We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The worst 3-11 front desk supervsior that allow housekeepers to leave without cleaning rooms!!!!” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Embassy Suites by Hilton Birmingham

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Embassy Suites by Hilton Birmingham
Ranked #35 of 79 Hotels in Birmingham
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The worst 3-11 front desk supervsior that allow housekeepers to leave without cleaning rooms!!!!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2013

I booked 2 rooms at the Embassy Hotel in Homewood, AL for tonight over a week ago. One room was a 2 bedroom suite the other room a 1 room suite. The one room suite gave me the option to upgrade to a 2 bedroom suite if it was available today. I drove an hour away from work today to pay for my room and was told that since there were 2 bedroom suites available and since I was eligible for an upgrade, I was upgraded from a 1 room suite to the 2 bedroom suite and the other 2 bedroom suite I had booked with the other reservation was cancelled by the front desk supervisor. I arrived at the hotel at 3:06pm which was check in time, but I was told the rooms were still dirty, so I couldn't get my hotel keys. I was fine with that, but I told the supervisor I would be back tonight. I arrive to the hotel with my kids tonight and was told by the same front desk supervisor that the room that was reserved for me was given to another guest because their room door would not unlock. So I am staring at the supervisor and asked him okay what about the other 2 bedroom suites. He looks in the computer and tells me the other suites are nasty and housekeeping had left for the day. So he gave me 3 choices, downgrade back to a 1 room suite with my kids, drive 30 more minutes away to another Embassy Suite, or since they had not charged me I could cancel. Why would an expensive hotel, that is so big, and around the holidays not make sure that their housekeepers not clean all the rooms. He stated to me they didnt get around to it. This is unacceptable for any one person to have to go through and either your hotel in this location needs to hire more housekeepers or you need to fire your front desk supervisor for not ensuring your hotel rooms were clean. I decided to take my kids and leave. No one should ever have to go through what I went through tonight. This is why I am going back to using Starwood Hotels and not Hilton.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mzzoptimistic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HeatherStrauss, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Birmingham, responded to this review, August 25, 2014
I apologize for your experience and will share with the Front Office Manager.

Sincerely,
Heather Strauss
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,019 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    339
    240
    173
    150
    117
See reviews for
390
137
35
335
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Plano, United States
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2013

Do not go to this hotel. They play games with your credit card charges that maxed out my monthly corporate allowance and then they had the audacity to not let me check in after they had already been paid in full for the previous two week period. The hotel charges you $9.95 a night for internet. OMG. It is not clean either and the maids do not speaka di English at all.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Vincent P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HeatherStrauss, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Birmingham, responded to this review, August 25, 2014
I apologize for your experience. I hope you will think of us in the future and give us another chance.

Sincerely,
Heather Strauss
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2013

Rooms were ok, housekeeping could be improved......a lot. Had more than 1 hassle with the front desk they have no authority to help you if there are billing problems.

Their backoffice staff is basically incompetent and left charges on my card even 2 weeks after they were paid, maxing out my business credit card because of duplicate billings.

On the good side: the free booze was free but cheap. rooms were large. Breakfast was very good.

I will not stay here again.

Room Tip: Higher is better
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HeatherStrauss, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Birmingham, responded to this review, August 25, 2014
I am glad you enjoyed the amenities of Evening Reception and our complimentary Breakfast. I am sorry you had billing issues which were not handled to your expectations and hope you will give us another change.........

Sincerely,
Heather Strauss
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
77 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2013

I stay in the Birmingham area quite a bit, and have stayed at a number of different hotels. This property had several issues that will keep me from returning:

1) Inconsistency. The first night, there were no washcloths in the room. The 2nd night, there were three - but no soap at either sink. The 3rd night, both were present. C'mon, guys, this is basic.

2) TERRIBLE lighting in the rooms. It might be OK if you live in a cave, but the light levels were just plain unacceptable for getting any sort of work done, even with every single light turned on. Again, this is basic.

3) Breakfast was cook-to-order and the food was good enough, but some of the basics are missing. For example, are they really only serving orange juice in Styrofoam cups? Service seemed to be lacking here, as well - running out of coffee and mugs constantly. Seems out-of-sync with the price point.

4) TV appears decent enough, but has the settings locked out so that you can't adjust the aspect ratio - and the default setting has everything squeezed. Bottom line, it's unwatchable on anything other than 2 or 3 digital channels. Again, this might be acceptable in a bargain-priced hotel, but not at this price.

4) I had a billing error - an incorrect $270 charge from the attached restaurant. They fixed it with a smile, but this shouldn't happen.

All that said, the service was friendly, the bed and shower were decent, and the breakfast was OK. At this price level, though, the details should be right - and there are other options in the area that cost less and deliver more consistently.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FullThrottle64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HeatherStrauss, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Birmingham, responded to this review, August 25, 2014
We have made many improvements in 2014! I hope you will come and see the updates.

SIncerely,
Heather Strauss
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
45 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2013

I stayed here for 4 nights on a business trip and was impressed. The rooms are very comfortable with a little balcony. Get top floor if you can and I got a free upgrade to a large conference room with separate bedroom. Housekeeping was great! met all my requests. The furniture is a little outdated but bed was comfortable; had 2 couches in my room which could make into queen size beds; separate sink in bedroom and bath; took free shuttle to and from airport; great no problems; did not eat at Ruth Chris but another traveler said it was ok but no up to their standards; Breakfast was good; just expect some wait when they are booked. All n All the staff was great and would recommend for family or business

Room Tip: high floor; upgrade to conference room or end room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pete4633
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HeatherStrauss, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Birmingham, responded to this review, October 31, 2014
Thank you for sharing your experience!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2013

Just got back from 6 night trip. We had 3 executive suites. Mine was on 2nd floor over Ruth's Chris but it was very quiet. Almost all staff is exceptional! Executive suites (come with a large conference table n 8 executive chairs) were large n bedroom part of all 3 suites was quiet.....(noise is my number one issue at hotels.) Custom omelet chefs were so nice otherwise breakfast was simple but tables were plentiful and cleaned off quickly. Parking is free. 3 sinks in each room was helpful. Fridge a lil small but useful. If I am ever in Birmingham again, I will definitely stay at this hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms near Ruths Chris quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Audreynherboys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HeatherStrauss, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Birmingham, responded to this review, October 31, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. I am glad you were able to enjoy the hotel amenities!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clayton, NC
Level Contributor
69 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2013

I've stayed at several Embassy Suites, and this particular location offers larger, updated suites than most. The staff was friendly and efficient. And the hotel buffet was one of the best I've enjoyed... whenever the eggs aren't greasy, it's a good thing! Their new coffee supplier is a definite upgrade from before as well.

This hotel's location is convenient to everything in Birmingham as well.

Will stay there again this August.

Room Tip: The hotel sits near two major streets. If street noise bothers you request a room on the backside. A...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FamilyTravelsOften
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HeatherStrauss, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Birmingham, responded to this review, October 31, 2014
Thank you for recognizing the staff and our hotel. We appreciate your business and loyalty.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Birmingham
8.4 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Birmingham-Hoover
1.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Birmingham / Mountain Brook
1.2 mi away
Doubletree Hotel Birmingham
Doubletree Hotel Birmingham
#30 of 79 in Birmingham
3.5 of 5 bubbles 617 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Residence Inn Birmingham Downtown at UAB
1.0 mi away
The Hotel Highland Downtown UAB
5.0 mi away
Drury Inn & Suites Birmingham Southeast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Embassy Suites by Hilton Birmingham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites by Hilton Birmingham

Property: Embassy Suites by Hilton Birmingham
Address: 2300 Woodcrest Pl, Birmingham, AL 35209-1304
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alabama > Birmingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#27 Business Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Embassy Suites by Hilton Birmingham 3.5*
Number of rooms: 242
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the Southbridge Office complex off of the Red Mountain Expressway, the Embassy Suites is the only upscale, all-suite hotel in the Birmingham area. Complimentary Cooked-to-Order Breakfast and a Manager's Reception served daily. Three miles from UAB Campus, St. Vincent's Hospital, the Zoo, Botanical Gardens, Civil Rights Institute and so much more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Embassy Suites by Hilton Birmingham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Suites Birmingham Hotel Birmingham
Birmingham Embassy Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing