We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Concert venue”
Review of Iron City Grill

Iron City Grill
Ranked #61 of 947 Restaurants in Birmingham
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Birmingham, Alabama
Level Contributor
23 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Concert venue”
Reviewed November 19, 2013 via mobile

Very nice venue for intimate concert experience. Most of the area for viewing is standing room in a mosh pit type area. Great for the younger crowd. There are also seating areas upstairs and around the edge of the mosh pit for those who prefer not to stand. The restroom areas were nice and numerous. I did not eat or drink here so my review is only of the venue. I do hear this is a popular place to grab drinks after work if you were in the area.

Helpful?
Thank ANGinAL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    23
    7
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mobile, Alabama, United States
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Top Notch Venue- Wonderful Food was a convenient plus”
Reviewed August 19, 2013

We had the opportunity to attend a concert here on Friday night. I honestly do not think there is a bad viewing spot in the venue. Bathrooms were clean, conveniently placed, and modern. Bars/beer stations were plentiful and fairly priced. We also stopped in at the grill after the show. Our waiter was fast and efficient. The fried green tomatoes and Philly cheese were both wonderful. I can't sing their praises enough. We will be visiting again.. Soon.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jason M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Don't ask for drinks at the bar”
Reviewed July 21, 2013

You must wait until the bartender approaches you. It doesn't matter if the bald bartender serves someone that just walks up and ignore you. I made the mistake it trying get one of bartenders, (bald guy), and was snapped at. I did get my drinks, and just happened to have correct change, so a tip was out of the question.
The venue is very nice, but be prepared to get your own table and chairs from several racks in the club, and set them up yourself. We were there for a Blues Vattle of the bands put on by MCBS. 150 people, 2 bartenders, (one that doesn't understand the service industry). No one else waiting tables.
Nice place but unfriendly business model, doomed for failure.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Mikebama52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trussville, Alabama
Level Contributor
104 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Beautiful venue spoiled by clueless staff - the 2nd time around”
Reviewed June 3, 2013

Our second visit and it was as consistent with the first but we decided to give them another try.

We went to see 2Blu & the Lucky Stiffs play. We paid $20 each cover and proceeded to find a place to sit and get a drink. There were no seats on the bottom which was no problem as the upper mezzanine appeared to be about empty. So we go up the stairs and look around. There are tables, lots of them, but no chairs. NONE. So I sit on one of the tables thinking initially this is ok and my partner goes to get us a drink. When he comes back he said the bartender knows nothing about chairs or who to see about getting chairs. So this really fumes us as we've paid $40 to get in to see this band and there's no place to sit and no one seems to care.

Our drinks, a beer and a regular vodka martini cost us $17! We proceed to leave the place and it's before the band even starts. Hubs asks for our money back at the door and the rent-a-door guy says he is "not authorized" to refund our money and the 2nd rent-a-door guy tells us the same and looks confused that we'd have a complaint about no where to sit.

Let me just say, this wasn't our first negative visit here but it was our last. We frequent Birmingham's music venues and we are very disappointed in our treatment at this establishment.
The age group, (and I did look around to see what the median age was) was around 50yr old+. If we have worked all day and go out at night, we are not going to stand around for 2+ hours to listen to a band and not have somewhere to sit. And this is too bad because we're the age group that has the discretionary income for such activities.

You could tell serious money has been spent on the set up of this place and the rest rooms were even nice. Why couldn't they have taken chairs from the restaurant section and set them upstairs over in the music venue? The restaurant was empty.

So, we left there, not to be defeated and went to Ona's Music Room and had a fantastic time. Ona even met us at the door.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank maximac222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Good Food / so so service”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Went to the restaurant prior to a show, nice atmosphere, good food, but they forgot to bring our salads out and in general the waiters could have been more attentive.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rsadow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Iron City Grill also viewed

 

Been to Iron City Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing