We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice place to drop in on” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The J. Clyde

The J. Clyde
Ranked #74 of 936 Restaurants in Birmingham
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub, Irish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Drinks, Late Night, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff
Lineville, Alabama
Level Contributor
89 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Nice place to drop in on”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2014

This is not a fine restaurant. It's main claim to fame is it's extensive selection of beer. The food was good, well prepared and hot. The service was a little slow but no problem, it allow more time for conversation. The server knew his beer but wasn't pushy about it. It was obvious there is a lot of repeat business at J Clyde and I can see why ... comfortable and cozy, with good beer and the food isn't bad. Sounds like a recipe for success

  • Visited January 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Fred W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    33
    7
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, Alabama
Level Contributor
231 reviews
133 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“Great selection of beer and good food but Strange Service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2013

We ate at J Clyde's with several friends because one of them loved the selection of beer. The service that night was very unusual. The waiter was explaining what he thought was very good that night. One of his top recommendations was the Grouper. Two of us ordered the Grouper based on his suggestion. When the foodcame after about 25 minutes, he brought us Salmon. When we asked, he said that they were out of Grouper so he substituted the Salmon. When we asked why he did not come back right away and tell us so we could change our order, he had no answer. I do not believe that has happened to either of us before. That was really strange service and not very thoughtful. We discussed this with the manager. Not sure we will go back

  • Visited December 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank jthomas1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peachtree City, Georgia
1 review
“Very nice friendly place!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2013

Excellent service. They made us feel like we were regular customers even though it was our first visit. ABSOLUTELY EXCELLENT service. Thank you!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank PTCDOGWALKERS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Homewood, Alabama
Level Contributor
59 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Beer Beer Beer”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 20, 2013

I love the J. Clyde. It is a craft beer bar. If you are looking for craft beer, you will not be disappointed. They have a vast selection of beers on tap, and page after page of beers in a bottle. If you need some help, ask the staff. All of them have pretty good knowledge of brew styles, breweries, and what each brewery's specialties are. They also have an excellent selection of seasonal beers on tap or in the bottle.
They continuously rotate their taps so that you will always find something new.
You come to this bar to drink. If you want to have something to eat, realize that this is a bar, not a gastropub.
Their hamburgers are the best things on the menu. You can't go wrong with those. Everything else is hit or miss. Again, you come to the Clyde for the beer.
Atmosphere is... well... Interesting. Their outdoor seating in the front is actually very nice. Sitting under the stars next to an old cobble stone street, across from an old livery is very old world. Inside there is a large bar, followed by another room with a medium sized bar. Seating outside is more like a beer garden, and is VERY pleasant in the spring and fall.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank NattoMatto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peachtree City, Georgia
Level Contributor
97 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“A haven for Beer Geeks.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2013

First visit on a friends reccomendation. 8 pages of beer selections..Not to worry the staff will give you advice based on your tastes and samples from the taps for your approval. Tucked away a little, find Cobb Lane & your there. Try the sauerkraut balls. Didn't try one of the mega bugers but I saw one and I "drooled". Great staff, friendly environment, one of those places where everybody knows your name....

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Rodney D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The J. Clyde also viewed

 

Been to The J. Clyde? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing