We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Like staying at a rich relative's beautiful home, without having to hang out with the rich relative!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Cobb Lane Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 13 Birmingham B&B and Inns
Reviewed April 29, 2009

My husband and I have stayed at Cobb Lane twice--once when we were in town to see "Wicked," and a second time for a friend's wedding. We actually stayed there two different times in one month--April '09.
I found Cobb Lane through Google (www.cobblanebandb.com), and they had a great website with pics of all the rooms, pricing, online reservations, etc. Seems like if a hotel/B&B has a professional, upscale website, the accomodations will be upscale and nice too.
This was definitely the case with Cobb Lane. The butter-yellow Victorian B&B is in the middle of Five Points, an up and coming area of downtown Birmingham. There are a lot of first-class restaurants (like Highlands Bar & Grill) close by, and lots of nightlife. The University of Alabama at Birmingham campus is also close by. However, there are also residential areas near Cobb Lane, so it's pretty quiet and peaceful--a neat neighborhood.
Upon arrival at Cobb Lane, one of the innkeepers--Sheila or Ira--will meet you on the expansive front porch (with tons of wicker porch furniture) and "introduce" you to the inn. They explain the key system (you are given two keys, one to your room and one to the front door of the inn, so you can come and go at any hour), tell you when breakfast will be (7 a.m. weekdays, 8 a.m. Saturday, 9 a.m. Sunday), and show you the guest refrigerator, where they keep complimentary drinks. (Also look for the complimentary covered dish of fresh cookies and sweets in the front parlor!)
We also got a tour of the inn, since some of the other guests had not checked in yet, and we were impressed by all the beautifully decorated--yet comfortable--rooms. Some rooms include a separate living room, while others just have a bedroom and bath.
We have stayed in the Periwinkle Room and the Bird of Paradise room, both of which are around $100 per night. Both rooms are on the second floor---we prefer the second floor because there is less foot traffic from other guests, and more privacy. The Periwinkle room--decorated in blues and yellows-- had a neat claw-foot tub and shower. The Bird of Paradise room was decorated in pinks, reds and oranges, and had a fireplace (not operable) and a smaller bathroom than the Periwinkle room. Bird of Paradise seemed to be a bigger room overall, but definitely the bathroom was smaller.
We enjoyed being able to come and go as we pleased, and we really didn't see much of the other guests, though the inn was fully booked during our second stay (Talledega race weekend).
Breakfast was yummy---everyone eats at one big table in the beautiful dining room, though breakfast in bed is an option. Coffee, tea, water and OJ are all served, and the breakfast menu changes daily, depending on what the chef cooks. During our first stay, breakfast was scrambled eggs, sausage and croissant casserole and fruit. Quite yummy. During our second stay, breakfast was a biscuit, sausage patty, scrambled eggs and fruit. Definitely yummy, but we have pretty good appetites, and wanted seconds but weren't sure if it would be proper to ask for a second divvy!
The company at breakfast was also pleasant---there were younger couples and older couples, and if you're not talkative in the early a.m., no worries. It seemed like one person would always pick up the slack and do most of the talking! Ira, one of the innkeepeers, would also contribute to conversation as he refilled coffee and cleared plates.
At breakfast, they bring you a credit card ticket to sign, so the financial end of things is taken care of. Check-out is 11 a.m., and to leave, you simply lock your room, lock the front door, and leave the keys in the mailbox on the porch. No chasing down the innkeeper!
This was our first stay in a B&B, and from now on when we're traveling, we'll consider staying at a B&B before a hotel. Service was great, accomodations were beautiful and comfortable, and you can't beat the price, with breakfast included!
We're definitely sold on Cobb Lane! Really, the only improvements they could make would be to add a pool or spa, but being in the middle of town, there's really no room on the property to do so. It would be a nice touch, though.
Couples with young kids probably wouldn't want to stay at Cobb Lane---there are a lot of breakables. Otherwise, I think the inn would appeal to everyone.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JoyMcG84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheilachaffin, Owner at Cobb Lane Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded March 11, 2016

Thank you for coming and your review. Your comments are most appreciated. We especially like the notion that COBB LANE BED AND BREAKFAST is like "staying at a rich relative's beautiful home, without having to hang out with the rich relative!" Made us chuckle with delight and understanding. Please come again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (112)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

101 - 107 of 112 reviews

Reviewed April 28, 2009

If you are planning a trip to Birmingham, Cobb Lane Bed and Breakfast should be at the only place you consider staying. This 1898 masterpeice is located walking distance to fine restaurants in the five points area. The service provided by Shelia and Ira was second to none. I have never stayed anywhere that i felt like i was at home until this past weekend. The hospitality and atmosphere they create is amazing. The breakfast is awesome also. I will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JohnandTeresa1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2007

The decor and comfort of the rooms are nice enough, and the owners are very nice. However, the noise outside from the nearby bars was so overwhelming that I got nearly NO sleep on Friday night. Extremely unacceptable. Would not stay here again, especially on a weekend.

  • Stayed: June 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
6  Thank travellier_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheilachaffin, Owner at Cobb Lane Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded November 22, 2011

When the Inn first opened, there were 2 bars in the area that violated the City's Noise Ordinance. We took legal action and it stopped. We apologize for the inconvenience this guest experienced. The situation was solved.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2006

I was there one night, a Thursday. The main reason for selecting this BB was its convenience to the UAB campus (easy walking distance) and to restaurants nearby. The hosts were friendly, nice people. They also were were gracious and efficient about receiving and sending some material for me UPS. The Inn has been open just over a year and is decorated with period pieces from earlier times. My room was functional as well as beautiful. The bed was comfortable and I slept well. One could hear some sounds from the Birmingham downtown, but less than in most NY or Washington locations, and not bothersome to me. My breakfast (pancakes, eggs, juice, coffee) was excellent. The owners, originally from California, are good sources of information about UAB and Birmingham. I look forward to returning.

Items to note: First entry may require a cell phone. Ask Sheila to play the pump organ for you. Some bedrooms share a bathroom. There is parking down the driveway beside the Inn.

  • Stayed: November 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
6  Thank Accurate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheilachaffin, Owner at Cobb Lane Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded November 28, 2011

We enjoyed this guest very much, and yes, the Inn is very convenient to the University of Alabama at Birmingham (UAB), Kirklin Clinic, and restaurants of every discription. Each guest room has its own private bathroom. A full hot cooked breakfast is prepared daily for our guests, as well as fresh baked cookies. Enjoy the Inn's complimentary beverages.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2006

Excellent host and hostess. Ira and Sheila know what they are doing. Bed very comfy and room was VERY clean. Didn't get a chance to grab breakfast. Looking forward to next visit.

  • Stayed: July 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Fungirl78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2006

B&B was beautiful. Host and Hostess were very very nice. Breakfast left us disappointed. Oatmeal on the second morning was a major let down.

Stayed: November 2005
7  Thank JPSaleebyMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheilachaffin, Owner at Cobb Lane Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded November 22, 2011

We appreciated this guest comment because it was very favorable but expressed concern with one matter--having oatmeal available at one breakfast. We asked other guests how they felt and learned most prefer a full hot cooked Southern Hospitality breakfast each day. Since then, we invite guests who prefer something different, like whole grains, to let us know and we have that prepared for them.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2006

We stayed there on a Friday night in Feb '06. We literally slept none due to two things: one, a loud noise from the water pipes made a clicking sound all night, and two, the noise from the bars behind in the alley and the apartment building of college students next door was impossible to ignore.

Our room, the Zebra, was clean, and the bathroom was fine.

I checked with other guests the next morning and found that most had little sleep from the outside noise.

Breakfast was normal for a B & B.

I told the owner about my problem, but she did not offer any restitution. I would never stay there again.

11  Thank Gmrcat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheilachaffin, Owner at Cobb Lane Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded November 22, 2011

Noise from 2 area bars that voliated the City's noise ordinance occurred sometimes as we initially opened the new B&B. We took legal action, this has stopped. We apologize for any inconvenience this caused.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
1.6 mi away
Redmont Hotel Birmingham, Curio Collection by Hilton
0.3 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Birmingham Downtown Near UAB
0.3 mi away
The Hotel Highland Downtown UAB
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Birmingham Downtown - The Tutwiler
0.5 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Birmingham
2.1 mi away
The Westin Birmingham
The Westin Birmingham
#19 of 80 in Birmingham
451 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cobb Lane Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cobb Lane Bed & Breakfast

Address: 1309 19th St S, Birmingham, AL 35205-4801
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alabama > Birmingham
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Birmingham
Price Range: $117 - $131 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Cobb Lane Bed & Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Two Victorian Mansions from 1898 on the National Historic Registry offering 17 guest rooms from $99 to $159 per night plus tax; full hot cooked breakfast; daily maid service; free parking and high speed wireless internet; enjoy parlor cookies and complimentary beverages; cable TV; air conditioning; near UAB and 26 restaurants ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Hotwire so you can book your Cobb Lane Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cobb Lane Bed And Breakfast
Cobb Lane Hotel Birmingham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing