012

The hotel is clean as well as was my room. The new restaurant has some excellent food, try a frozen margarita with it. It seems someone used my room number to pay for their dinner at the bar, but the staff at the front desk was so helpful and kindly removed the charges from my bill! Do not venture out at night.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheTruthHasBeenTold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alabama
Level Contributor
94 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2012

Recently stayed at this Holiday Inn location on a weekend getaway for a play at the BJCC arena. The Sheraton at BJCC was booked so we picked this one for its close location to the BJCC. This hotel is in an older unattractive area of Birmingham which most are that are close to airports. However, once inside the hotel, the accomodations very adequate. Hotel also has a restaurant inside which is convenient for something fast.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LeeAuburn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Birmingham
2.8 mi away
Comfort Inn Birmingham - Irondale
3.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites
4.1 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#47 of 79 in Birmingham
3.5 of 5 bubbles 75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Birmingham East Irondale
3.4 mi away
SpringHill Suites Birmingham Downtown at UAB
3.2 mi away
Sheraton Birmingham
Sheraton Birmingham
#33 of 79 in Birmingham
3.5 of 5 bubbles 916 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Birmingham Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Birmingham Airport

Property: Holiday Inn Birmingham Airport
Address: 5000 Richard Arrington Blvd, Birmingham, AL 35212
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alabama > Birmingham
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #57 of 79 Hotels in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Birmingham Airport 3*
Number of rooms: 226
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The spectacular Holiday Inn Birmingham Airport Hotel is known for the highest in quality service and accommodations. Located just 1 mile from the Birmingham International Airport, just off I-20/I-59 and I-459. We are consistently top rated nationally in overall guest satisfaction. This hotel offers a smoke- and pet-free environment with beautifully appointed guest rooms and suites. Offering meeting rooms able to accommodate up to 200 people. Our hotel features complimentary airport shuttle service, complimentary Wi-Fi, 24-hour state-of-the-art fitness facility. Stay and Fly Packages are available. The Holiday Inn Birmingham Airport Hotel is close to the history that makes Birmingham unique. Whether you are visiting Birmingham on business or pleasure, you ll find our hotel staff is here to accommodate all of your needs. We are centrally located, placing our hotel minutes from downtown and convenient to many attractions and business locations, such as Barber Motor Sports, Talladega Super Speedway, Civil Rights Museum, 16th Street Baptist Church, Birmingham-Jefferson Convention Complex, University of Alabama at Birmingham, Alabama Adventure Theme Park, Splash Beach Water Park and Five Points South Entertainment District. The Holiday Inn Birmingham Airport offers exceptional service and accommodations you have come to expect and deserve. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, IHG, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Birmingham Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Birmingham Airport Hotel Birmingham
Birmingham Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing