We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Makarios NUMBER 1 !!!!”

Makarios Kabob and Grill
Ranked #37 of 939 Restaurants in Birmingham
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Kids, Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Fort Lauderdale Florida
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Makarios NUMBER 1 !!!!”
Reviewed August 13, 2012

After leaving a late show in Birmingham we were desperate for a meal in a town that seems devoid of dining past 5pm. It was 11pm We saw Makarios and went hmmmm how good can this place be? It was the ONLY restaurant open and coming from Sofla we have are spoiled with our choices of late night bites.We entered out of sheer starvation and no other choices but left astounded by the high quality of food and service, with a decent price. Seriously good food, fresh, creative and friendly..........my late night lamb chops were to die for as was the Greek salad...... hummus and every single bite of food. Our waiter Scott was charming!

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Laurcholl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    52
    31
    5
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, Alabama
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Excellent Mediterranean Downtown”
Reviewed May 13, 2012

Ample portion of Garlic and Rice Ghallaba with Almonds; fantastic. Kebobs are equally good and the vegetables are cooked perfectly and charred.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Alatia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent”
Reviewed March 5, 2012

This place is just all around excellent! Food, service is wonderful. Their Fatoosh Tawook Salad is my favorite dish here.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cstrahan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chattanooga, TN
Level Contributor
103 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“great food”
Reviewed February 27, 2012

The food was excellent. Best tabbouleh and baba ganoush I've ever had! The atmosphere is not fancy, but it's clean and an excellent value.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank naniboujou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, Alabama
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good food, good service”
Reviewed January 22, 2012

Stopped in here on our way to a concert and had very little time. We told our waiter this and that it was our first time there. He quickly recommended a fast meal and his recommendation that it was very good. The meal was served promptly and was declicious. We noticed the meals around us which looked and smelled wonderful. Our waiter had us in and out in 30 minutes or so and we left telling him we would definately be back when we had more time to try the shish kabobs and the salads that looked so appetizing.

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Debbie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Makarios Kabob and Grill also viewed

 

Been to Makarios Kabob and Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing