We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great burgers, over cooked fries”

MOOYAH Burgers, Fries & Shakes
Ranked #58 of 959 Restaurants in Birmingham
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Birmingham, Alabama
Level 6 Contributor
170 reviews
122 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
“Great burgers, over cooked fries”
Reviewed June 8, 2014

Best $5.00, fresh cooked single patty burger anywhere. Far better than Five Guys. The topping choices are varied and always fresh. If you add cheese, bacon and fresh avocado, expect to spend $8.00. Add a drink and fries add another $4.00. The fries ( both sweet potato and regular) are fresh cut, but usually over cooked. The fries at Five Guys are consistently much better. What makes Mooyah stand out, in addition to great tasting beef, is a choice of fresh baked rolls, turkey and vegetable burgers, and hand spun shakes.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JMG44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    24
    4
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Odenville, Alabama
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic food!”
Reviewed June 7, 2014

The portions are HUGE! I ordered the cheeseburger on lettuce (the buns are made fresh so I will have to try one next time!) and it was amazing! Fries are also made fresh in the store, so they're not crispy, as noted by another reviewer. However, if you've had fries that were made fresh, they're not supposed to be crispy. You choose your bun, cheese, and toppings from the menu, so the burger is totally customizable. The milkshakes are also really good! HIGHLY recommend!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank momto1amazingirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Add peanuts and you get Five Guys...”
Reviewed June 7, 2014 via mobile

I went with a co-worker and we really enjoyed the burger. I just wished they had a sourdough bun. But the burger was great, atmosphere was even better. And my co-worker also had a shake which he enjoyed greatly. One last thing, the service was fast and yes, they were busy.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank BigRobJ200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Alabama
Level 6 Contributor
444 reviews
163 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
“Love these burgers ....”
Reviewed April 1, 2014 via mobile

Great fast food at a reasonable price is what Mooyah offers. The burgers are made fresh along with the fries. The Sweet Potato Fries are a real treat ! The restaurant is casual & fun. Great for families with children's.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank beckaj01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Alabama
Level 6 Contributor
141 reviews
116 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Huge portions”
Reviewed March 31, 2014

We really love the burgers here. They have interactive stuff for the kids and my daughter loves being able to color here. You get a huge order of fries, more than one person can share. A little pricey but a good place to come once in a while. Friendly staff.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bill E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed MOOYAH Burgers, Fries & Shakes also viewed

 

Been to MOOYAH Burgers, Fries & Shakes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing