We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Neighborhood Staple”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Bogue's Restaurant

Bogue's Restaurant
Ranked #116 of 939 Restaurants in Birmingham
Price range: $6 - $6
Cuisines: American, Delicatessen, Diner
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Alabama
Level Contributor
330 reviews
258 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“A Neighborhood Staple”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2012

Went for Friday Breakfast Club with 7-8 people. We are regulars so if crowded they can let ours be slow to speed up others. Food is consistently good, not great. Average quality product makes average food. Biscuits are not homemade. Bacon and sausage of average quality, not as bad as a waffle house, but probably not the quality you buy at home, unless you shop solely for price. Country ham and smoked sausage is usually of their highest quality.
If you want a good breakfast, where the locals eat, this is the place.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ben-jam-in-done-that
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    21
    12
    6
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Gulf Coast, USA
Level Contributor
125 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Delicious Vegetable Plates!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2012

I ate lunch here with my brother and sister and it was just like grandmama used to make. We've eaten at the old location years ago just to get the sweet rolls! The sweet tea is awesome!

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mickispa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chattanooga, Tennessee
Level Contributor
62 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Southern Breakfast”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2012

Birmingham’s Bogue’s Restaurant serves Southern breakfast, and the restaurant does it well. Milk gravy, eggs—scrambled, fried, or omelets—sausage, bacon, ham, grits, hash brown potatoes, biscuits toast, coffee.

Service was a little slow on the Sunday morning we visited, but the breakfast was, as the cliché says, “worth the wait.” We ordered the western omelet, toast, grits, and a sunny-side up fried egg with biscuits and gravy. The biscuits were flaky and the grits were hot and thick. The cook didn’t scrimp on the omelet filling—three eggs, cheese, sausage, ham, sautéed onion and peppers. Our experience was good. We probably would return, if given the opportunity.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank K R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pensacola, Florida
Level Contributor
269 reviews
152 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
“Everything a Southern Breakfast Should Be!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2012

Order the biscuits and white gravy! The Forest Park location is the best.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Katie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alabama
Level Contributor
330 reviews
258 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“A Piece of Birmingham History”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2011

I have never eaten lunch here under the current owner; just breakfast every Friday. Service is great, ask for Eli Mae! All the food is good, just not great. They are just hanging on until their new building is complete in January. The place is an institution. When Mr Straynar owned it the line was out the door. Four owners later, they are relying on long time customers and history. Eggs are good, pancakes are good, omelets are good. Ham is great. Bacon, sausage, biscuits, french toast, just OK.
Sweet Rolls are fabulous. Forget the diet, just have sweet roles for breakfast. Just add butter and coffee, you will not be disappointed.

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ben-jam-in-done-that
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bogue's Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Bogue's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing