We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful place; they need to work on some things.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Renaissance Birmingham Ross Bridge Golf Resort & Spa
Ranked #13 of 80 Hotels in Birmingham
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 17, 2011

Our room overlooked the pool, which cost more than some other rooms. We expected some noise 5 floors below us from the pool. Children playing wasn't the problem. What was objectionable was that they begin playing MUSIC over the property's loud speakers: 7- 7:30 AM on the weekend mornings. When my husband and I get away for R & R we would like to sleep without an alarm. No loud music early morning, thank you.

The food was good and they will serve 1/2 portions at their fine dining restaurant (Brock's) if you prefer. My husband and I ordered a glass of wine and received a $12.00 "shot" of wine in a wine glass. Two or three sips was their glass of wine. We have traveled several continents to some of the most exclusive restaurants and have never been served a paltry serving of wine such as this. The server retrieved my husband's empty glass without asking if he would like another. [we had a glass of the same wine at their lounge upstairs before dinner and was served a regular portion].

The room was clean and comfortable. They promote their 300 TC sheets on their website which is not a good selling point since Walmart sells 400 TC sheets. If you don't have 500 + thread count bedding it's really not a good idea to use it as a promotional tool. Not a complaint - just something they should know.

When we received our room service on Saturday night, we were told they couldn't leave the TABLE for us to eat from as they were short tables. We ordered full meals, and it would mean we (one of us) were to eat from our lap since the room had only one movable chair which was at the desk. Not good for a resort property. We told the Room Service server that we would eat quickly if she would leave the table. She wasn't happy about it, but did leave it. Since it was not the server's fault, it was not fair to put her (or guests) in the situation. If room service had let us know we wouldn't get a table, we would have ordered a sandwich.

The Spa was very nice and the service there was great. I would go back to the spa.

The overall service was okay, and it is clear they are short-staffed so I wouldn't place any responsibility for that on the servers.

For some reason they charge $16.00 per night for valet parking. It is out in the country and it is not a space issue. We parked our own car.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the pool (even five floors up) additional noise. The 7 AM music may be property...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joypc1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (725)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

628 - 634 of 725 reviews

Reviewed July 16, 2011

I choose this hotel because of its location outside of Birmingham, and was pleasantly surprised. The hotel and grounds are some of the nicest I have ever seen. The mid-week room price was extremely reasonable, especially considering the level of service, and the quality of the rooms and grounds. The golf course is one of the nicest I have ever seen - the course and high-end surrounding neighborhood were very nice for getting in an evening or morning walk and the pool area had a good hot tub with a waterfall next to it. The food in the restaurants was very good (fresh baked goods, good wine list) and the bars and coffee shop were convenient. The hotel is not convenient to other restaurants or shops, but the hotel had everything we needed. All staff was very friendly and ready to help. I will be back.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kathrin03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2011

Top notch member of the Renaissance family. Plenty of amenities, staff is courteous and helpful.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MarkhMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2011

We booked through Expedia and at check-in sort of felt like second class citizens for doing so. Instead of noting at the outset that our reservation included breakfast, we had to make two requests at the front desk to get all the vouchers for our stay. On the plus side, the bellman, and all the restaurant staff were very efficient and friendly. On arrival, the bar was packed and there was only 1 bartender/waiter. Took forever to get a drink. The staff is universally proud of the breakfast buffet, and I can see why. The signature mushroom hash omelet is the best omelet I've ever eaten. Promotional material for the hotel indicates there are plenty of gourmet eating options. We found only Brocks at Ross Bridge -- where we had breakfast every day. There is a retail complex at Ross Bridge, but nothing much in it! Every night we drove 15-25 minutes to get to a good restaurant, because Ross Bridge is inconveniently located about 5 miles from I-65. Over 3 days, we got pretty tired on traveling that 5 mile stretch to get to and from the complex. If you plan to stay at or near the hotel (for the spa or for golf at Oxmoor or Ross Bridge), you make like the location better than we did. The fitness center was reasonably well equipped, but the single Swiss ball was underinflated and pretty useless. Pool and hot tub are very pretty and well maintained. There was no concierge on duty during our stay and hotel staff not very knowledgeable about dining options outside of the complex.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank alvalady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2011

The company I work for hosted a day and a half annual meeting at this property last week. This is one of the top 3 hotels in the Birmingham area. The room were $189.00 per night. It is considered a resort property with a golf course and spa. The food was outstanding (the beef for lunch was particularly so), and the staff was friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Call property itself, and use discounts
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TrojanBill1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2011

My husband and I traveled with another couple for a golfing(guys)/gardens, shopping, spa(girls)trip. The men greatly enjoyed the RTJ golfing experience with day clinics as well as golf rounds. We found much to do in Mountain Brook and English Village as well as several beautiful botanical gardens. Unfortunately the conservatory at the Birmingham Botanical Garden is closed until further notice for repair(a casualty of reduced state budgets I fear). The stay at Ross Bridge worked out very for us, the golf courses were very nearby and going into Birmingham was easy with a GPS. We were able to dine at all three of Frank Stitt's restaurants in Birmingham which was a huge plus and reason enough to travel to this area! The hotel itself was very clean and the stay enjoyable. The rooms are sizable and the bathrooms quite large with both an independent shower and a tub. The furnishings are comfortable. I found the bed to be on the hard side but the linens were nice for such a large commercial property. Many other reviewers have noted noise problems and thin walls but our rooms seemed to be far from the "loud" parts of the hotel. Our balconies overlooked a back parking lot and part of a golf course. It may also have been far from full during our stay. The hotel and surrounding residential development arise rather Disney-esque out in the middle of nowhere. It is a good 20-30 minute drive to downtown. My friend and I both got massages at the spa. I can't judge hers, but mine was the worst massage ever, particularly for the price. It was an anemic back and leg rub, nothing more. The area did not seem luxe at all. You changed into ill-fitting robes essentially in a closet and then put your clothing in a locker. The reception area in the spa was not well-run and seemed disorganized both when calling to make the appointments and then when arriving. One of employees in that area said that much of their business came from Birmingham itself, so maybe Birmingham doesn't have many other spas and therefore people don't know to expect more. We traveled to and from our cars everyday by way of the lower level which contained the conference and ballrooms. That area seemed to be very well run and organized and quite busy. The set-ups for the meetings, dinners, etc. always appeared efficient and top-notch. Considering the rate we received and the purpose of the trip I felt that this facility served us very well.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the pool and lounge area
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jstuart77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2011

Stayed at the hotel during a business trip to Birmingham. It is a little further out that I'd hoped (about twenty minutes from downtown) but by far exceeded my expectations. The lobby area is beautiful. The rooms were absolutely incredible. Everything seemed very new and clean, nice amenities, starbucks in the rooms, balconies in every room and a delicious room service menu. I had breakfast the next day on site. For around 12 dollars I had access to a gourmet buffett with fresh fruit (blackberries, raspberries, etc), homemade waffles, fresh salmon, etc. The work out facilities were nice and the pool was clean.

I would stay here again!

  • Stayed: March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JustCallmeTourGuide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
4.3 mi away
Hyatt Regency Birmingham - The Wynfrey Hotel
10.1 mi away
The Westin Birmingham
The Westin Birmingham
#20 of 80 in Birmingham
456 reviews
9.7 mi away
Redmont Hotel Birmingham, Curio Collection by Hilton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.9 mi away
Birmingham Marriott
Birmingham Marriott
#26 of 80 in Birmingham
465 reviews
4 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Birmingham-Hoover
9.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Birmingham Downtown - The Tutwiler
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Birmingham Ross Bridge Golf Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Birmingham Ross Bridge Golf Resort & Spa

Address: 4000 Grand Ave, Birmingham, AL 35226-6201
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alabama > Birmingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Birmingham
#12 Romantic Hotel in Birmingham
#12 Business Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range: $179 - $309 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Renaissance Birmingham Ross Bridge Golf Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 259
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Retreat to the beautiful rolling hills and experience one of the finest Birmingham, AL hotels. Secluded from every day cares, yet close to a vibrant city, Renaissance Birmingham Ross Bridge Golf Resort & Spa embodies comfortable sophistication and the casual elegance of a royal retreat. Our AAA Four-Diamond Birmingham golf resort's plush guest rooms include balconies overlooking stunning grounds, and a signature pool featuring enchanting waterfalls and fountains that will truly amaze you. Boasting the third-longest golf course in the world, the Robert Trent Jones Golf Trail course is highlighted by sweeping majestic views of the surrounding foothills. Stimulate your senses at the lavish 12,000-square-foot European spa located inside of our hotel. It is exclusively designed to ensure complete relaxation and tranquility. Experience our Birmingham, AL hotel’s luxury and discover a delightful escape at Renaissance Birmingham Ross Bridge Golf Resort & Spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Renaissance Birmingham Ross Bridge Golf Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Ross Bridge Golf Resort And Spa
Renaissance Ross Bridge Golf Hotel Birmingham
Renaissance Ross Bridge Resort
Renaissance Ross Bridge Hotel
Renaissance Birmingham
Birmingham Renaissance

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing