We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not clean”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Cobb Lane Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 13 Birmingham B&B and Inns
England
Level 5 Contributor
27 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Not clean”
Reviewed September 26, 2011

I'm sorry to say that we didn't enjoy our stay here at all. The decor of the B&B is not to our taste (overflowing with dolls and kitsch furnishings), but that wasn't the problem. We knew what the rooms looked like before we booked and that's not why we didn't enjoy it. The problem was cleanliness - the B&B was incredibly dirty. The carpets in our room were heavily stained and looked like they haven't been vacuumed in a while. I also picked up various bits of debris off the floorboards - clumps of dust and what I think must have been the previous guest's chocolate bar wrapper. There room also had an old wedding dress as decoration in the corner which was covered in dust and dirt. But what really got to me and in fact what made me write this review was the amount hair we found in the bath. It really was kind of disgusting. The B&B obviously offers breakfast but we couldn't bring ourselves to eat there and checked out first thing. I'm sure the innkeepers are nice people and I wish them all the best, but please clean the rooms. As it is, I really can't recommend this B&B.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bel1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheilachaffin, Owner at Cobb Lane Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, October 6, 2011
It is our policy that our guests be 100% pleased with their stay or else they should be refunded. We don't know who this guest was to make this offer to them. The guest did not speak to us at the time of the visit so we can't validate or respond to some of their comments. The guest review sounds like they don't care for Victorian decor with antiques, but that is what we offer as a National Historic Property, compared to modern decor chain hotels, and what they choose as they reserved. Our Inn is inspected and rated by the Jefferson County Health Department. We are proud of our 99 and 100 score ratings (out of possible 100 points) for cleanliness of our commercial kitchen and breakfasts. Guests like the lovely breakfasts and cordial conversations, as noted in many reviews. There is an antique wedding dress in their room, which most guests love, since it sort of looks like Princess Diana's wedding gown, give or take, with its puffy classical sleeves, V-shape bodice, full gown with train, pearl beaded hand-stitched details.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    24
    15
    15
    6
See reviews for
13
60
8
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 11, 2011

Great location, great conversations at breakfast with other guests and inn keeper. Lovely collection of antiques. The breakfast was excellent. The fresh cookies daily were a nice treat. Every room doesn't have a desk so if you need one ask prior to booking for the rooms that have a desk. The free parking is also an added benefit you get here. This was so worth the money! Only downfall for me was with all the antiques and the house being old it was a little bit dusty and needed to be dusted so my allergies were a little affected by this. Other than that I cannot think of anything negative.

Room Tip: Within walking distance to shopping & lots of dining. Wifi is free but kind of slow.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Evette815
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheilachaffin, Owner at Cobb Lane Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, November 28, 2011
We really appreciated you coming and enjoying the many area restaurants just outside the door within a 3 block walkable area, the Inn's antiques, cookies and daily breakfast. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grapevine, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2011

I lucked into finding this great B&B! The Cobb Lane Inn is a restored older home, with many quaint and beautiful furnishings very close to many great restaurants, stores, etc. My room was very comfortable and quiet. I enjoyed cookies at bedtime, a great breakfast and met some wonderful people. It was a very good experience and great value!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carrie4444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheilachaffin, Owner at Cobb Lane Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, November 28, 2011
This review was most appreciated since the writer seems to understand what it is all about--renovating and preserving a Victorian National Historic Registered property by giving it new life and patronage as a Bed and Breakfast--Birmingham's first and only Bed and Breakfast! Thank you for coming.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherman, TX
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 7, 2011

This B&B is a nice Victorian house and well decorated. We stayed in the Rose Room, which is right off the breakfast area, but noise was never a problem. The breakfasts were tasty. Our host was friendly and very helpful finding local attractions that interested us.
We'll probably be back the next time we're in Birmingham.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SteveSherman_TX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheilachaffin, Owner at Cobb Lane Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, November 28, 2011
We're glad that you enjoyed the Rose Room with its half Tester bed, which is fairly rare to see. In Europe, the royal castles have full Tester beds and sometimes the noblemen's chateaus and manors have half Tester beds. It's fun to be pampered in this grand manner. Thank you for coming!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Covington, GA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2011

It was just what we wanted - quiet and peaceful. When we arrived I had a full blown cold and all I wanted to do was be left alone and sleep. I know there were other guests but I never heard them coming and going. Ira was charming at breakfast and we enjoyed meeting the other guests. If we have another chance to overnight in Birmingham will certainly book at room.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JanG985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheilachaffin, Owner at Cobb Lane Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, November 28, 2011
We really appreciate our guests, whether they wish a quiet stay or to go out sight-seeing. We'll look forward to seeing you again on your next visit. Thank you for coming!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2011

My husband and I took a motorcycle trip this summer and decided to stay in several B&B's along the way. We arrived in Birmingham, AL after a long, very hot ride to arrive at the Cobb Lane B&B tucked into a pretty neighborhood up on the hill! Our room was well appointed and the a/c was wonderful! Breakfast was my favorite part as all of the guests met in the formal dining room downstairs and Ira (the proprieter) dined with us. The breakfast was top notch, fresh fruit, a wonderful pancake filled with apples and topped with whipped cream, eggs and bacon! Talk about a great way to start the day. It was such fun to chat with the other guests. I would highly recommend a visit to this B&B!

Room Tip: Paradise Room - clean and quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marebare1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheilachaffin, Owner at Cobb Lane Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, November 28, 2011
The Inn is a 20 minutes drive from Barber Motor Sports Race Course and about 50 minutes from Talladega Motor Speedway. Guests enjoy both of these national stature offerings. Canadian and Europeans guests also enjoy these very special venues. We enjoy hearing experiences from "the circuit" and from those who actually race. Thank you for finding us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2011

We stayed 2 nights at the Cobb Lane B&B and had high expectations from previous reviews and their website. Our room was the Rose room on the first floor and we didn't realize it would be right in front of the dining room which wasn't ideal. To top that off, it had 2 large pocket doors that joined in the middle as an entrance, and they did not close all the way which left about a half inch gap all the way up so the doors were "open" to the whole ground floor. The owner had put a giant curtain on the inside of the room to try and address this it seems, but no privacy was possible even with this curtain. Anybody in the dining room or walking around could hear everything going on in our room and see in if the curtain wasn't drawn. So much for a romantic anniversary weekend! The room was nice looking and had some definite charm but the bathroom fixtures were old and not very nice. Also there were a lot of "breakables" scattered around the room which made it difficult to use the furniture and the electrical was scary! The bedside lamp plug actually sparked and almost burned us when we plugged it in! The breakfast left much to be desired, a plate of cold eggs and bacon or sausage with a little fruit and a bread item. Cookies were definitely from a mix and nothing felt "homemade." The price per night was pretty cheap and I guess you get what you pay for. Overall a really disappointing experience.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank J K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheilachaffin, Owner at Cobb Lane Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, August 23, 2011
We appreciate all of our guests who come to our National HIstoric Registered property. Their patronage helps keep alive this National asset for the next generation. We pleasantly remember these guests who enjoyed home made pumpkin scones, fresh grown locally fruits, eggs, sausage, bacon, and home made sausage croissant bake. Each day we had homemade chocolate chip, swedish wedding cookies, and peanut butter cookies for their enjoyment in the front parlor under a glass case. They are not from a mix, but are baked fresh daily by our staff. The Rose Room was chosen by these guest at our web-site, where it says in its description "located on main level across from the Dining Room". Unfortunately, they did not express any concerns to us about its location, or else we could have relocated them at their arrival. The Rose room is charming with its original 1898 double door system, as noted in the historical chronicle about the Inn. Perhaps they didn't latch it as intended, we apologize if we didn't explain it well, which may be the source of their concern. The Inn has 100% new electrical wiring from its 2003 renovation supervised by the City building inspectors. After their check-out, we noticed an extension chord serving a bed night stand lamp was worn out, we replaced it, all was well. We would have happily done as soon as we heard about it during their stay, but they didn't mention this, so we found it during our cleaning and usual room testing. It is our management objective for our guests to be pleased by their stay. We invite future guests to please speak with us if they have questions or concerns.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
1.6 mi away
Redmont Hotel Birmingham, Curio Collection by Hilton
1.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Birmingham Downtown - The Tutwiler
0.3 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Birmingham Downtown Near UAB
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Hotel Highland Downtown UAB
0.8 mi away
Courtyard Birmingham Downtown at UAB
0.5 mi away
Residence Inn Birmingham Downtown at UAB
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cobb Lane Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cobb Lane Bed & Breakfast

Property: Cobb Lane Bed & Breakfast
Address: 1309 19th St S, Birmingham, AL 35205-4801
Location: United States > Alabama > Birmingham
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Cobb Lane Bed & Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Two Victorian Mansions from 1898 on the National Historic Registry offering 17 guest rooms from $99 to $159 per night plus tax; full hot cooked breakfast; daily maid service; free parking and high speed wireless internet; enjoy parlor cookies and complimentary beverages; cable TV; air conditioning; near UAB and 26 restaurants ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Travelocity, Agoda and Hotwire so you can book your Cobb Lane Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cobb Lane Hotel Birmingham
Cobb Lane Bed And Breakfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing