We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't waste your money!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Embassy Suites by Hilton Birmingham
Ranked #34 of 79 Hotels in Birmingham
Bella Vista, Arkansas
1 review
“Don't waste your money!”
Reviewed June 19, 2012

I booked this hotel for a nice place to stay on a return trip from the beach. We had had rainy weather in Florida, and my young daughters were so looking forward to swimming in the indoor pool. We booked a 2 bedroom suite. As we walked by the pool on our way to the room the pool appeared over-crowded and the water seemed murky. Shortly after, my daughers and I went to the pool in hopes that the crowd had thinned out somewhat. Well, no one was in the pool and a note on the door said the pool was closed for servicing. I called the front desk and was told that the maintenane man had to go to Lowe's to get shock for the pool in order to treat it. I was surprised to find out that there was not a pool maintenance service on call for matters such as this. Anyway, the pool did not re-open that evening. My daughters were very upset as they had been promised a great indoor pool to play in. Later, while in the room, I noticed that the side of the toilet was not cleaned properly, and when I went to lock the door, I found that the screws that secure the safety latch for the door were basically falling out of the door. This hotel is poorly kept, and evidently does not understand how to maintain a pool. I have spent much less money for a hotel and had a much better place to stay. VERY DISAPPOINTED!!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kimberly S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa S, Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Birmingham, responded to this review, April 6, 2015
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. We take all comments and share with the team.

Cheers,
Lisa Sapp
Front Office Manger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,078 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    361
    251
    178
    163
    125
See reviews for
413
143
37
356
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
San Antonio
Level Contributor
419 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2012

Conveniently located. Suites are relatively large and well laid out. Nice touch was manager's reception in the afternoon with cocktails and snacks. Breakfast included made to order omelettes. All in all, we would stay again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Otto W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa S, Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Birmingham, responded to this review, April 6, 2015
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. We take all comments and share with the team.

Cheers,
Lisa Sapp
Front Office Manger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florence, Alabama
Level Contributor
84 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2012

Clean, safe, friendly, excellent breakfast, no complaints whatsoever. If I had come in late and the room service from the steak house was closed, there were numbers for delivery services. I like Hilton hotels and Embassies are always good.

Room Tip: I just avoid the West because of the big windows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mary P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa S, Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Birmingham, responded to this review, April 6, 2015
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. We take all comments and share with the team.

Cheers,
Lisa Sapp
Front Office Manger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tellico Plains, Tennessee
Level Contributor
186 reviews
132 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2012

I had stayed here a few months ago and after receiving a nice note from the manager I thought I would try again.
When I arrived in the room the Hotel did not have the HHonors Snacks in the room like they were supposed to be. The water was not in the room and I was asked by the front desk attendant to get the water from the "pantry." There were cigarette burns in the couch and I had to call for anashtray. There was some slime thing on the ice bucket lid, the ice machine on my floor was inoperative.
I went to work on my PC and finally went to lie down around 11 PM. As soon as I did, I knew there was a problem, the mattress was completely worn out to the point where I was sleeping on a sunken angle. After 30 minutes of trying to find a position that would work, I gave up and slept on the couch.
I did my part, gave it a second try and it was a complete disaster.
(I will add, in thirty years of travel, I have never, ever had to ditch the bed for a bad mattress. This is certainly my first "mattress comment" on Trip Advisor.)

Room Tip: I can't tell you how to get a decent room at this hotel....
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Robert H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa S, Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Birmingham, responded to this review, April 6, 2015
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. We take all comments and share with the team.

Cheers,
Lisa Sapp
Front Office Manger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pensacola, Florida
Level Contributor
207 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2012

I always stayed at the Hilton in Perimeter Park, buti wanted to give a second chance to the Embassy Suites, my first stayed few years ago was not pleasant. This time was the same, outdated furniture, even they put me at the highest floor, the eight floor. I founded two dead roaches on the bathroom floor. Will go back to the Hilton next time!

Room Tip: Away from the highway sound.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MiaMobile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa S, Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Birmingham, responded to this review, April 6, 2015
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. We take all comments and share with the team.

Cheers,
Lisa Sapp
Front Office Manger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, MD, USA
Level Contributor
83 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2012

Arrived late on a business trip. The restaurant closes promptly at 11pm and there is no late-night room service or sundry store.

Check-in was efficient and I was up to my large room in 10 minutes. My room was an executive suite and featured a large living area and dining room, as well as a separate bedroom with en suite bath. Everything was comfortable and well laid-out. Decor was a bit dated, but nothing offensive. Bathroom was clean and the bed was good enough. Two televisions we provided.

The complementary breakfast was very good, though I didn't see any fruit available. Eggs, bacon, sausage, biscuits and gravy were good.

Overall cost was very reasonable, location was good and the lobby/restaurant area was very nice.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BobinBaltimore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa S, Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Birmingham, responded to this review, April 6, 2015
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. We take all comments and share with the team.

Cheers,
Lisa Sapp
Front Office Manger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape May, New Jersey
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2012

My son and I stayed here for a few nights in early April. He was having a procedure done at UAB Hospital and this hotel is very close to there. The excellent customer service started the moment I arrived at the airport. I called for the hotel shuttle and within 10 minutes the driver showed up. He was very pleasant and informative about the area. I booked the 2BR/2BA suite and it was really nice having my own space and my son having his. The beds are so comfortable and the suite was clean. I booked the shuttle for the next day to take us to UAB Kirklin Clinic for the procedure and was told to call when we were ready to be picked up. I called 10 minutes before we were ready to leave not sure if my son was going to have to wait at the front door, in pain, and very groggy, but to my surprise the Shuttle driver was already there when we walked out the door. We had a different driver this time and he was so sweet. Everyone at the hotel was so nice and pleasant and went out of their way to make us feel wanted. When we got back to the room, my son slept for a few hours and then we headed to Ruth Chris for dinner. We also received the same awesome service and had a great meal. I would not hesitate to stay here again when I am in Birmingham. I would be remiss if I didn't mention to tip the Shuttle Drivers, they take their job seriously and are timely, pleasant and seem to love what they do. Can you imagine my surprise when I got home and a few weeks later recieved a Thank You card from one of drivers for the tip I gave him and trust me, it wasn't that big, but was a beautiful gesture on his part. Keep it up Embassy Suites Birmingham, you know how to train your people right.

Room Tip: The 2BR/2BA suite is not that expensive. Book it if you need 2 rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KeeneFamilyTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa S, Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Birmingham, responded to this review, April 6, 2015
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. We take all comments and share with the team.

Cheers,
Lisa Sapp
Front Office Manger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Birmingham
1.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Birmingham / Mountain Brook
8.4 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Birmingham-Hoover
1.2 mi away
Doubletree Hotel Birmingham
Doubletree Hotel Birmingham
#30 of 79 in Birmingham
683 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Birmingham Downtown Near UAB
0.6 mi away
aloft Birmingham Soho Square
1.2 mi away
Residence Inn Birmingham Downtown at UAB
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Embassy Suites by Hilton Birmingham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites by Hilton Birmingham

Property: Embassy Suites by Hilton Birmingham
Address: 2300 Woodcrest Pl, Birmingham, AL 35209-1304
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alabama > Birmingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#27 Business Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Embassy Suites by Hilton Birmingham 3.5*
Number of rooms: 242
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the Southbridge Office complex off of the Red Mountain Expressway, the Embassy Suites is the only upscale, all-suite hotel in the Birmingham area. Complimentary Cooked-to-Order Breakfast and a Manager's Reception served daily. Three miles from UAB Campus, St. Vincent's Hospital, the Zoo, Botanical Gardens, Civil Rights Institute and so much more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Embassy Suites by Hilton Birmingham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Suites Birmingham Hotel Birmingham
Birmingham Embassy Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing