We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice surprise”
Review of Garage Cafe

Garage Cafe
Ranked #121 of 947 Restaurants in Birmingham
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Outdoor Seating
Restaurant details
Dining options: Outdoor Seating
Birmingham, Alabama, United States
Level Contributor
60 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Nice surprise”
Reviewed January 30, 2013

A great atmosphere and nice sandwiches. I love pick your on sandwiches. I have not been here except for lunch, but I loved sitting outside.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank JacDeck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    25
    8
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, Alabama
Level Contributor
108 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“great for drinks, but only have sandwiches”
Reviewed January 17, 2013

our group loved the atmosphere to have drinks after work but were disappointed in the menu... no appetizer/bar snacks to speak of and only sandwiches/soup for dinner.. great selection of beers though

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Liz-RonB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Alabama
Level Contributor
139 reviews
103 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“An eclectic Dive Bar”
Reviewed January 17, 2013

Legend says it one of the "Top 10 Bars to FLY to". We visited on a Saturday afternoon. One of these places if you don't know how to order.....you won't get a thing? Go to the bar get a drink....walk steps back to the kitchen counter - order soup/sandwhich. It didn't come with instructions! They have a funky courtyard which has art/antique shops facing it, which I'm guessing is the draw. The bartender was rude and there ARE no waitresses that I saw? The neighborhood is VERY SUSPECT!
I think its a locals' hang out....but tourists beware!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Roy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
24 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“ok at best”
Reviewed January 8, 2013

No good food and I was hungry. Beer selection was good. They carried Palm beer...but who doesn't. Yeah just not impressed.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank chonnng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“My home”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Mellow and tucked away can describe the bar and its location. I always here a tune over head that was lost in my mind until that moment. This is where I like to hang out on a lazy Sat afternoon and get a mid day buzz or late at night before I rest my head.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rocknrolla77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Garage Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing