We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Silence Earthling..My name is Darth Vader. I am an extraterrestrial from the planet Vulcan"”

Vulcan Park and Museum
Ranked #5 of 92 things to do in Birmingham
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The largest cast-iron statue in the world was created for the 1904 St. Louis World's Fair.
Virginia
Level Contributor
74 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Silence Earthling..My name is Darth Vader. I am an extraterrestrial from the planet Vulcan"”
Reviewed August 25, 2011

While visiting the Vulcan museum, I couldn't help but think of this quote from BTTF. Regardless, the view of Birmingham is a good one from the top of the viewing tower. The museum is a good one and highlights the making and restoration of the statue which is excellent. It highlights the time span to make it, less than 7 months and that it was all cast iron. There is a brief history of the city and the iron working and the relationship to the CIvil Rights movement but would recommend going to the Birmingham Civil Rights Institute downtown for a more thorough history. Overall, very much worth the visit.

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank scottishirishpirate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

953 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    440
    389
    113
    9
    2
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Salt Lake City
Level Contributor
147 reviews
64 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Shocking history”
Reviewed August 15, 2011

This is a must see, if you can find it. Coming from the west with both my grandmothers being born in AL, in Bridgeport, I had no idea of the history. It is violent listening. Not for children unless they only want to climb to the top of the Vulcan statue. Or if you want your older children to learn about some dark history, this is a great way for them to learn. Maybe most southerners are immune to it, but it really touched me. I came back and read alot more of Birminghams history after this visit.

Visited September 2010
Helpful?
1 Thank jasatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mass
Level Contributor
498 reviews
436 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 471 helpful votes
“Worth the visit”
Reviewed August 2, 2011

Not overwhelming, but a nice place to stop. For some reason there was no one at the booth so we were able to visit w/o paying. Though we chose not to go to the top and if we had paid just to take the little trail that would have been annoying. The statue is pretty interesting and a good photo op. The views are good from the bottom, though not great because of the trees. There are interpretative signs on the way up telling you about some history.

Visited July 2011
Helpful?
Thank Dand978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great view, interesting museum”
Reviewed July 25, 2011

There is no better view of the city than from atop this statue. The museum at the foot of the statue was informative but for me the highlight was the statue itself, the grounds, and the view from the top. The people there are also extremely helpful answering questions that have more to do with the city below than the statue itself. We got a great recommendation for a bbq restaurant upon leaving from the lady at the desk. Very typical southern hospitality.

Visited June 2011
Helpful?
Thank StuartJl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
61 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Vulcan Park”
Reviewed July 7, 2011

This park is on top of a hill. Nice to see but tickets to the museum pricey for what is is at $6 . Can go and look around probably best views of Birmingham

Visited July 2011
Helpful?
Thank krjcf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Vulcan Park and Museum also viewed

 

Been to Vulcan Park and Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing