We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“BEST CAKES IN BIRMINGHAM”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Edgar's Bakery

Edgar's Bakery
Ranked #1 of 16 Bakeries in Birmingham
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Brunch, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Birmingham, Alabama, United States
Level Contributor
57 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“BEST CAKES IN BIRMINGHAM”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2013 via mobile

The "Strawberry Cake" is phenomenal. Everyone talks about it. The staff here is extremely friendly and will accomodate all your needs. Great atmosphere and cool merchandise.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jonathan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    51
    30
    8
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
haleyville
Level Contributor
191 reviews
144 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Love this place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2013

They have the best cakes ever!!! I love everything from there. We have never gotten anything bad! The cakes are decorated so good!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank odieb5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gulf Shores, Alabama
Level Contributor
43 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“FABULOUS!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2013

This bakery is a beautiful site as soon as you walk in. Reminds me of an old fashioned bakery, where you can actually see them decorating cakes, making cookies, baking breads, etc. We stopped in for a quick breakfast. Just wanted to try it out. Wasn't sure if the baked goods would taste as good as they looked. I'm telling you they taste even better than they look. Really enjoyed everything we tried and will be back next time we are in the area. They also have a lunch menu, but we didn't try anything off that. Don't pass this up if you are in the area.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank nyctimes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
147 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Great lunch,good coffee, the best pound cakes!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2013

I'm often in the area and stop for lunch, consistently good choice of sandwiches and deserts.
I stock up on their pound cakes which are absolutely super! They bake them in about a dozen different flavors,all are good. My favorite which is not always available unless you order ahead is the orange cheese cake. The very best!
I usually buy 6-10 in various flavors and round out a dozen with the orange. They make great gifts and you can have them gift wrapped in the store. Most of my orange ones get to the freezer for special occasions. They keep well and can be available whenever friends drop by.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank vv67954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
georgia
Level Contributor
177 reviews
109 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Ok lunch! Bakery items A+++”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2013

We had lunch here on our way to Jackson,MS mainly for it's location and because I love their baked goods. Lunch was good but nothing to write home about or worth repeating. We had quiche of the day, Reuben and some other sandwich. Dessert is always worth repeating and worth writing home about. Cake yummy. Thumb runt cookies some f the best I have ever had and I love thumbprint cookies.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank travelbunnyngeorgia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Edgar's Bakery also viewed

 

Been to Edgar's Bakery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing