We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Halloween is the best reason to go here”

Sloss Furnaces National Historic Landmark
Ranked #10 of 88 things to do in Birmingham
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Historic iron manufacturing facility
Bessemer, Alabama
Level Contributor
73 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Halloween is the best reason to go here”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2012

As a tourist stop not much to see, but they do a pretty good job of decorating for Halloween.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
Thank LoriandEd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

351 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    186
    115
    35
    7
    8
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Smyrna, Tennessee
Level Contributor
164 reviews
72 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“not much to it.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2011

can be seen and done in about an hour. The old buildings are interesting to go into.

Helpful?
Thank terrysavage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prattville, Alabama
Level Contributor
54 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Interesting!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2011

Probably not very interesting to small children, but we found it interesting to visit especially after we visited Vulcan Park and Museum. It just added to our learning more about the influence of the iron industry in Birmingham.

Visited July 2011
Helpful?
Thank SilverCreek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, AL
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“This place is awesome!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2011

I never thought I would say that about an industrial facility but the ironworks really are amazing. The entire facility is like one large metal sculpture but my favorite part was making my own iron sculpture and then watching an actual iron pour. I would recommend that you check the internet for a schedule of events because they usually have something fun going on!

Helpful?
Thank skjwatkins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Decatur, Alabama
Level Contributor
183 reviews
52 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Different Kind of Place”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 15, 2011

This is an old steel mill that has been turned into an industrial exhibit. They have a guided tour to explain how the iron and coal was turned into steel. You walk through the giant remains of the mill and its equipment. some of the areas are falling down and some are in good shape.

We went with a church seniors group and most of the men especially enjoyed the trip. Not so sure about the women. They have a film and picture exhibit at the first that sets the scene for the walk through the mill.

Not your average tourist attraction but an interesting trip to learn something about the history of Birmingham and the area.

Visited May 2011
Helpful?
Thank ALoldsters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sloss Furnaces National Historic Landmark also viewed

 

Been to Sloss Furnaces National Historic Landmark? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing