We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful and family friendly”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Renaissance Birmingham Ross Bridge Golf Resort & Spa
Ranked #13 of 79 Hotels in Birmingham
Certificate of Excellence
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
58 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Beautiful and family friendly”
Reviewed July 31, 2014

We just stayed here overnight on our way to Florida. We have a 3 year old, 11 year old and a 13 year old and I must say -- they ALL loved the pool. It's a large pool and it has a water-slide and it has a nice hot tub and the entire area is really nice. There is also a small indoor pool and the hotel hosted a "movie" night with a big screen while you swim. The room was large, very nice and clean. Staff was friendly. It's a really beautiful place and I can't imagine anyone would NOT enjoy staying here for a few nights.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jennifer K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

678 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    354
    192
    77
    30
    25
See reviews for
146
203
26
152
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (158)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chattanooga, TN
Level Contributor
57 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2014

This is great family resort hotel situated within a residential golf community in Hoover, a suburb of B'ham. It's large Scottish-themed resort on land once owned by the Ross family from Scotland. It's not near anything but that's okay as the resort and the greater residential community have tennis, golf, hiking, biking, playground, and swimming all right there.

Any age group would enjoy themselves at the Ross Bridge including golf widows and their children who have a great pool (pool slide is a big hit) and game room to enjoy while the "duffer" is playing the Robert Trent Jones designed course.

Two restaurants. Better and Best. Three bars. Pool, lobby, and Golf Shop Grille. Large comfortable rooms with large showers. A Spa (we did not use). A golf pro shop (we did not enter).

I rated it Excellent overall because we found it to be... excellent overall.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PardonMeBoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alabaster, Alabama
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2014

We stayed here for my husbands birthday and had a wonderful experience start to finish. Great customer service and beautiful location. I love that every room has it's own private balcony. Breakfast at bricks was fabulous

Room Tip: I think all rooms are good. We overlooked the golf course which was beautiful
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Val W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2014

My husband and I stayed three nights for an anniversary celebration. This is a beautiful property and is off the beaten path. I found Ross Bridge at the recommendation of the Porsche driving experience, which my husband enjoyed. The service at Ross Bridge is excellent and our room was spacious and very quiet. All of the staff was friendly and courteous. The pool area was very crowded on Saturday, but we still managed to get some lounge chairs after a little more than 30 minutes. This is a great family resort also and the pool slide seemed to be a hit with the kids. The service at the pool was top notch and Will made sure that we were never thirsty. There was also a gentleman playing guitar by the pool from 1 -3 that provided some great background music. Brock's did not live up to the expectation of a property of this caliber. We dined on Thursday night and the food was just so-so and the servers seemed awkward and less experienced. The fitness center has well-appointed equipment, with both cardio and weights. The spa is wonderful and I was glad that I booked well in advance so that I could enjoy a massage and facial on Friday. I think the value was exceptional for the advance payment option. I will definitely return to Ross Bridge and look forward to my next stay there.

Room Tip: Property facing the resort and near the stairs was very quite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MJlovethebeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munford, Alabama
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2014 via mobile

If you don't golf no problem just lay back and enjoy the pool, the service and yes the bag pipes. But if you want Internet just bring your own its a hassle so put the computer away then eat and drink you won't be sorry.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kentuckybama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brookhaven
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2014 via mobile

Our family usually spends a week at the beach every summer. We couldn't find a beach condo that fit our needs and price range. Disappointed, we decided on a whim to plan a golf vacation for our sons this week. Ross Bridge was our first stop. From the moment we arrived at the Castle, we were treated like royalty. Everyone we came in contact with went above and beyond to make our stay memorable. Amanda at reservations/check in was awesome!!! We had a luxurious room overlooking the pool area and took full advantage of the balcony view. The room and the hotel itself met all of our expectations and more. We loved the keurig coffee maker and huge flat screen TVs. The guys had a wonderful time at the immaculate award winning RTJ golf course and I got to enjoy a relaxing day at the spa. We ate at the clubhouse and the food and service was excellent. We spent two nights and did not want to leave!! The atmosphere and surroundings at Ross Bridge were first class---forget the beach, we hope to make this an annual event now.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Annmjack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rick S, General Manager at Renaissance Birmingham Ross Bridge Golf Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
We are thrilled to know your family had such a relaxing stay at Ross Bridge. Thank you for choosing us for your summer vacation! I will be sure to share your generous comments with my associates. Looking forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
45 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2014 via mobile

We recently stopped here by accident during a long cross-country drive and are so glad we did! This is a gem in the middle of nowhere - the pool area is fabulous, food is great, service is excellent and there is something for everyone in the family. Definitely recommend.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Denali5540
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
9.7 mi away
Redmont Hotel Birmingham, Curio Collection by Hilton
9.0 mi away
Grand Bohemian Hotel Mountain Brook, Autograph Collection
4.3 mi away
Hyatt Regency Birmingham - The Wynfrey Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.1 mi away
The Westin Birmingham
The Westin Birmingham
#14 of 79 in Birmingham
433 reviews
4.1 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Birmingham-Hoover
9.9 mi away
Birmingham Marriott
Birmingham Marriott
#27 of 79 in Birmingham
427 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Birmingham Ross Bridge Golf Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Birmingham Ross Bridge Golf Resort & Spa

Property: Renaissance Birmingham Ross Bridge Golf Resort & Spa
Address: 4000 Grand Ave, Birmingham, AL 35226-6201
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alabama > Birmingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Business Hotel in Birmingham
#12 Family Hotel in Birmingham
#12 Romantic Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Renaissance Birmingham Ross Bridge Golf Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 259
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Retreat to the beautiful rolling hills and experience one of the finest Birmingham, AL hotels. Secluded from every day cares, yet close to a vibrant city, Renaissance Birmingham Ross Bridge Golf Resort & Spa embodies comfortable sophistication and the casual elegance of a royal retreat. Our AAA Four-Diamond Birmingham golf resort's plush guest rooms include balconies overlooking stunning grounds, and a signature pool featuring enchanting waterfalls and fountains that will truly amaze you. Boasting the third-longest golf course in the world, the Robert Trent Jones Golf Trail course is highlighted by sweeping majestic views of the surrounding foothills. Stimulate your senses at the lavish 12,000-square-foot European spa located inside of our hotel. It is exclusively designed to ensure complete relaxation and tranquility. Experience our Birmingham, AL hotel’s luxury and discover a delightful escape at Renaissance Birmingham Ross Bridge Golf Resort & Spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Marriott, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Renaissance Birmingham Ross Bridge Golf Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Ross Bridge Golf Resort And Spa
Renaissance Ross Bridge Golf Hotel Birmingham
Renaissance Ross Bridge Resort
Renaissance Ross Bridge Hotel
Renaissance Birmingham
Birmingham Renaissance

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing