We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome Lamb Gyro”

Taziki's Mediterranean Cafe
Ranked #65 of 954 Restaurants in Birmingham
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Delivery
Hendersonville, North Carolina, United States
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Awesome Lamb Gyro”
Reviewed August 10, 2014

Excellent lamb gyro and worth the drive to Birmingham (7 hours). Seriously, visiting friends and decided to "go Greek". When you opened the door, you knew this was the right place. Dining in was crowded but then it was lunch time in busy Birmingham. Clean; waitstaff was pleasant; wait for food was fast. Going back for another gyro before leaving.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 1Haffiegal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    73
    58
    18
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Alabama
Level 6 Contributor
146 reviews
100 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Glad we gave them a second chance”
Reviewed July 21, 2014

We ate at the Taziki's at Liberty Park several months and were not happy with our meal. This place was close to your hotel and we were tired and said what the heck we will give them another shot. Boy am I glad we did. The salad and sandwiches were great.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Mickey_slept_here
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Alabama
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Greek fare fast”
Reviewed July 7, 2014

Tried Taziki's with the wife recently not really knowing what to expect. Turns out that it is a "quick service" restaurant, which means you place your order at a counter and pay for it and then they'll bring it to your table. Not as much variety as what you might get from a traditional sit-down place, but my pork tenderloin was moist and flavorful, the wife's hummus was good, and prices were reasonable. It was a nice change of pace from the surrounding burger and taco joints.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank UberUbu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rainbow City, AL
Level 6 Contributor
301 reviews
172 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Great Greek food quickly!”
Reviewed June 23, 2014

I am fortunate that two blocks from my office is a Taziki's! Their humus is consistenly great, soft or crisp pita choice. Great grilled chicken salad served on a bed of roman lettuce, also love their beef tenderloin sandwich. Good food servered quickly in a nice atmosphere!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BarbeeAL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marion, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“"Fast Food with a Fresh Flair"”
Reviewed June 17, 2014

I love Greek food, so, Taziki's was my choice of restaurant for several nights in a row while staying in a nearby hotel.
Location was ideal for patrons either walking from nearby hotels or driving off the interstate or for those living in B'ham.
Atmosphere was welcoming as restaurant staff was friendly.
Food was very good; made to order and was fresh.
I had the beef gyro and the chicken gyro.
Basmati rice was the perfect side with these flavorful gyros.
Hummus and pita were also very good.
Nice outdoor eating area; only non-positive was you have to walk through the guests who are eating outside to get inside to order. Not really a problem just a bit awkward.
Area was clean.
I would recommend Taziki's for anyone who currently loves this type of cuisine and for those who are new to this type of food.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Shamwari777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Taziki's Mediterranean Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Taziki's Mediterranean Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing