We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Love the outdoor seating” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The J. Clyde

The J. Clyde
Ranked #74 of 936 Restaurants in Birmingham
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub, Irish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Late Night, Drinks, Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff
Birmingham, Alabama
Level Contributor
100 reviews
97 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Love the outdoor seating”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2012

We had a birthday party with approximately 20 people. The J. Clyde was easily able to accommodate us on their outdoor patio. For dinner I had the veggie burger and sweet potato fries. Both were delicious and reasonably priced. The alcohol was a bit pricey. I believe I payed approximately 8 dollars for dinner and 35 for 4 drinks, so I had a little sticker shock when the bill arrived. However, the food, the service and the atmosphere made up for it. I will definitely being going back, I'll just drink more water next time!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MichiganTraveler03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    33
    7
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, Alabama
Level Contributor
135 reviews
102 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Eclectic European Atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2012

This out of the way Pub in on a cobblestone street tucked back in a whimsical neighborhood sorta out of a movie set. They have and outdoor patio in front and a cool outdoor courtyard in back. The beer menu is off the charts and a very good on-tap selection. I did see one beer listed at $36? The pizza was very good and a decent selection. I'm going to put this place on my "A" list, to come back to again and again.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Roy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Alabama
Level Contributor
119 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Very good pub food, but beer is the centerpiece”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2012

This is one of the top places to go out for beer in the country, no question. I would give the beer six stars if asked. The food is not fancy, but well made. They do shake things up a bit occasionally with special menu items that are fairly original. The sauerkraut balls are wonderful, they make an interesting black-eyed pea hummus, along with wings, fried green tomatos, burgers, etc.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ALChemProf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, AL
Level Contributor
45 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Fun atmosphere and good food!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2012

Fun bar atmosphere - great beer selection and yummy food! Try the sauerkraut balls - they were wonderful! The burger was one of the best I've had in a while too!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank momof3inbham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The J. Clyde also viewed

 

Been to The J. Clyde? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing