We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Highly recommend” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Westin Birmingham

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Westin Birmingham
Ranked #15 of 79 Hotels in Birmingham
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Nashville, Tennessee, United States
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Highly recommend”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2013

If you are staying in Birmingham, I highly recommend staying here. It is in a good location, and the beds and showers in the room are top notch. I really enjoyed the Pub as well. They do have a pool but unfortunately I didn't get a chance to try it out.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Bryan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark N, General Manager at The Westin Birmingham, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Dear Bryan B,

Thank you so much for your review and for choosing The Westin Birmingham for your recent stay. We’re glad you enjoyed your Heavenly bed and shower. Moreover, we hope next time you'll have the opportunity to enjoy our first-class pool in relaxed surroundings. We're sure you'll love it!

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Thank you again for your 5-star review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

415 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    216
    117
    51
    14
    17
See reviews for
63
84
24
173
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
42 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 174 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2013

I stayed here last week for a business trip. The hotel just opened earlier this year and is still sparkling with newness. My hotel room was a 2 queen bed room with a nice bathroom. The room came with a comfy robe and complimentary small bottle of water. The closet was ample sized and there was another closet with a mini-fridge and safe.

I used the exercise room 2 nights and found it clean and adequate. The ellipticals were in great shape with a tv inside each machine. Cold, refrigerated towels were available and a great after workout amenity.

Todd English PUB is the onsite restaurant. I enjoyed breakfast here daily (part of my rate) and one dinner here. The evening atmosphere is lively and upbeat. There was live music the evening I ate here. Great food if not a little pricy for bar food.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gina L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Voorhees, NJ
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2013

The Westin offers a New York City hotel feel, right in the heart of Birmingham. Staff is wonderful and extremely helpful. My father passed away while I was in Alabama, and the staff was very good at helping me fax important paperwork back and forth without making me feel like I was annoying. The rooms are spectacular and the bathrooms don't disappoint. It reminds me a lot of the Borgata in Atlantic City. I will be staying here again this coming weekend, and look forward to a nice night. Just minutes from the airport. I'd be remiss to leave out the very friendly valet's :)

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank VoorheesFam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
83 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2013

I was staying at the Westin for a convention and found the hotel very nice, modern and upscale. The hotel is new and the rooms are very luxurious. The hotel staff were very professional and helpful. Room service was excellent! Be sure to check out the lounge and Todd English Restaurant. I had breakfast at the restaurant and the food is excellent.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Practicalmatters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Level Contributor
82 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2013

Great place to stay. Excellent service, and the rooms were very smart. Impressive lobby. The drinks from the lobby bar were lovely, and the food in the restaurant good. It is very noisy though.Beautiful heavenly bed and bedding.

Room Tip: Valet parking is $22 and self park is right next to the valet so if you don't have too many bags...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank carolynu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark N, General Manager at The Westin Birmingham, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Dear carolynu,

Thank you for your recent stay and for sharing your experience. Most of all, thank you for recognizing our staff for their excellent service and our exceptional amenities. We take great pride in our service and appreciate you taking the time to acknowledge our efforts.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2013

This is a relatively new hotel and has very modern interiors. This is located in an upcoming area in the downtown. However, the nearby location is sketchy. I would not venture out too far on the foot late night. The bar is a busy place with a lot of local people hanging out in the evening. Overall, very good!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank excalibur0615
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark N, General Manager at The Westin Birmingham, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Dear excalibur0615,

Thank you very much for your gracious 4-star review. We were thrilled to learn you enjoyed the services you received. Thank you for your kind words and we are very hopeful of future chances to welcome you back to The Westin Birmingham.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
Level Contributor
79 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2013

The Westin is a lovely hotel with well-appointed, spacious rooms. Plenty of wonderful, fluffy towels, brand new spacious bathroom with terrific, big shower. Super soft bathrobe! Very clean. Nice big flatscreen TV. Starbucks coffee included in-room, a blow dryer, lotion and shampoo/conditioner, free bottle of water. Iron and ironing board. Very spacious closet space. Nice looking restaurants downstairs (hotel restaurant has oyster bar). Very nice, soft, luxurious bedding and pillows. Blackout curtains that really black everything out! Great a/c. Super comfy and homey. Efficient, friendly staff. In fact, one of my pet peeves is when you check in and they don't give you basic info. But no such issue here! The young lady who checked me in told me there's an outdoor pool (and where it is), fitness center, and explained the Internet service and the restaurants. This hotel should have everything you need and a very nice staff and clean, fresh appearance. A few average moments: only decent room service, my bed was a little hard or bumpy but not awful, and I could even hear zippers zip in the adjoining room so it was not soundproof but at least the folks there were quiet, and parking isn't convenient but not awful. Internet costs $.

Room Tip: Maybe avoid adjoining rooms which could be a bit noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mushroom1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
0.5 mi away
Redmont Hotel Birmingham, Curio Collection by Hilton
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Birmingham Downtown - The Tutwiler
0.1 mi away
Sheraton Birmingham
Sheraton Birmingham
#33 of 79 in Birmingham
3.5 of 5 bubbles 909 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Grand Bohemian Hotel Mountain Brook, Autograph Collection
1.3 mi away
Courtyard Birmingham Downtown at UAB
1.8 mi away
The Hotel Highland Downtown UAB
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Birmingham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Birmingham

Property: The Westin Birmingham
Address: 2221 Richard Arrington Jr Blvd N, Birmingham, AL 35203-1103
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alabama > Birmingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 79 Hotels in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Birmingham 4*
Number of rooms: 294
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin Birmingham opens in January 2013. Our hotel is located in The Marketplace, an upscale dining and entertainment complex and is nearby several popular downtown destinations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz and Jetsetter so you can book your The Westin Birmingham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing