We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Birthday Celebration”

Fleming's Prime Steakhouse & Wine Bar
Reserve with OpenTable
Fleming's Prime Steakhouse & Wine Bar is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #87 of 947 Restaurants in Birmingham
Price range: $21 - $30
Cuisines: Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Transit: Mall Transit stop
Description: Fleming's Birmingham, AL is an ongoing celebration of exceptional steak and wine. We are located at the Birmingham Summit near Vestavia, not far from Homewood, Downtown Birmingham, and Hoover.
Decatur, Alabama
Level Contributor
181 reviews
110 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Birthday Celebration”
Reviewed May 4, 2014

Our 15 yo son wanted a nice steak for his birthday so we headed to Fleming's in Birmingham. He said he would have been happy with any steak on the list. He finally settled on the medium Petite Filet after an appetizer of the Tenderloin Carpaccio. My 18 yo had a medium rare Main Filet while I had a medium well NY Strip. Each of these three steaks was cooked to perfection, exactly the way we ordered. We shared samples and each was excellent. My wife had the Barbecue Salmon and she said it was excellent as well. We shared sides of mashed potatoes and green beans. Each side probably divides b/n two people better than four, but we each had a salad so two was enough.
We would highly recommend the restaurant and will look forward to going again.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Vernon H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

199 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    112
    48
    23
    10
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Pelham, Alabama
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Delicious Steaks!”
Reviewed April 18, 2014 credit card Amex Card Member Review

The bone-in ribeye is one of the best steaks I have ever eaten! Good service and a wonderful atmosphere.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Sheri R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Alabama
Level Contributor
63 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Bad Bernaise”
Reviewed March 11, 2014

Dined here recently on a Birthday ....Ordered the largest filet medium...Most restaurants cant do medium.neither can Flemmings..Ate around the outside....also had a gristle vein thru it..looking foreword to Brenaise sauce which I can eat with a spoon...tasteless...where was the tarragon,champaign vinegar? Tasteless ..BIG disappointment ....Waiter was great....will go to Ruth Chris next time for the same..

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gbpeachmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Alabama
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great, consistent Food & Service”
Reviewed March 4, 2014

We've never been disappointed with their steaks or sides. If we want to splurge and go someplace for a special occasion, Flemings is where we go for consistently great steaks done perfectly and wonderful sides and desserts.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank patrishg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntsville, Alabama
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Perfect steak, perfect evening!”
Reviewed March 2, 2014

My family and I had a big, long awaited, family gathering at Fleming's in Birmingham last night. The food, the service, the atmosphere, everything about this restaurant was just perfect. I wish I could remember our waitress's name, but she was fantastic, I like when a waitress helps you out, but doesn't hover all night and interrupt conversations over and over. She was just right! We had her taking pictures of us before the night was over! She was a very good sport. I had the Petit Filet Mignon. Hands down, one of the best steaks I have ever had. The first taste was a joyous occasion! The sides are a la carte, so we all ordered a different side and passed them around the table. The Blue Cheese Mashed Potatoes were my favorite, Mac and Cheese a close second. They have a very nice wine selection, as well as cocktails and beer. The Wedge Salad is an awesome way to begin, by the way. It was delicious. Even after all of this culinary greatness, we felt like we just had to eat a terrific variety of desserts. Each one was better than the next. The Chocolate Lava Cake sort of speaks for itself. I wish I had some right now!

This restaurant is not a cheap dining affair, but it shouldn't be. It was worth every penny! I will be as soon as I possibly can!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MBDavis1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fleming's Prime Steakhouse & Wine Bar also viewed

 

Been to Fleming's Prime Steakhouse & Wine Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing