We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Interesting day”

Vulcan Park and Museum
Ranked #5 of 88 things to do in Birmingham
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The largest cast-iron statue in the world was created for the 1904 St. Louis World's Fair.
Birmingham, Alabama
Level Contributor
200 reviews
60 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Interesting day”
Reviewed October 15, 2013

Vulcan Park museum is all about the foundry days in Birmingham. It's an interesting tour and you do learn a lot about how iron casting were made. The it's a trip in the elevator to the top of the Vulcan statue. Great view of Birmingham.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mike O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

902 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    418
    366
    108
    9
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montgomery, Alabama
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“nice view”
Reviewed October 13, 2013

i took my girls here on a boreing weekend day just to get them out the house.(i was tired of them messing up the house)..it was not hard to find we took subway and enjoyed the soft grass more than anything else,it was really clean and plenty of shade.i was happy the fee was not to high still think it should have been free if you dont actually go into the statue.but the veiw was great.it was something to do for 7 girls... and two boys well 3 includeing me. the 10 of us had a great time for a small amount of money.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank kareynorris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bismarck, North Dakota
Level Contributor
41 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Lovely.”
Reviewed October 12, 2013

Vulcan, in its lovely park, is a must-see. Take the elevator to the top for a wonderful view of the city. The museum is well-done and just the right size for a quick visit.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank LASS4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antioch, Illinois
Level Contributor
237 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Interesting”
Reviewed October 9, 2013 via mobile

Unfortunately it was raining very hard during our stop so we did not get to spend much time at all outside. The museum inside though was fairly interesting and worth the visit. A nice small museum that helps explain the history of Birmingham and the making of the Vulcan monument. Well worth the stop if you are interested in and enjoy unique things to do. A small entry fee to the Vulcan site is required.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Jm2323
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tustin, California
Level Contributor
476 reviews
295 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 468 helpful votes
“Not mind-blowing, but a good skyline view from a quaint park”
Reviewed October 7, 2013

While in the Birmingham area, I paid a visit to Vulcan Park after checking out the Botanical Gardens about a mile away. I didn’t know about the museum, but my buddy was telling me the story about “moon over Homewood” and the view of the city, so that sounded like it might be fun.

As far as city lookout places go, this is not going to be the most amazing you’ve seen (i.e., compared to skyscraper or tower observation decks in the big cities), but it’s the best view in Birmingham so I’d recommend it from that standpoint. You can climb stairs or take the elevator. We took the stairs … something equivalent to going up about 12 floors in an office building … no problem at all. The AAA-reduced entrance fee was under $6, and the ticket is good for all day. The ticket seller told us the view is better at night, but we had other stuff to do so we didn’t return.

Overall, this little park is pretty cool. The view from the lookout deck is nice, and the little museum has interesting information about Birmingham’s industry and how the city fared throughout good and bad times. There are also archival photos from the time the Vulcan statue was created.

Note for photographers: the park is generally situated so that you look north-northwest toward the downtown skyline, which means that the sun is behind you for a good part of the day. However, the statue also faces the city, so if you want a photo of the Vulcan’s front side, you’ll be looking way up in the air and into the sun unless you plan your visit to be nearer to sunrise or sunset.

No need to budget for much time here. You can take in everything in less than an hour.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Jim L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Vulcan Park and Museum also viewed

 

Been to Vulcan Park and Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing