We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First Hampton Inn we've been disappointed in.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hampton Inn Birmingham I-65/Lakeshore Drive
Ranked #16 of 79 Hotels in Birmingham
Certificate of Excellence
New Port Richey
Level Contributor
45 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“First Hampton Inn we've been disappointed in.”
Reviewed February 5, 2013

Breakfast was not hot, only dried potatoes and sausage patties without eggs. When asked about eggs, they said they weren't delivered yet. This was around 8:30 a.m. They could have gotten eggs from a nearby hotel like other Hampton Inns do.
On return trip we had no working phone in room and there wasn't any to replace it with.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Judybeenpr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KanaHotelGroup, Manager at Hampton Inn Birmingham I-65/Lakeshore Drive, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
I appreciate the review of your recent stay at our hotel. I understand that you were disappointed and that we came short of delivering what you are accustomed to expect from us. I truly apologize if this was the case and I can assure you that I will definitely keep your review in mind to improve our in-property experience. I am so sorry that you were disappointed with our breakfast quality. Your feedback is very important to us and I thank you for bringing these issues to my attention so that we can explore new options to improve our menu items. I assure you that I will take your comments into consideration to make sure we provide our guests with the exceptional level of service they deserve.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

379 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    175
    93
    53
    33
    25
See reviews for
146
65
18
113
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lafayette, Indiana
Level Contributor
75 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2013

This is a shop worn hotel except for the lobby. Staff is not at all helpful. They do leave a post-it on your bed to remind you the sheets are clean. OH GEE WHIZ!!! There are nice resterants around. It is located off a busy hi-way but the noise level is ok.

Room Tip: Ask for non-smoking and if you need to be moved , remind them you need a non-smoking room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CAROLYNKSU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KanaHotelGroup, Manager at Hampton Inn Birmingham I-65/Lakeshore Drive, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
I appreciate the review of your recent stay at our hotel. I understand that you were disappointed and that we came short of delivering what you are accustomed to expect from us. I truly apologize if this was the case and I can assure you that I will definitely keep your review in mind to improve our in-property experience. I am truly sorry that you found our hotel to be dated and that our staff was not helpful. Your feedback is very important to us and I thank you for bringing these issues to my attention.

Again, I thank you very much for your review and sincerely hope that you will give us another opportunity and stay with us next time you’re in town.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, Mississippi, United States
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2013

Hotel was great, Reggie and the staff went out of their way to help us with all of our needs! The only issue we had is that the shuttle only has a 5 mile radius, and taxi's in Birmingham are really poor.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pattersonrebel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Traveler1Tampa, Manager at Hampton Inn Birmingham I-65/Lakeshore Drive, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
 Thank you for taking the time to compliment our staff here at the Hampton Inn Birmingham I-65/Lakeshore Drive. Our associates pride themselves on providing excellent guest service and will be pleased to hear they exceeded your expectations! Your review will certainly be shared with them. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, Mississippi
Level Contributor
50 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2013

We stayed at this location for the bowl game last weekend. The location was great as far as food choices are concerned. We drove right in, had dinner at Landry's, went to Highland for a quick trip through one of the best beer stores I have seen in the South, and then to Legion Field for the game on Saturday! It was very helpful having the hot breakfast at the hotel before we left out for the game. It saved us an extra stop!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank h0llybelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Traveler1Tampa, Manager at Hampton Inn Birmingham I-65/Lakeshore Drive, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
 We are pleased to hear you enjoyed the hot breakfast during your stay with us here at the Hampton Inn Birmingham I-65/Lakeshore Drive. Please return often!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Mississippi
Level Contributor
63 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2013

We stayed at this property to go to a bowl game. It was not far to Legion Field from here, plus there were plenty of restaurants nearby as well. The mini fridge in the room kept our drinks nice and cold. The bed was soft, but not too soft. The hotel was located right beside the interstate, but our room was on the opposite side, so we didn't hear road noise all night. It was also fairly close to the Galleria mall.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Breck70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Traveler1Tampa, Manager at Hampton Inn Birmingham I-65/Lakeshore Drive, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
It is nice to hear you liked our location and had a good nights sleep after an exciting day here at the Hampton Inn Birmingham I-65/Lakeshore Drive. Hopefully, we'll have the opportunity to host you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvington, Alabama
Level Contributor
90 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed December 7, 2012

we have stayed at numerous properties in the Birmingham area during regular trips for my wife's ongoing checkups at Univ of Birmingham medical center. on our most recent trip, we found the Hampton Inn / Lakeshore Drive exit on I-65 the best location convenient to downtown, price reasonable, staff friendly, king-size bed comfy, at breakfast steak mixed in with eggs a pleasant surprise!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank byumama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newborn, Georgia
Level Contributor
212 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed December 3, 2012

Stayed here for a few days the other week for business meetings. We reserved the small conference room. All was very pleasant (as expected). They were renovating the lobby/breakfast area and that was a bit of a hastle. I understand that they can't do renovation work when no ones there (counter-intuitive), but the guests still had to make due with temp tables/etc to get their breakfast off of-----understandable.
The rooms were clean and modern.
Gym was clean and up to date as well. All equipment worked as intended.
The area is experiencing a lady bug explosion at the moment, so staff was spraying quite a bit. At least they are trying to knock down the hoards of ladybugs in the area.
The location of the hotel is very near all the restaurants and shopping that you can handle----highly accessable.

All in all this was a very nice and productive stay. I wouldn't hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank garliclover101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
0.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Carlton Suites
0.5 mi away
Drury Inn & Suites Birmingham Southwest
5.7 mi away
Drury Inn & Suites Birmingham Southeast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Birmingham Homewood
0.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Birmingham / Lakeshore Drive
4.4 mi away
Redmont Hotel Birmingham, Curio Collection by Hilton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Birmingham I-65/Lakeshore Drive? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Birmingham I-65/Lakeshore Drive

Property: Hampton Inn Birmingham I-65/Lakeshore Drive
Address: 30 State Farm Pkwy, Birmingham, AL 35209-7179
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alabama > Birmingham
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 79 Hotels in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Birmingham I-65/Lakeshore Drive 2.5*
Number of rooms: 97
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New hotel accepting reservations beginning March 2006. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hampton Inn Birmingham I-65/Lakeshore Drive reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Birmingham i-65/Lakeshore Drive Hotel Birmingham
Birmingham Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing