We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cool to see”

Vulcan Park and Museum
Ranked #6 of 93 things to do in Birmingham
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The largest cast-iron statue in the world was created for the 1904 St. Louis World's Fair.
San Francisco
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Cool to see”
Reviewed September 29, 2012

We walked from the Carver Theater (approximately 3 miles). Lovely walk up a decent hill. You can kind of see the statue along the walk. When we eventually made it to the park, the attendant told us it was 4USD to take the elevator to the observation deck, we passed and walked around the little park. This area would be good for a picnic during the day but we had arrived just as the sun started setting. I was really trying to get a good picture of the statue, but you just can't the entire thing in one photo, the park is kind of small but the view of Birmingham is awesome. Definately go if you like being outside, bring a lunch and hang in the park!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank lolorobot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,001 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    466
    406
    118
    9
    2
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Homewood, Alabama
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Moon over Homewood”
Reviewed September 24, 2012

A treasure, the museum is ok but the man of steel is the star. Great view of the city and always run guest by to meet him.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank Steve W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roanoke, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Great views”
Reviewed September 23, 2012

Thanks to the Trip Advisor things near me option, I found this place. The view is amazing and it's a bit of a thrill being up so high. Heights don't generally bother me but I got a little nervous up there. A storm was coming in and it looked so cool. The ladies selling and taking tickets were really sweet, I enjoyed chatting with them.

Helpful?
Thank number2cac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vestavia Hills, Alabama
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Vulcan the Iron Man”
Reviewed September 20, 2012

Birmingham has this huge cast iron statue of Vulcan on top of Red Mountain that is a tribute to the iron industry that was the main industry here for years. Hard to believe this statue was created with the tools the people had at that time but they did it. Amazing...

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
Thank Yvonne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henley-on-Thames, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
297 reviews
53 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 192 helpful votes
“Nice part of Birmingham”
Reviewed September 19, 2012

Spacious park that gives nice panaramic views of Birmingham. The statue is very striking. You can take an elevator to the top of the statue for about $6.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank wakey47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Vulcan Park and Museum also viewed

 

Been to Vulcan Park and Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing