We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“southern food...”
Review of Bogue's Restaurant

Bogue's Restaurant
Ranked #110 of 947 Restaurants in Birmingham
Price range: $6 - $6
Cuisines: American, Diner, Delicatessen
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
24 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“southern food...”
Reviewed January 8, 2013

The food was decent. It didn't make me want to keep piling food in my mouth because I couldn't get enough of it. However, it did fill me up.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank chonnng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    22
    12
    6
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, Alabama
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Food good, service minimal”
Reviewed December 22, 2012

Ate there today. Ordered two scrambled eggs and told the server that my only request for the meal was that the eggs be scrambled soft. I told her that I could not eat an egg that was hard. She nodded and wrote it down. The eggs were rubberized when I took the first and only bite. I don't know if she told the cook or if she did, the cook ignored the request. Apparently she didn't check the eggs when they got to the window either. The next time I saw her was when she returned wih my check when I was 85% done with my meal. I asked her to take the eggs off my ticket. She neither offered to have two more eggs fixed the correct way, nor did she apologize. She came back with my check ten minutes later after only taking $1 off the ticket and I left. My disappointment was reflected in her tip.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank David G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pine Bluff, Arkansas
Level Contributor
31 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Friendly service and good food”
Reviewed December 10, 2012

Very good service and good food. They give you plenty on the portions. The atmosphere was great and the prices were reasonable. Will go again if I'm in Birmingham again.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank speedwhite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Alabama
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“consistently good and friendly service”
Reviewed September 10, 2012

Food here is somewhat generic, but it is always good and the service is friendly and good. Regularly attend this breakfast spot.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, AL
Level Contributor
66 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“This is the "new Bogues".”
Reviewed September 8, 2012

I miss the old landmark building but the staff is the same and breakfast is great. Lunch is steamtable. Go for breakfast.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank thefluss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bogue's Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Bogue's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing