We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very surprised at the quality in a good way”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Homewood Suites Birmingham South Inverness
Ranked #7 of 80 Hotels in Birmingham
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 11, 2011

Excellent room in terms of size, cleanliness and feel. I was a little concerned about 'roughing it' since I'm used to 5-star hotels but was definitely pleasantly surprised!

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BKPU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (540)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

508 - 514 of 540 reviews

Reviewed July 9, 2011

Great stay! I really enjoyed it! The hotel had lots of amenities, fitness center, pool, basketball court, etc. I highly recommend staying here.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Delta757pilot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2011

The only thing I can add to the stellar reviews is that 1 - it is an Earth Fare in the center down the hill, not a Whole Foods. Slight difference which only matters to shareholders and members of the kids' club who expect a treat at WF. WF is just a couple of minutes away. :) and 2 - activities, there is a geocache in the neighborhood in walking distance. What a great location for visiting Bham!

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Corn&Beans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2011

I had the pleasure of visiting Birmingham again and of course I had to stay at my all-time favorite hotel! Gayle is still the GM and most of the staff has been with her for many years. That says something about how good a GM she is as well as how experienced the staff is. They will take great care of you!

What really amazed me was how the property appears exactly the same as it did 4 years ago! That says that the maintenance crew is top notch!

I still compare every hotel I stay at to this one. Some may be fancier, some may be newer, but NONE have ever treated me as well as this one!

And best of all, they upgraded their wireless Internet to 4Mbit/sec!! Fantastic!

You just can't go wrong here!

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank frekwentflier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2011

After having visited the Homewood Suites a while back I wondered if the property had gone down in quality or was not as good as the first visit.
When we arrived at the hotel I saw the original GM, Gayle Wilkinson, still headed the property and knew we were in good hands.We were greeted warmly by the well trained and friendly staff.
The well appointed rooms and public areas were still kept crisp and clean.
The next morning at breakfast the selection of nicely presented of hot and cold goodies, would make any buffet proud and included breakfast burritos, waffles, real eggs, sausages, ham, yoghurt, fresh fruit, hot and cold cereals, and baked goods.
That evening there was a buffet that also was well stocked with grilled burgers, potato wedges, chili, salad, wine and other beverages.
The tornadoes ravaged areas around Birmingham but the hotel luckily escaped unscathed. What will always stick in my mind was on Saturday night management organized a drive to put together bags of necessities for Birmingham residents who were in need. Crew and management paired to stuff these bags in an assembly line. One family had three generations of "stuffers."
This caring and kind attitude is emblematic of this property. I would be hard pressed to find this level of hospitality and competence at other properties I have visited. Here you are not just a number or vehicle to up the bottom line, you are truly a guest.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ElffromNewJersey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2011

I travel a lot for work and this is the hotel I compare all others to. This is by far the best hotel experience I've ever had. This hotel is close to many restaurants and shopping. You can even go to a nearby gym for free! The free breakfast in the morning and drinks/snacks in the evening really helps with the food bill. But if you want something else, there is a Whole Foods right next door, so you can get great food and cook in the kitchen. Believe me, after traveling for months, you really want a home-cooked meal!

The GM, Gayle, is amazing and the staff is great as well! I sometimes would bring my Pug with me and they actually got treats for him! I laid out a towel for him to sleep on so he wouldn't shed all over, and the cleaning staff would replace his towel every day! It's these little touches that really make a difference.

The only negative thing I ever found with this hotel was the Internet was rather slow. Of course, I'm comparing it to my home cable modem, so that's probably not a fair comparison.

You can't go wrong here!

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank frekwentflier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2010

Over the past four years, I have stayed at this property many times. In fact it feels like my "home away from home." The general manager, Gayle and her staff are the best. I have never had any major issues with this property, and small issues were immediately addressed and resolved. The staff go out of their way to make you feel at home and always keep a smile on their faces as they welcome you. They provide an excellent breakfast and dinner which is included in your room rate. You can't beat the value--as you get more than what you pay for.

I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone who is travelling, business or pleasure.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pslandry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
1.9 mi away
Drury Inn & Suites Birmingham Grandview
7.3 mi away
Drury Inn & Suites Birmingham Lakeshore Drive
4.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Birmingham SE/Liberty Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Carlton Suites
0.2 mi away
Hyatt Place Birmingham / Inverness
2.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Birmingham/280 East-Eagle Point
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Homewood Suites Birmingham South Inverness? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homewood Suites Birmingham South Inverness

Address: 215 Inverness Center Dr, Birmingham, AL 35242-4804
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alabama > Birmingham
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Birmingham
#3 Business Hotel in Birmingham
#4 Romantic Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range: $109 - $203 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Homewood Suites Birmingham South Inverness 3*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Homewood Suites by Hilton® Birmingham-South/Inverness hotel is situated just 15 minutes from downtown Birmingham and Hoover, Alabama. We offer a central location near some of the area's best restaurants, shopping outlets and attractions. Whether you're seeking Birmingham hotels or Hoover hotels for an extended stay business trip or a leisure break, you'll love that our hotel suites are close proximity to all the local attractions.When you stay at our Birmingham hotel, you'll find yourself faced with a range of dining options, so you'll never go hungry! Enjoy our complimentary Suite Start™ hot breakfast buffet each morning and come home to our Welcome Home® reception in the evening, Monday through Thursday, where you'll find beverages and light snacks on the house. Or if you want to explore Birmingham's range of culinary options, you'll find loads of restaurants serving a diversity of food types, including local Alabama delights, fine contemporary cuisine and all the regular fast food outlets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Homewood Suites Birmingham South Inverness reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Homewood Suites Birmingham South Inverness Hotel Birmingham
Homewood Birmingham
Birmingham Homewood Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing