We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceptional”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Courtyard Birmingham Downtown at UAB
Ranked #17 of 80 Hotels in Birmingham
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 24, 2008

This is an exceptional hotel. The accommodations are brand new and luxurious. There is a very good restaurant in the hotel. I'm looking forward to my next stay!

  • Stayed: February 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank poohmacat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (315)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

296 - 302 of 315 reviews

Reviewed March 23, 2008

We were in Birmingham for a wedding on March 15th. We checked in at about 8PM on March 14th. After showering and getting into bed, we realized the noise from the elevator would make it very difficult to sleep. I went down to the front desk to find out if we could be moved to another room. The front desk clerk, Kenny, asked if we'd used the shower. I stated that we had, not realizing the noise until AFTER we got into bed. Kenny stated that since he would not be able to re-sell the room, he could not move us, we'd have to move tomorrow. When I explained that we could not sleep with the elevator noise, he said, practically yelling at my husband and I, that we should have requested a room away from the elevator when booking. Still yelling, Kenny said that he would be able to place us in another room if we paid for it, but since we'd already made the room "nasty", he could not move us.

The next day, we returned in the wee morning hours after the wedding reception. We then discovered our toilet would not flush. I called the front desk and they said they'd send maintenance up. Instead, a security guard came up with keys to another room and we were told that we would have to move. Keep in mind, this is after 1 AM. We moved and will NEVER stay at this hotel again. When I told the manager what happened, he said he was sorry (without much conviction) and that was that. I am disappointed as we've stayed exclusively at Courtyards throughout the US and never experienced this type of poor service. Time to look for a new place to stay I guess.

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cab3170
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2008

Check-in/Check-out: efficient friendly and accurate.
Room: modern, quiet, well-furnished, and very clean. Large immaculate bathroom.
Parking: on site and very cheap and convenient.
Internet access: FAST AND FREE
Amenities: small substandard fitness room, nice breakfast buffet daily in the hotel restaurant.
Location: downtown, adjacent to UAB Medical Center. Lots of fast food restaurants nearby.

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Tackle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2007

My wife and I visted Birmingham for 3 days. The hotel was pleasant and clean with decent service. Parking was in the hopital garage and cost $6.00 per day.

A previous review did state that you hear the ambulance during the night. Our experience found the statement to be true.

No decent dining in the immediate area but, the town is easy to navigate and we had a delightful meal at the Plaza III steak house in Mountain Brook.

One other item on the hotel. The smell of desinfectant in the room was a bit overwhelming.

Stayed: November 2007
Thank LocustPoint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2007

Stayed there with my wife for a couple of nights in September 2007. It's a pretty nice place that we'd return to if in Birmingham. Helpful staff and nice rooms, though the walls are a bit thin. Good, reasonably priced breakfast buffet. Free internet access in the lobby and rooms, which is a good feature. Small but adequate exercise room, with a tv and about four or five machines in it. The hotel is walking distance from a string of bars and restaurants along nearby 20th Street and Cobb Lane. This seems to be the best concentration of such places in town, so it's convenient for dining out.

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Southside
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2007

We were in Birmingham for a wedding and I booked this hotel based on the reviews here. We were not disappointed. It was clean (although there was a hint of that cleaning fluid smell), our room was lovely, the colors, the bedding, the bathroom all nice. There was a refrigeratorand a thermostat. A small exercise room was just down the hall. The lobby was very nice and there was a small restaurant for breakfast that was fine. The service was very friendly. It is right next to the hospital so we could hear sirens but they stopped during the two nights we were there. It was very convenient to downtown, just a few blocks from the Civil Rights Insititue and the art museum.

  • Stayed: June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank FatherMckenzie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2007

Stayed one night (6/1/07) in room 430. Room rate was $119 pre-tax. Was here on business. Room was very clean. Free wi-fi throughout the hotel. My sleep was interrupted several times during the night by ambulance sirens since the hotel is across the street from the ambulance entrance to the hospital.

Parking was $6 per day in the garage shared with the hospital. You can come and go as you please, but have to have your parking ticket stamped at the front desk each time you choose to leave. There is no entrance directly from the garage to the hotel. You must walk a short distance outside.

There are plenty of franchise restaurants within a block, but some are only open for lunch.

  • Stayed: June 2007, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank ElvisVedder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
0.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Birmingham Downtown - The Tutwiler
0.2 mi away
SpringHill Suites Birmingham Downtown at UAB
0.8 mi away
Redmont Hotel Birmingham, Curio Collection by Hilton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Residence Inn Birmingham Downtown at UAB
0.3 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Birmingham
1.3 mi away
The Westin Birmingham
The Westin Birmingham
#19 of 80 in Birmingham
452 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Birmingham Downtown at UAB? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Birmingham Downtown at UAB

Address: 1820 5th Ave S, Birmingham, AL 35233-1809
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alabama > Birmingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Family Hotel in Birmingham
#20 Business Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range: $151 - $232 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Birmingham Downtown at UAB 3*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Blaze your way to a successful stay at Courtyard Birmingham Downtown at UAB. Our modern hotel offers unbeatable access to UAB Hospital. Just take our connecting sky bridge to attend an informational lecture or visit loved ones. We are also within walking distance from the University of Alabama at Birmingham and a short drive from Vulcan Park & Museum, Five Points South and Birmingham Zoo. Following your eventful day, make yourself at home in our rooms and suites. We provide complimentary Wi-Fi, luxurious bedding and ergonomic workstations. After some rest, wake up and boost your energy with a workout at our fitness center. Then satisfy your built-up appetite at The Bistro, open for breakfast and dinner. We also feature a Market stocked with snacks and beverages for your convenience. When it comes to your work needs, we have you covered with equipped event venues and a business center. Whatever the reason for your visit, Courtyard Birmingham Downtown at UAB is here to serve you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Courtyard Birmingham Downtown at UAB reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Birmingham Downtown Uab Hotel Birmingham
Courtyard Birmingham Downtown Uab
Birmingham Marriott
Birmingham Courtyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing