We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beware of ClubHouse Restaurant!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Renaissance Birmingham Ross Bridge Golf Resort & Spa
Ranked #14 of 80 Hotels in Birmingham
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 2, 2012

Resort was okay, starting to look dated. One thing is for sure, every location needs to hire help. From the front desk, valet parking, bar and restaurant. All seemed short handed. The worst experience was the Club House Grill. From the time we got there till be received our food, we were there 2 1/2 hours. After being told a 15 min wait, it was 1 hour. After being seated, it took 25 min. just to run someone down to take our drink order. We saw our waitress once and that's when she took our order. Needless to say, it was the worst food, we had ever received. After all of this I was pretty pissed off. I ask to see the manager, which offered us dessert. I told her no, I just wanted to leave. There were 6 of us and 1 person could eat what they were served. I showed the manager all the food that we were sending back and told her why. 5 plates had 1 bite ate off of them. She refused to deduct those plates off but gave me a managers"discount". So, I walked out with a bill of $115.00 for food we could not eat. CAUTION: DO NOT waste your time and money there.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
16  Thank odieb5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (730)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

581 - 587 of 730 reviews

Reviewed March 29, 2012

When you first approach this resort, you get a feeling of grandeur. It's a very large a rambling facility located on a golf course. Pool and terrace are very nice. Rooms need more cleanup to make a 5 star for me.

Signs of touch paint needed all around the property. Base of toilet at the floor had a very nasty appearance. Beds were comfortable.

Location is very strange. Kind of off the beaten path.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sailawayaussies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2012

We had a lot of fun last time we went from the arcade to the waterslide and the nice golf course. We are going again this weekend! I recommend this as a fun family vacation. :)

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CriticNHSV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2012

This hotel is so beautiful. The staff is very nice. The spa is incredible. Just make sure if you are booking a spa appointment you are booking early in the day because you can use the spa facilities all day the day of your service. There is a beautiful quiet room for resting and reading, a steam shower, some showers with aveda products for you to use and personal attendants. You can order glasses of wine in this room and the staff is incredible. However, if you book a massage at 4pm that lasts one hour you cannot use these facilities unless you come early. So book early in the day so you can relax at your leisure. According to my husband the golf course is incredible and one of the best he has played. There is a park in the Ross Bridge community which my son loved. Have a great time at Ross Bridge.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KRetzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2012

Newer property with fabulous views. Stayed during horrible tornados and storms, but felt very safe. Gorgeous pool area. My room was spacious and nicely furnished. Tripled sheeted bed with duvet. Lots of pillows. Refrigerator in room. Large balcony was very private. Nice bath with separate tub and shower. Not close to town if you are going out to dinner, but great for views, golf, spa. Also ate in the restaurant and the food was above average . Nice service too...even when the power went out for a few minutes during the storms. Front desk was exceedingly helpful with my questions.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking pool have best views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mcbr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2012

Fantastic property tucked away in a fairy-tale like suburban community with beautiful homes; part of an amazing golf course trail; nice spa and wonderful resort pool - great for kids or adults.

Breakfast buffet in the morning is award winning and too good to pass up. The surrounding nature and scenery (not to mention the golf course) are well-worth the trip.

If you're staying in Birmingham and don't mind being 15-20 minutes from Downtown or the city's center, then make this your stay.

I've stayed here several times for both business, leisure and family - where I'd recommend anyone to stay. Love the in-room complimentary Aveda products.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WeLoveMangoes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2012

This was a very nice property with a lovely staff. I regret that I did to have the opportunity to enjoy all the amenities, e.g., golf. It is a bit of a hike from the airport and downtown and it was difficult to get a timely cab to the airport. If you are going to immerse yourself in the amenities, I highly recommend the property.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Frank_gregory
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
9.7 mi away
Redmont Hotel Birmingham, Curio Collection by Hilton
4.3 mi away
Hyatt Regency Birmingham - The Wynfrey Hotel
10.1 mi away
The Westin Birmingham
The Westin Birmingham
#24 of 80 in Birmingham
463 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Birmingham-Hoover
9.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Birmingham Downtown - The Tutwiler
9.5 mi away
Elyton Hotel, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Birmingham Ross Bridge Golf Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Birmingham Ross Bridge Golf Resort & Spa

Address: 4000 Grand Ave, Birmingham, AL 35226
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alabama > Birmingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Birmingham
#12 Business Hotel in Birmingham
#12 Romantic Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range: $191 - $358 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Renaissance Birmingham Ross Bridge Golf Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 259
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Retreat to the beautiful rolling hills and experience one of the finest Birmingham, Alabama hotels - Renaissance Birmingham Ross Bridge Golf Resort & Spa. Secluded from every day cares, yet close to a vibrant city, our Birmingham resort embodies comfortable sophistication and the casual elegance of a royal retreat. Our AAA Four-Diamond Birmingham golf resort's plush guest rooms include balconies overlooking stunning grounds, and a signature pool featuring enchanting waterfalls and fountains that will truly amaze you. Boasting the third-longest golf course in the world, the Robert Trent Jones Golf Trail course is highlighted by sweeping majestic views of the surrounding foothills. Stimulate your senses at the lavish 12,000-square-foot European spa located inside of our hotel. It is exclusively designed to ensure complete relaxation and tranquility. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Marriott, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, getaroom.com and Hotwire so you can book your Renaissance Birmingham Ross Bridge Golf Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Ross Bridge Golf Resort And Spa
Renaissance Ross Bridge Golf Hotel Birmingham
Renaissance Ross Bridge Resort
Renaissance Ross Bridge Hotel
Renaissance Birmingham
Birmingham Renaissance

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing