We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best restaurant for families”
Review of Silvertron Cafe

Silvertron Cafe
Ranked #77 of 957 Restaurants in Birmingham
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $10
Cuisines: American, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Description: For comforting food, a warm, relaxed atmosphere, an affordable outing for the whole family and camaraderie at the bar, The Silvertron Cafe has been a one-stop shop for residents of Birmingham for over 20 years. The Forest Park neighborhood has eagerly embraced the reopening of their old hangout which is now polished up and back in action. The new owner of The Silvertron Cafe, Marco Morosini, wants to welcome all of his dedicated patrons back to the restaurant that all of Birmingham can call their own. Like the start of any good restaurant marriage, Morosini and Silvertron Cafe have come together with some dishes old, some dishes new, some dishes borrowed and customers true blue. They have long been known for their generous portions and variety of menu items. Silvertron continues to add to that tradition to introducing new dishes (many healthier options), new cocktails and new wines. Feeling a little pinch in your wallet this year? Silvertron is still one of Birmingham's best deals in dining out. And to sweeten that deal, every Monday at Silvertron Cafe is Monday Night Pasta with every pasta on the menu only $7.95, and $1 off glasses of wine or $4 off bottles of wine. Tex-Mex Tuesdays offers a fun sampling of dishes and $3 margaritas, sure to please. Every Wednesday evening, martinis are only $4; making Silvertron an ideal place to gather with friends and celebrate the survival of the first half of the work week. It is the perfect place for a workday lunch, dinner with the kids, an evening cocktail with friends, an award-winning Saturday morning breakfast or for Sunday brunch. And if you cannot sit and relax, let Silverton prepare something for you to take home - or perhaps cater your next meeting or party
Birmingham, Alabama
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best restaurant for families”
Reviewed March 7, 2013

Lots of space and children are warmly welcomed. Portions are huge and staff graciously does special requests. The owner personally stops by every time we are there just to make sure we're happy. Definitely a locals place.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Samoyed79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    66
    47
    16
    6
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mobile, Alabama
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Reminded us of our favorite hometown restaurant”
Reviewed February 27, 2013

We thought maybe the taxi driver was making a little extra money off of us, since the drive from our hotel took a little longer than Mapquest had indicated. But when we walked in, I thought, "This is where the people who live in Birmingham come for dinner." It just had the relaxed feel of a hometown crowd: young couples, couples with small children, grandparent couples, and our friendly waiter added to the feeling.

I'm going to tell you what you really want to know about --- the food was good, the portions generous, the price reasonable --- but I am also going to have to tell you why this place gets extra kudos.

Near the end of our meal, when asked if everything was all right, my husband asked if we would be able to hail a cab out front, or if we needed to call one. They called for a cab. They came back later, having checked on the cab's whereabouts even before we asked, to give us an update. A man, who I presumed to be the owner, answered my question about the large photo on the wall, and told us the story of the place. And then, when the cab arrived, he came out with us and opened the door.

I was touched by the friendliness and hospitality, and think you would be too.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank VLasai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
234 reviews
216 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Nice alternative”
Reviewed February 11, 2013 via mobile

Had lunch today which consisted of the special. It was a grilled portabella mushroom w/feta, arugula and an artichoke & sun dried tomato pesto. I also had a bowl of black bean soup. I'm a meat & potato guy and this impressed me.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Pier5660
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Alabama
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Marco is awsome”
Reviewed December 18, 2012

Marco's food is all for comfort and Silvertron favorites... My favorite is the Nona's pasta and the spinach quesadilla... my husband loves the chicken salad club and the little steak sandwiches..my daughter loves the hummus & chicken. You have to try breakfast on Saturdays!! The mare e monti omlette is to die for...

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Liz-RonB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Not that great”
Reviewed December 7, 2012

Went here tonight for dinner and maybe it was just busy, but service was terrible and took forever also if you want a quiet place to go this isn't it as there are no walls separating any of the tables so it's basically one big room with everyone sitting in the same space so you end up having to talk really loud to anyone at your table. Food was decent and priced well.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ELI C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Silvertron Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Silvertron Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing