We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Favorite!”
Review of Superior Grill

Superior Grill
Ranked #128 of 947 Restaurants in Birmingham
Cuisines: Southwestern, Mexican
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Broadway, North Carolina
Level Contributor
7 reviews
“Favorite!”
Reviewed November 16, 2012

I love this restaurant. It's large for Mexican. They food is always good! Never had a bad experience!

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank Malawibekah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

173 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    56
    71
    26
    14
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Rude and horrible service! (the date of service I put in us incorrect because the actual date was not an option on their list)”
Reviewed September 29, 2012

I've been here on three different occasions and on every visit someone working there has been rude and have had horrible service! The worst visit of them all was when I was with a party of about 12 people who asked for separate checks prior to ordering the meal. When I ordered one cheese dip, to go along with the chips and salsa, they brought two. As he was about to set the second one down I stopped him and told him I did not order 2. He said he knew and it was ok. The cheese dip was around $7 so I said something to him again about only ordering the one dip. He said 'it's ok' and left it on the table. The dip was good and the food was sufficient. At the end of the meal they brought the check and they charged us for 2 orders of cheese dip! I said ' Look at this! After telling him two times we didn't order the second'! I called him back to the table and he argued with me and said I need to pay $14 for the two! I asked for the manager and explained what had happen. No apology or correction on the bill! It was as if there was a big communication conflict here. The waiter did not speak English well But I know he knew what 'No' meant when I said 'No we didn't order that one'! Anyway, they made this huge deal over their $7 dollar cheese dip! I could not believe a restaurant would do this to a customer, especially when you tried to tell them prior to taking it that we didn't order it? Where is Good Customer Service??? At that point, it wasn't the money but the principal of this ordeal. Finally I told the manager that I thought the customer service was horrible and told him that I refused to pay for it and said i'd never be back there again. Since he was so unprofessional about all of this my poor sister paid it so the discussion would end. I was so embarrassed how they acted. I did pay my sister when we left because it wasn't her debt to pay. I just can't believe a business would do there customers the way they did us. Especially a manager who you would think would want a customer to come back.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SFPCAM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lacombe, Louisiana
Level Contributor
45 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Good Food”
Reviewed September 24, 2012

My husband loves the Jason Deli in Lafayette, LA so we were surprised that there was one close to the motel where we were staying. The food was very good and, of course, there is always free soft serve ice cream!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Carolynwb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississippi
Level Contributor
165 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“excellent food”
Reviewed September 20, 2012

Food is very good. A little expensive for lunch, but overall a good experience. would highly recoomend. Service was a little slow. I had to go find someone to refill my drinks. But that's minor to me. I do care about cleanliness, atmosphere, and excellent food.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank usmboyzzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackson, Mississippi
Level Contributor
143 reviews
139 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“I was disappointed”
Reviewed September 9, 2012

I stopped for lunch at the Superior Grill on September 8, 2011. Before I stopped, I didn't know it was a Mexican restaurant. I looked at the menue, and it wasn't the typical Mexican restaurant fair, and it looked interesting, so I stayed. I was served the complementary chips and salsa, and it was excellent. Unfortunately things went down hill from ther. I ordered a lunch that consisted of two beef enchaladas, a tamale, and the ubiquitous refried beens and spanish rice. There was also a taco in a soft shell. This could have been a very good lunch. Both the enchaladas and the tamale were thickly covered with some kind of tasteless, yellow cheese, and that destroyed the flavor of everything. The tamale was so dry that I had trouble swallowing it. I ate a few bites, paid my bill and left very disappointed. I could not, in any way, shape or form recommend this place to anyone at all.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cklous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Superior Grill also viewed

 

Been to Superior Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing