We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great and reasonably priced!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Saw's Juke Joint

Saw's Juke Joint
Ranked #24 of 939 Restaurants in Birmingham
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Bar, Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Bar scene, Families with children, Kids, Large groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
LAGRANGE, GA
Level Contributor
83 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Great and reasonably priced!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2013

We visited our son in Birmingham and he lives a half mile walk from here. The place was packed but we only had to wait about 15 minutes of our estimated hour wait they had given us. We ordered the barbecue stuffed tater and the pork n greens and a side of sweet potato fries for the 3 of us. It was plenty of food and everything was great. Live music as well. This will be a must every time we visit from now on.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank WOOZY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

174 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    93
    65
    10
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“the best BBQ in Birmingham!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2013

I went to Saw's last week with a friend. The food was fantastic. The service was friendly and prompt. Saw's also makes his own sauce which is a perfect blend. You will not leave here hungry!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Beth R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Alabama
Level Contributor
24 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Very nice meal”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2013 via mobile

6 of us had a really nice meal at Saw's Juke Joint. A couple of us had the Pork n Greens which is awesome, a couple had the Pork Sandwich which is also awesome, 1 burger which was really good, and 1 chicken plate which was also really good. This is a BBQ place with huge side order items. BBQ sauce is vinegar based with a little kick. Prices are so/so and location is a little out if the way but it is worth the drive.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Cswee1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
south Florida
Level Contributor
129 reviews
100 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“Delicious 'Q, good dishes all around”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2013

Our family group of 10 out for Saturday lunch managed to fit around one long table arrangement in the side room. My wife and I arrived before everyone else, so we ordered fried pickle slices to get a head start on them (we don't get those in south Florida!) Service was friendly and timely. It's a lively atmosphere, menus in colored chalks all over the walls.

I prefer a selection of at least three or four sauces. As best I recall Saw's offers only the one house sauce, which is risky—either you like it or you don't. The good news is that theirs is a savory, slightly spicy mix, not too sweet. I'd gladly return.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cbrysofla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clayton, North Carolina
Level Contributor
563 reviews
275 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“very good BBQ and the staff was great”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2013

I was part of a group of 7, was seated at a table that held 10 think plenty of room which was nice. The apps was great. Each person ordered a diff plate, It was all good. The waiter was very nice and sat and talked with us a bit. As we was leaving he gave each of us a SAWS hat which was nice.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank firebear1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Saw's Juke Joint also viewed

 

Been to Saw's Juke Joint? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing