We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Had a great one night stay at Embassy Suites”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Embassy Suites by Hilton Birmingham
Ranked #34 of 79 Hotels in Birmingham
Georgia
1 review
“Had a great one night stay at Embassy Suites”
Reviewed January 25, 2009

The hotel was very nice, had a great atmosphere. Check in went very smoothly. Got to the room and was very impressed. Several of us came down for a Cheer competition and decided to stay at the Embassy. We all had very clean rooms no complaints at all. The swimming pool was very nice. The only thing my kids was upset about was that they closed the pool down for kids at around 10pm, for adult swim. The free breakfast was really good. Overall we had a great stay at the Embassy Suites i would most definately come back and stay again.

  • Liked — The big suites
  • Disliked — Kids not being able to swim late
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank cjraina67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa S, Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Birmingham, responded to this review, April 6, 2015
Thank you for your comments. I hope that you have stayed with us since.

Thank you,
Lisa Sapp
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,081 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    361
    251
    180
    164
    125
See reviews for
415
143
37
357
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Boston
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2008

The checkin was terrible as I waited in line and the desk clerk attempted to take the attractive young lady standing behind me. She said No I will wait my turn, then the other desk clerk helped the lady and my desk clerk kept stopping my reservation to blatantly give attention to the lady. Once in my room, I called the general manager to complain and I left a message and never heard from her. Hotel promises a hot breakfast and they didn't have. Wake up call on 1 of the 3 days didn't happen. I stayed on the 8th floor and the hot water was luke warm at best. They sent up a repair guy when I was not there and i never heard the result. I filled out 2 surveys in the hotel stating the problems and never heard from anyone. I couldn't believe the poor service at an Embassy Suites hotel.

  • Liked — Ruth Chris Steakhouse
  • Disliked — Service
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Philip R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa S, Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Birmingham, responded to this review, April 6, 2015
Thank you for your comments. I hope that you have stayed with us since.

Thank you,
Lisa Sapp
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tennessee
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2008

I usually enjoy staying at an Embassy Suite, however this time my stay was only ok. My first room had a broken( hanging metal, broken glass) sliding glass door. Quickly they gave me a new room on the floor that I had originally requested, but told there was none available.
Cold food, no omelets until our last day when a full breakfast was offered. The last day the breakfast was great with lots from which to choose.
If you need the shuttle service, make sure you stand your ground on your agreed time. The first morning we were told the shuttle would be 45 minutes late. HOWEVER they paid for a cab without us having to even get really upset.
Very cold showers!
Large suites.
Lots of room if you are bringing family.
Loads of children everywhere
I'll stay at an Embassy Suite again, but probably not here in Birmingham.

Stayed June 2008
Helpful?
Thank tnmainsail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa S, Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Birmingham, responded to this review, April 6, 2015
Thank you for your comments. I hope that you have stayed with us since.

Thank you,
Lisa Sapp
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kentucky
Level Contributor
89 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2008

This was the dirtiest Embassy Suites I've ever visited. The room floor was dirty, the common areas were dirty, the pool area was not clean, the pool bathrooms were excptionally bad, there were candy wrappers in the flower beds, and algae growing on the window above the hot tub (which was really a warm tub). The breakfast area was absolute chaos - clearly understaffed with many of the standard breakfast items missing. The front desk was staffed by only one person early in the morning causing a long queue. There were no towels in the pool area and when asked about it, a staff member left to get some but never returned.

I'm a fan of Embassy Suites, but will not be returning here.

  • Disliked — The lack of cleanliness
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank CheapWorldTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa S, Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Birmingham, responded to this review, April 6, 2015
Thank you for your comments. I hope that you have stayed with us since.

Thank you,
Lisa Sapp
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, Ky
Level Contributor
1 review
Reviewed May 23, 2008

The hotel is still in ratty shape even after a supposed "renovation". The rooms need more updated fixtures and furniture, the beds are hard and uncomfortable. The customer service was terrible. We reserved three rooms and the reservations were wrong. We spent over an hour and a half at the front desk three different times trying to resolve this. The front desk employees' uniforms were ill-fitted and they were not at all professional in their attitude or dress. The breakfast bar was not stocked and the food was cold. We heard several people complaining about it being 10am (breakfast bar closes at 10:30am) and they hadn't replenished the eggs. They didn't offer to cook more, they said the bar would be closing soon and that was that. They ran out of clean bowls for cereal. All in all, the hotel needs better general management, a head houskeeper that has an eye for detail and cleanliness and a maintenance department that takes pride in the condition of the hotel.

  • Liked — Size of rooms
  • Disliked — Cleanliness and physical condition of hotel
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Neetsy08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa S, Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Birmingham, responded to this review, April 6, 2015
Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience with us. I hope that you have stayed with us since.

Thank you,
Lisa Sapp
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Level Contributor
73 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2008

We stayed here one night while passing through town. It was just average. The pool was so crowded we couldn't even enjoy it. The hot tub was not working. The room was just average. The breakfast was good. Cooked to order omelets and pancakes. But I don't think it was worth the price of $170 a nite.

  • Disliked — Hard location to find. Not conveniet to stores or food
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank classygrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa S, Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Birmingham, responded to this review, April 6, 2015
Thank you for your comments. I hope that you have stayed with us since then.

Thank you,
Lisa Sapp
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redding, California
Level Contributor
212 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2008

The new Birmingham Embassy Suites is almost finished and we checked in today at 7:30AM.

I thought I'd just drop our luggage off and come back later but they actually said no, you can check in, and we are upgrading your family to a 2 bedroom, 2 bathroom, living room suite! Wow, after a discounted AAA rate and HH benefits - we are so pleased again with this hotel.

All the rooms are completed in the renovation, now for the public restrooms, the lobby, and the jacuzzi - then it's all new.

  • Liked — new decor, Ruth's Chris Steakhouse, great staff, and the shuttle to the fitness center and hospital, etc.
  • Disliked — no other restaurants within walking distance
  • Stayed March 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank InternationalCare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa S, Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Birmingham, responded to this review, April 6, 2015
Thank you for your kind comments. I hope that you have stayed with us since.

Thank you,
Lisa Sapp
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Birmingham
8.4 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Birmingham-Hoover
1.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Birmingham / Mountain Brook
1.0 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Birmingham Downtown Near UAB
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Doubletree Hotel Birmingham
Doubletree Hotel Birmingham
#30 of 79 in Birmingham
685 reviews
0.6 mi away
aloft Birmingham Soho Square
1.2 mi away
Residence Inn Birmingham Downtown at UAB
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Embassy Suites by Hilton Birmingham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites by Hilton Birmingham

Property: Embassy Suites by Hilton Birmingham
Address: 2300 Woodcrest Pl, Birmingham, AL 35209-1304
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alabama > Birmingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#27 Business Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Embassy Suites by Hilton Birmingham 3.5*
Number of rooms: 242
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the Southbridge Office complex off of the Red Mountain Expressway, the Embassy Suites is the only upscale, all-suite hotel in the Birmingham area. Complimentary Cooked-to-Order Breakfast and a Manager's Reception served daily. Three miles from UAB Campus, St. Vincent's Hospital, the Zoo, Botanical Gardens, Civil Rights Institute and so much more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and HRS so you can book your Embassy Suites by Hilton Birmingham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Suites Birmingham Hotel Birmingham
Birmingham Embassy Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing