We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Birmingham/Inverness
Ranked #39 of 80 Hotels in Birmingham
Reviewed July 26, 2012

Best part of the one-night stay was the cheerfulness of the front desk staff. They were truly gracious and warm---many larger, "finer" hotels' staffs could take a couple of lessons from these ladies. Second best thing was the sausage gravy at breakfast! On the downside, the hotel is very "weary"---worn furniture; stained, worn upholstery; thin sheets & uncomfortable mattress, sluggish air conditioning, and I swear I think the TV was 21". Also, dont think that because this is relatively close to the Summit that it belongs there---it's on a sketchy side road area that is considerably less impressive compared to the more "central" Summit area just north. There are too many other hotels in better locations nearby.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dtravOKT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike J, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Birmingham/Inverness, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback, it is much appreciated. If you're in the area in the future, we hope to see you again.

Best Regards,
Mike Johnson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (158)
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn Express Birmingham/Inverness
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

126 - 132 of 158 reviews

Reviewed July 24, 2012

We held our Family Reunion in B'ham and most of the activities were off 280. The location of the hotel was perfect. They had ample space to accomidate the group as a whole as well as the needs of the individual families. The hotel was clean, with lots of light and good sound proofing. Breakfast was a hit with everyone even though the pancake machine was not on either morning during our stay.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anita S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike J, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Birmingham/Inverness, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2012

We appreciate your kind words and glad that your reunion was a hit. We hope to see you next time you are in our great city.

Mike Johnson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2012

The mattress was very firm. Love the pillows. When we come to town on business we stay at Homewood Suites, Inverness but this time they were booked.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 2traveltoanywhere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike J, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Birmingham/Inverness, responded to this reviewResponded July 26, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write us a review. We are glad you choose our hotel and hope to see you again in the future.

Mike Johnson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2012

The hotel was very beautiful and the staff was very nice. We had 15 rooms and Ms. Karen Regula made sure everything we needed was done. We enjoyed everything about the hotel.

Room Tip: Queen Suite is very spacious
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bynithia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 3, 2012

We are glad your trip went well. Hope to see you again in the future.

Mike Johnson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2012

My grand-daughter recently graduated from UAB on May 12, 2012. We had relatives coming in from Tennessee, Florida, Mississippi and Texas on the 11th and leaving on the 13th. We needed five rooms. Ms. Karen Regular made sure that the planning and scheduling of the event went very smooth. All the rooms were scheduled on the same floor across from one another which made it very easy to stay in touch with each other. The rooms were very comfortable and clean.

From the time we arrived until we left, the staff was very congenial and helped us in many ways to make sure we had a pleasant stay. In addition, the breakfast area was opened to us for a get-together after the graduation on Saturday so we could bring in refreshments and play games with the complete group. This really worked well saving a lot of time rather than going to a restaurant with everyone. We were very careful to make sure we put everything back in order before the next morning's breakfast. The night clerk, I believe his name was Darron, was especially helpful in making sure we had what we needed to make this work.

We would definitely plan another stay at this facility and recommend it to others.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wilburn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike J, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Birmingham/Inverness, responded to this reviewResponded June 6, 2012

Thank you for your kind words. We are pleased, as a team, that your family chose our hotel to celebrate such an event. Can't wait to see you again. Have a wonderful summer.

Best Regards,
Mike Johnson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2012

The first look at this hotel is pleasant enough, but upon closer inspection it's just not up to the standards I've come to expect from a HIE. Front desk staff wasn't friendly . The bathroom smelled of mildew and while it was not a filthy hotel, it just had these little problems here and there (corners not vacuumed, spill dried up and not wiped on the table in my room, etc). Breakfast was not served very early on Saturday so, we had to get going before we could try it. If you don't mind an average hotel, you might like this place, but I would not stay here again.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Justbutterbean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike J, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Birmingham/Inverness, responded to this reviewResponded March 28, 2012

Thank you for your comments. We strive to please every guest we come in contact with as best as we can. However, we didn't meet our expectactions during your stay. I apologize for this and will continue to strive for a Great hotel guests love.

Mike Johnson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2012

Very beautiful landscaping! However, the staff just doesn't seem to care about keeping the hotel clean and presentable. Front desk attendant was also engaged in an annoying personal call.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ranunculalus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike J, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Birmingham/Inverness, responded to this reviewResponded March 28, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to give feedback. We attempt to make every guest feel like the hotel is the home away from home. However, we failed to live up to that expectation during your stay. We will continue to learn from this and improve.

Mike Johnson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
0.4 mi away
Hyatt Place Birmingham / Inverness
1.7 mi away
SpringHill Suites Birmingham Colonnade
0.9 mi away
Birmingham Marriott
Birmingham Marriott
#26 of 80 in Birmingham
451 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Homewood Suites Birmingham South Inverness
4.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Birmingham SE/Liberty Park
6.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Carlton Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Birmingham/Inverness? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Birmingham/Inverness

Address: 156 Resource Center Pkwy, Birmingham, AL 35242-8095
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alabama > Birmingham
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Business Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range: $103 - $168 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Birmingham/Inverness 2.5*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Birmingham Inverness 280 Experience southern hospitality at our charming hotel in Birmingham, Alabama, located on Hwy 280 right off Interstate 459. This Birmingham hotel is situated near several Alabama attractions including the famous Barber Motorsports, Porsche Sports Driving School and Talladega Super Speedway, which houses a 143,000 seat raceway and is adjacent to the International Motorsports Hall of Fame and Museum. Families can appreciate this Birmingham hotel's easy access to several popular family-friendly Birmingham attractions including Legion Field, the Alabama Jazz Hall of Fame, Vulcan Park and Alabama Adventure Theme Park. For a look back into history, guests can visit the Civil Rights sites that mark the South s struggle to embrace diversity. Monumental sites consist of the Sixteenth Street Baptist Church, Kelly Ingram Part, and the Birmingham Civil Rights Institute. Unlike other Birmingham hotels, the Holiday Inn Express Birmingham Hotel provides business travelers with several quality business services, which include on-site meeting rooms and a 24-hour business center. High-speed, wireless Internet access is also available. During your Birmingham vacation, enjoy our choice hotel amenities such as an indoor pool & whirlpool, free Internet access and a complimentary, hot breakfast bar. Check out our great Birmingham hotel deals and rates and book your reservation today. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, IHG, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Birmingham/Inverness reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Inverness Hotel Birmingham
Holiday Inn Birmingham
Birmingham Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing