We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Great Place to Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Garden Inn Birmingham SE/Liberty Park

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Birmingham SE/Liberty Park
Ranked #5 of 80 Hotels in Birmingham
Certificate of Excellence
Livingston, MT
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Great Place to Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

It was exactly what I needed. Clean, comfortable, great gym, friendly & helpful staff. Love the pantry where you can grab wine or beer. I needed to get a lot of work done on my laptop and sat at a table in the lobby. It was bright and quiet. I ended up eating dinner here, and it was great. I don't make a habit of eating at chain hotels and much prefer finding downtown, local spots, but I had an early flight and just didn't have time. I had a nice glass of pinot grigio with my entree and wasn't disappointed!

The only drawback to staying here was that the shuttle doesn't start til 6:00 a.m. I had a 5:30 a.m. flight, and the staff offered to call me a taxi, but it was $40, and my Budget rental car was only $53 (w/ all taxes), and the car return is in the parking lot across from the terminal, so I decided to just keep the car. Would have been great if I could have returned it the night before and saved the money. A minor drawback, but definitely a drawback.

I will warn other travelers...if you have a flight before 6:00 am, don't count on the BHM being slow. The Delta counter was absolutely packed when I arrived at 4:15! And Delta only has kiosks accessible through standing in line. I had checked in for my flight the night before in my room, but I didn't go down to the Business Center and print my boarding pass. I wish I had, because i could have avoided the 20-minute line I had to stand in to print my pass at a kiosk! Security took awhile too. If you have a really early flight, give yourself some extra time.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LynnDonaldson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christie R, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Birmingham SE/Liberty Park, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
I am so glad that you enjoyed your stay! I am very pleased that you enjoyed your dining experience as well as the rest of your stay! We look forward to future visits. Have a wonderful day,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

504 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    326
    113
    45
    8
    12
See reviews for
163
102
30
154
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
92 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

I just stayed in thie HGI and it was very nice. It's just a few years old, it serves breakfast and dinner with room service. Food was good, I did have room service one night and I was plesantly surprised. The King size beds are some special version of a sleep number bed and were very comfortable. I enjoyed my stay, the staff was very friendly. I would stay there again without thoughts.

Room Tip: It's pretty quiet there I can't imagine one would be quieter than another.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MIchelle L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pensacola, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

As with all of the Hilton Garden Inns I have visited, the great atmosphere, clean rooms, eye-pleasing appearance of the facilities, and the overall experience was great!

The location was great (Just off of I-459), so travel to and from our venues was easy (we were there for a very large soccer tournament). The staff easily handled the fact there were several visiting teams using the facilities and, even with all of the activity, I saw nothing but excellence from them all.

Since we play quite a bit of soccer and another venue is close by to this hotel, we will definitely make this our number one choice of a place to stay for all future events in Birmingham.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
48 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

I truly enjoyed my stay at this lovely hotel. Its majestic setting is high on a hill overlooking beautiful Liberty Park, which houses a corporate/retail and residential mix. I loved having a Piggly Wiggly Grocery Store just five minutes away and don't' be fooled - they have an amazing wine and gourmet food selection because of it's upscale location. I found it DEFINITELY worth the splurge for the jacuzzi suite, which is the size of 1BR apartment. The staff was friendly, I enjoyed small talk, dinner and a cocktail at the bar one rainy evening, and the coffee was hot from sun up to sun down. I would definitely stay at this Hilton Garden Inn again and would highly recommend a high floor, away from the elevators.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ESP8_CHS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royal Palm Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

We stayed here last October for the Barber Vintage Weekend. Once again, Hilton Garden Inn at Liberty Park did not disappoint!

We arrived very early (9am) and had requested our old room (609)Last year, by accident, I had booked an "accessible" room and didn't realize it. The hotel was booked so they couldn't change me, but they did give me an accessible room with a tub. The room was VERY wide and I was happy with my mistake so we booked the same room again! It was understandably not ready so we went and ate lunch until the room was clean. The staff did everything to try to make it up to us including 2 free breakfasts!

We had no problem finding it this year now that we know where to go.

Very close to Barber and to Shopping. We ate at a local Mexican cantina in the corporate park and it was very good. Had the $8.95 breakfast buffet each morning and had drinks from the bar at night. Everyone in this hotel was super friendly!

The only issue we had was the hot tub was not working. It was just warm and no bubbles. Since I enjoy relaxing every night in there, this was a let down.

We will be staying at the HGI again this October!
Room Tip: Room 609 was on the top floor close to elevators and very quiet!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zionsville, PA
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

This is the second time I've stayed at the Hilton Garden Inn Birmingham SE/Liberty Park. It is very, very nice -- but not in downtown Birmingham. The hotel appears to be newer. Lobby is large and has lots of places to hang out and read. There is a fireplace in the center on the one side so you many can enjoy it's warmth. There are always fresh cookies at the front desk and coffee to welcome you as you come in. (I always ask for tea and the staff is wonderful about getting it for me.) There is a bar/restaurant that serves dinner and drinks. In the morning the area is set up for breakfast. If you want the meal included with your room, look for that when you make the reservation. Beds are very comfortable. It's very clean. You won't be disappointed, unless you're looking to be right in the heart of downtown Birmingham.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KathiRamsd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballwin, MO
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

This is always a good stay. The restaurant has good food and the staff is always friendly. I would absolutely stay here for a personal trip. The location is quiet and in the warmer weather, the patio is a good place to enjoy a drink and a cigar, if you are inclined. They sometimes run out some of the wines and I wish their wine selection was a little larger but the service is always great and if you stay more than once, they remember you.

Room Tip: I have never noticed a difference in location of the rooms. They are pretty quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stratman63021
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
3.2 mi away
Drury Inn & Suites Birmingham SE
6.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Birmingham Downtown - The Tutwiler
5.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Birmingham/280 East-Eagle Point
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Carlton Suites
4.4 mi away
Homewood Suites Birmingham South Inverness
9.3 mi away
Hyatt Regency Birmingham - The Wynfrey Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Birmingham SE/Liberty Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Birmingham SE/Liberty Park

Property: Hilton Garden Inn Birmingham SE/Liberty Park
Address: 2090 Urban Center Parkway, Birmingham, AL 35242
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alabama > Birmingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Birmingham
#6 Romantic Hotel in Birmingham
#7 Family Hotel in Birmingham
#8 Best Value Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Birmingham SE/Liberty Park 3*
Number of rooms: 130
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Odigeo, Travelocity and Cancelon so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Birmingham SE/Liberty Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Birmingham Se/Liberty Park Hotel Birmingham
Birmingham Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing