We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Embassy Suites by Hilton Birmingham
Ranked #39 of 80 Hotels in Birmingham
Reviewed February 14, 2014

I have been staying at this hotel for years. The rooms are showing their age. The staff at this hotel is what keeps me coming back. While the hotel isn't really near anything, it is centrally located in Birmingham.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels
Thank Chad H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HeatherMS, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Birmingham, responded to this reviewResponded April 11, 2014

Thank you for your many years of loyalty to our hotel. I appreciate your praise for the staff and your continued business.

Cheers

Heather Strauss

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,209)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

938 - 944 of 1,209 reviews

Reviewed February 12, 2014

Been coming to this hotel for 25 years and do love the property but it is showing some wear and tear. Reception liquor is cheap and room rates are a bit high. Housekeepers let doors slam while cleaning rooms. Breakfast is really good.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels
Thank Andy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HeatherMS, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Birmingham, responded to this reviewResponded April 6, 2014

Thank you for your kind comments regarding Breakfast and your loyalty over the past 25 years as one of our hotel guests!! We recently completed a hallway rennovation and will be enhancing the Lobby furniture next month to address the areas needed improvements. We are continually enhancing the hotel and I hope you will see the changes first hand during your next visit. Please ask for me when you return so I can share some more improvements with you in detail.

Sincerely,
Heather Strauss
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2014

First room, noisy with construction workers outside the doorway, had to walk over and around their equipment, bathroom floor dirty, bathroom door needed replaced, commode lid loose and barely attached, telephone, unplugged, no regular coffee in the room, floor lamp needed a light bulb. Second room, should have been a non smoking room, however, the room smelled heavily of cigarette smoke, not a fresh clean smell, ashtrays provided in the room, and cigarette holes burnt on the sofa. Front desk clerk states that this was a non-smoking room, which I totally disagree.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels
Thank Newon/ Janice G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HeatherStrauss, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Birmingham, responded to this reviewResponded February 12, 2014

I apologize for the condition of your suite and overall experience. We are currently enhancing the hallways to improve the hotel decor and anticipate the project being completed by February 28th. I am sorry the second room you were given was not up to our standards and not inspected prior to your room change. I will review this with my team and hope you will give us another chance when in the Birmingham area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2014

Ended up staying three days when snow storm hit. Hotel staff unable to go home either. Service was fabulous. Everyone extremely pleasant. Every attempt was made to honor any request made. Hotel team made our stay an adventure rather than an obstacle. Our glamping (glamour camping) was very enjoyable.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels
Thank Kathy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HeatherMS, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Birmingham, responded to this reviewResponded April 11, 2014

Kathy,

Thank you for your kind comments and recognizing the hotel staff during a stressfull experience when the snow storm standed many people in the city. We all expereinced this together and have memories to share regarding the storm of 2014!!

Thank you again,
Heather Strauss

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2014

Had my son's birthday sleepover party with a few of his friends. 2BR/2BA suite had plenty of space and a large table with 8 chairs that was perfect for pizza, cake and games. Kids really enjoyed being able to swim in an indoor heated pool in January! It was perfect for our needs.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels
Thank Damita H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HeatherMS, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Birmingham, responded to this reviewResponded April 11, 2014

Thank you for your comments. I am glad your son had an enjoyable weekend and enjoyed our indoor pool and the large two bedroom suite.

Sincerely,
Heather Strauss

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2014

I got stuck at this hotel during a snow storm. There were more than a hundred people without rooms. The staff and manager handled it all very well. They fed people. the moved lounge chairs out of the pool area into meeting rooms for people to sleep. They even charged my phone for me several times. I eventually got a room late in the evening when someone cancelled a reservation. The room was on a floor under construction but I did not mind at all. I give the staff an A for how they handled the situation.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled solo
    • Service
Thank D D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HeatherMS, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Birmingham, responded to this reviewResponded April 11, 2014

Thank you for your comments regarding your stay during the storm. I appreciate your praise for the staff and service during a stressfull situation. I hope you can come back and enjoy our hotel during a less stressfull situation!

Thank you again,
Heather Strauss

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2014

My family and I have stayed in Birmingham at this property several times and in the past we were pleased. However during this stay, we had to change rooms and noticed that the level of cleanliness was far below what we have come to expect from an Embassy Suites. The hotel needs to be updated and emphasis placed on cleanliness and attention to detail. I expect so much more from Hilton brands.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kfowlkes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HeatherStrauss, Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Birmingham, responded to this reviewResponded February 4, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We are currently updating the hallways and some public spaces to maintain the property. I apologize for the condition of your suite and will review your comments with the Executive Housekeeper and the attendant who serviced your suite.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
8.4 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Birmingham-Hoover
1.2 mi away
Residence Inn Birmingham Downtown at UAB
2.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Birmingham Downtown - The Tutwiler
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Drury Inn & Suites Birmingham Lakeshore Drive
1.2 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Birmingham
1 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Birmingham Downtown Near UAB
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Embassy Suites by Hilton Birmingham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites by Hilton Birmingham

Address: 2300 Woodcrest Pl, Birmingham, AL 35209-1304
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alabama > Birmingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#27 Business Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range: $124 - $232 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Embassy Suites by Hilton Birmingham 3.5*
Number of rooms: 242
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the Southbridge Office complex off of the Red Mountain Expressway, the Embassy Suites is the only upscale, all-suite hotel in the Birmingham area. Complimentary Cooked-to-Order Breakfast and a Manager's Reception served daily. Three miles from UAB Campus, St. Vincent's Hospital, the Zoo, Botanical Gardens, Civil Rights Institute and so much more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Embassy Suites by Hilton Birmingham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Suites Birmingham Hotel Birmingham
Birmingham Embassy Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing