We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyable Holiday Stop”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Cobb Lane Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 13 Birmingham B&B and Inns
Baltimore MD
Level Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Enjoyable Holiday Stop”
Reviewed November 29, 2011

Decided to stay overnight in Birmingham on Thanksgiving. The B&B is in a great location in the 5 points section of Birmingham near Highland Ave. and what I've been told are some of the best restaurants in this part of the South. It is a beautiful old home and the inn keepers are really nice. I have to say the inn is not decorated in my taste, though there are many beautiful things. In my opinion, It could use some editing and that would make it better all around. It would be difficult to be there long term, especially as a business traveler, but that may not be the target market. The innkeepers offer a great fresh breakfast served on a beautiful table It was delicious. We had a great night's sleep and we loved talking with the owners and the other guests. I will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bay traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheilachaffin, Owner at Cobb Lane Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, February 8, 2012
The Holidays are a wonderful time to visit our Inn. We thank this guest for coming during Thanksgiving when some guests are vacationing in the warm Southern climate from colder states and Canada. Others are visiting their young adult children who are students at nearby Universities but don't have enough room for their folks to stay with them. Sometimes there is even a wedding at the Inn! It is a delightful gathering of interesting persons to speak with and learn from their world experiences. Thank you for coming!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    24
    14
    15
    4
See reviews for
12
58
8
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
England
Level Contributor
26 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2011

I'm sorry to say that we didn't enjoy our stay here at all. The decor of the B&B is not to our taste (overflowing with dolls and kitsch furnishings), but that wasn't the problem. We knew what the rooms looked like before we booked and that's not why we didn't enjoy it. The problem was cleanliness - the B&B was incredibly dirty. The carpets in our room were heavily stained and looked like they haven't been vacuumed in a while. I also picked up various bits of debris off the floorboards - clumps of dust and what I think must have been the previous guest's chocolate bar wrapper. There room also had an old wedding dress as decoration in the corner which was covered in dust and dirt. But what really got to me and in fact what made me write this review was the amount hair we found in the bath. It really was kind of disgusting. The B&B obviously offers breakfast but we couldn't bring ourselves to eat there and checked out first thing. I'm sure the innkeepers are nice people and I wish them all the best, but please clean the rooms. As it is, I really can't recommend this B&B.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bel1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheilachaffin, Owner at Cobb Lane Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, October 6, 2011
It is our policy that our guests be 100% pleased with their stay or else they should be refunded. We don't know who this guest was to make this offer to them. The guest did not speak to us at the time of the visit so we can't validate or respond to some of their comments. The guest review sounds like they don't care for Victorian decor with antiques, but that is what we offer as a National Historic Property, compared to modern decor chain hotels, and what they choose as they reserved. Our Inn is inspected and rated by the Jefferson County Health Department. We are proud of our 99 and 100 score ratings (out of possible 100 points) for cleanliness of our commercial kitchen and breakfasts. Guests like the lovely breakfasts and cordial conversations, as noted in many reviews. There is an antique wedding dress in their room, which most guests love, since it sort of looks like Princess Diana's wedding gown, give or take, with its puffy classical sleeves, V-shape bodice, full gown with train, pearl beaded hand-stitched details.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zion, Illinois
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 11, 2011

Great location, great conversations at breakfast with other guests and inn keeper. Lovely collection of antiques. The breakfast was excellent. The fresh cookies daily were a nice treat. Every room doesn't have a desk so if you need one ask prior to booking for the rooms that have a desk. The free parking is also an added benefit you get here. This was so worth the money! Only downfall for me was with all the antiques and the house being old it was a little bit dusty and needed to be dusted so my allergies were a little affected by this. Other than that I cannot think of anything negative.

Room Tip: Within walking distance to shopping & lots of dining. Wifi is free but kind of slow.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Evette815
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheilachaffin, Owner at Cobb Lane Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, November 28, 2011
We really appreciated you coming and enjoying the many area restaurants just outside the door within a 3 block walkable area, the Inn's antiques, cookies and daily breakfast. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grapevine, Texas
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2011

I lucked into finding this great B&B! The Cobb Lane Inn is a restored older home, with many quaint and beautiful furnishings very close to many great restaurants, stores, etc. My room was very comfortable and quiet. I enjoyed cookies at bedtime, a great breakfast and met some wonderful people. It was a very good experience and great value!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carrie4444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheilachaffin, Owner at Cobb Lane Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, November 28, 2011
This review was most appreciated since the writer seems to understand what it is all about--renovating and preserving a Victorian National Historic Registered property by giving it new life and patronage as a Bed and Breakfast--Birmingham's first and only Bed and Breakfast! Thank you for coming.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherman, TX
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 7, 2011

This B&B is a nice Victorian house and well decorated. We stayed in the Rose Room, which is right off the breakfast area, but noise was never a problem. The breakfasts were tasty. Our host was friendly and very helpful finding local attractions that interested us.
We'll probably be back the next time we're in Birmingham.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SteveSherman_TX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheilachaffin, Owner at Cobb Lane Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, November 28, 2011
We're glad that you enjoyed the Rose Room with its half Tester bed, which is fairly rare to see. In Europe, the royal castles have full Tester beds and sometimes the noblemen's chateaus and manors have half Tester beds. It's fun to be pampered in this grand manner. Thank you for coming!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Covington, GA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2011

It was just what we wanted - quiet and peaceful. When we arrived I had a full blown cold and all I wanted to do was be left alone and sleep. I know there were other guests but I never heard them coming and going. Ira was charming at breakfast and we enjoyed meeting the other guests. If we have another chance to overnight in Birmingham will certainly book at room.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JanG985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheilachaffin, Owner at Cobb Lane Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, November 28, 2011
We really appreciate our guests, whether they wish a quiet stay or to go out sight-seeing. We'll look forward to seeing you again on your next visit. Thank you for coming!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2011

My husband and I took a motorcycle trip this summer and decided to stay in several B&B's along the way. We arrived in Birmingham, AL after a long, very hot ride to arrive at the Cobb Lane B&B tucked into a pretty neighborhood up on the hill! Our room was well appointed and the a/c was wonderful! Breakfast was my favorite part as all of the guests met in the formal dining room downstairs and Ira (the proprieter) dined with us. The breakfast was top notch, fresh fruit, a wonderful pancake filled with apples and topped with whipped cream, eggs and bacon! Talk about a great way to start the day. It was such fun to chat with the other guests. I would highly recommend a visit to this B&B!

Room Tip: Paradise Room - clean and quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marebare1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheilachaffin, Owner at Cobb Lane Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, November 28, 2011
The Inn is a 20 minutes drive from Barber Motor Sports Race Course and about 50 minutes from Talladega Motor Speedway. Guests enjoy both of these national stature offerings. Canadian and Europeans guests also enjoy these very special venues. We enjoy hearing experiences from "the circuit" and from those who actually race. Thank you for finding us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
0.3 mi away
The Hotel Highland Downtown UAB
1.6 mi away
Redmont Hotel Birmingham, Curio Collection by Hilton
1.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Birmingham Downtown - The Tutwiler
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Doubletree Hotel Birmingham
Doubletree Hotel Birmingham
#31 of 79 in Birmingham
3.5 of 5 bubbles 658 reviews
0.8 mi away
Courtyard Birmingham Downtown at UAB
0.5 mi away
Residence Inn Birmingham Downtown at UAB
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cobb Lane Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cobb Lane Bed & Breakfast

Property: Cobb Lane Bed & Breakfast
Address: 1309 19th St S, Birmingham, AL 35205-4801
Location: United States > Alabama > Birmingham
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Cobb Lane Bed & Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Two Victorian Mansions from 1898 on the National Historic Registry offering 17 guest rooms from $99 to $159 per night plus tax; full hot cooked breakfast; daily maid service; free parking and high speed wireless internet; enjoy parlor cookies and complimentary beverages; cable TV; air conditioning; near UAB and 26 restaurants ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your Cobb Lane Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cobb Lane Bed And Breakfast
Cobb Lane Hotel Birmingham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing