We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outside the city, but nice place to rest your head”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Embassy Suites by Hilton Birmingham
Ranked #29 of 80 Hotels in Birmingham
Reviewed September 22, 2012

I recently stayed here on business. I was here for a week and the room was more than adequate. The space was nice and the housekeeping was very good. Breakfast was good and the evening happy hour was very nice. My only complaint is that the sliding door on the balcony did not fit tightly. This resulted in a lot of wind noise. Talking to my coworkers showed that this was a problem in all rooms. The stronger the wind the higher the pitch. Other than that I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mdtraveler1237
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa S, Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Birmingham, responded to this reviewResponded April 6, 2015

Than you for taking the time out of your busy schedule to share your experience with us. We take every comment and share with our team.

Cheers,
Lisa Sapp
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,150)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,036 - 1,042 of 1,150 reviews

Reviewed September 22, 2012

I have been on Business for the past few weeks and have been staying at the Embassy suites. For extended stays this hotel has been fine. Obviously the living area is a big benefit and one of the reasons I stayed there. The staff have been great and my only real complaint is the breakfast. Another reviewer had mentioned the lack of coffee after 8.00am and yes it does happen, but a friendly word with one of the folks working there usually rectifies the situation in a few minutes. The tables can be a little slow being cleared and I do wonder why they can't at least provide a cart, or counter to return plates & cups when done. The hotel is in the Homewood area of Birmingham and very close to local restaurants & bars and takes only a minute or two to get to by car or the courtesy bus. there is a perfectly acceptable Ruth's Chris steak in house if you don't want to venture out.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Iain B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa S, Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Birmingham, responded to this reviewResponded April 6, 2015

Than you for taking the time out of your busy schedule to share your experience with us. We take every comment and share with our team.

Cheers,
Lisa Sapp
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2012

Been here a few times. Had a long talk with mgt on a previous visit. They promised improvements. And things have improved. Frankly, not enough yet however. The weak point here is still the breakfast (principally the staff). No coffee other than decaf at 8AM. No coffee available in the afternoon at all- area closed. No clean tables for breakfast. Lot's of dirty ones, no one busing the tables however. That is a reoccurring theme during my visits. On this visit the pool was closed due to the ceiling having fallen in or something along those lines. Didn't want to use it, but if I had.... Couple of notes- 1. there is no place to eat easily there other than Ruth Chris. Chris is nice, but can be a budget buster, especially if all you want is something quick and/or simple. 2. Parking is a bit of a pain.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kegan36604
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa S, Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Birmingham, responded to this reviewResponded April 6, 2015

Than you for taking the time out of your busy schedule to share your experience with us. We take every comment and share with our team.

Cheers,
Lisa Sapp
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2012

The actual room was outdated and needed to be updated. The sink bowl had many cracks and chips in it. Our a/c did not work upon arrival. The informed the front desk, and they fixed it immediately. Everyone employee was wonderful, professional, and pleasant. The hotel is simply worn. I would propably stay here again, but my expectations would not be high as far as the quality of the room.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Angela J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa S, Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Birmingham, responded to this reviewResponded April 6, 2015

Than you for taking the time out of your busy schedule to share your experience with us. We take every comment and share with our team.

Cheers,
Lisa Sapp
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2012

We stayed here for a recent wedding and I would like to say that the place itself was great and I would definitely stay here again. The location was wonderful and they have a hospitality shuttle that takes you anywhere within a 5 mile radius - our driver was super nice as well. The rooms were nice and spacious and were clean and up to date. The towels were fluffy as well. There weren't any odd smells or obnoxious noise disturbances. It has a Ruth's Chris on the ground floor with nice wait staff. The breakfast wasn't anything to write home about but at least it was something and the coffee was good. Our main complaint with this place had to do with two experiences with the staff. The first was the front desk. We had requested that the shuttle pick us up at a particular time and when we showed up 5 minutes late, the older lady at the front desk was very abrupt and rude and quick to point out that we were late and that the shuttle left on time. We were aware of our tardiness but were merely inquiring about the next shuttle, and in return we were treated like children at a pre-school. The second experience occurred later in the night at the restaurant. We wanted food and the kitchen had already closed for the evening but the bar remained open. We wanted to continue with beverages in the bar, so the waitress mentioned that some local restaurants/fast food businesses would deliver - so one of our friends had a pizza delivered to the bar area. Not long after the pizza was brought, a man (a manager, I assume) came up to our friend and very rudely confronted her about the pizza and informed her that she couldn't have it in there and would have to leave immediately if she wanted to eat the pizza. Given that the waitress gave us the suggestion, and the fact that we were spending money on drinks, this confrontation was a shock and probably could have been handled in a more professional manner. Overall, these two experiences were isolated to our visit there, and hopefully the establishment can offer some lessons on hotel hospitality to their staff/management, but the place itself was great and I would still recommend it to others.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sb512
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa S, Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Birmingham, responded to this reviewResponded April 6, 2015

Than you for taking the time out of your busy schedule to share your experience with us. We take every comment and share with our team.

Cheers,
Lisa Sapp
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2012

This was our first time here so here is my take:
Pros - Location - close to great restaurants and shopping, large size of suite with separate bedroom is good, comfort of bed was okay (a little sagging in the middle), nice wet bar area with fridge and microwave.....cookies & milk ordered from room service were yummy....and having Ruth's Chris bar in the lobby for some nibbles and cocktails was a plus.

CONS - While the lobby area is clean and "spruced up" - the indoor pool area was horrendous - the hot tub was out of order, there were huge chunks of plaster and paint missing from the ceiling, the poolside deck itself needed a thorough cleaning (just general dirt, etc). Towels were supposed to be provided poolside but it took two trips to the front desk to get any in place by the pool. The rooms are okay - furniture was frayed (think tears in the arms of the sleeper sofa), lighting was too dark in the living room area, just in general not what I was expecting.....

Overall, this would not be my first choice - and as other posters have said - I think this hotel attracts large groups - and once they arrive - WOW things can get crowded and noisy in a hurry!!! If you are looking for romance - this is definitely not the place.....

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank accurate_one
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa S, Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Birmingham, responded to this reviewResponded April 6, 2015

Than you for taking the time out of your busy schedule to share your experience with us. We take every comment and share with our team.

Cheers,
Lisa Sapp
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2012

We love staying at Embassy Suites and are Honors members because of it, but this hotel disappointed us. Our room was on the 8th floor and when we walked in, the living room furniture was pushed together and a garbage can and ice bucket had water in them from a large leak in the ceiling. There was a white chalky mess on the chair from where the ceiling had been peeling back. (We had heard that a large storm had come through the night before). There was a letter on the counter with a candy bar , chips and 2 water bottles stating we had ordered them as part of our stay's package. It was addressed to someone else. We called the front desk about the leak and they quickly sent someone up to the room to help us move into a bigger room with 2 bedrooms, which was very gracious of them.
That room had a big conference type table, but a lot of the furniture and caninets were pretty banged up- scrapes all over them. The walls too. It just looked like it was in need of some serious repairs. The mini fridge wasn't working and there was a bag of defrosted frozen broccoli in there. Everything else did seem clean.
We always look forward to the breakfasts at Embassy Suites hotels, but this one did seem very well stocked. Wet donuts from being frozen, I guess. No napkins, no ice for drinks, ran out of knives, lots of empty trays. Not much staff around there. Only one guy making omlets- he got mine wrong, but he was pretty busy. The eating area was messy.
We just weren't impressed with this one.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank redheadedmama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa S, Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Birmingham, responded to this reviewResponded April 6, 2015

Than you for taking the time out of your busy schedule to share your experience with us. We take every comment and share with our team.

Cheers,
Lisa Sapp
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Birmingham
8.4 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Birmingham-Hoover
1.2 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Birmingham
2.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Birmingham Downtown - The Tutwiler
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Residence Inn Birmingham Downtown at UAB
1.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Birmingham / Mountain Brook
2.8 mi away
The Westin Birmingham
The Westin Birmingham
#19 of 80 in Birmingham
451 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Embassy Suites by Hilton Birmingham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites by Hilton Birmingham

Address: 2300 Woodcrest Pl, Birmingham, AL 35209-1304
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alabama > Birmingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#27 Business Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range: $126 - $249 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Embassy Suites by Hilton Birmingham 3.5*
Number of rooms: 242
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the Southbridge Office complex off of the Red Mountain Expressway, the Embassy Suites is the only upscale, all-suite hotel in the Birmingham area. Complimentary Cooked-to-Order Breakfast and a Manager's Reception served daily. Three miles from UAB Campus, St. Vincent's Hospital, the Zoo, Botanical Gardens, Civil Rights Institute and so much more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Embassy Suites by Hilton Birmingham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Suites Birmingham Hotel Birmingham
Birmingham Embassy Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing