We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pass on by”
Review of Lone Star Steakhouse & Saloon - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Lone Star Steakhouse & Saloon
Cuisines: Steakhouse
Restaurant details
Dixon Missouri
Level Contributor
96 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Pass on by”
Reviewed August 18, 2012

Stopped here as our hotel was near and now wished we stopped somewhere else to eat. This is the one on State Farm Parkway. Our server, Carmen, was really nice and the sangrias were very good. The issue was the food. My husband and I had the sirloin and shrimp dinner and I'm not kidding, the steaks were less than 1/4 inch thick and overcooked. Dry and flavorless, not what you you expect from a steakhouse.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank moxieme63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

18 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    3
    3
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Alabaster, Alabama
Level Contributor
59 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“not bad”
Reviewed August 2, 2012

pretty good food, decent service during Christmas shopping! not the best, but certainly pretty good.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank BillinAlabaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
canton,illinois
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“dirty!”
Reviewed July 7, 2012

The restaurant was not clean and the bathrooms were so dirty that they were unusable. We did have a very nice waitress and the manager came around to our table to greet us, which was nice, but that does not make up for the lack of cleanliness.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank tweetya40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, PA
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lone Star”
Reviewed April 25, 2012

Service was not the best; waitress explained that she was training; food was just average

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Alison J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Lenox, IL
Level Contributor
39 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Bad service, mediocre food”
Reviewed April 10, 2012

We ate here because we could walk from our hotel, and have had only good experiences in the past with this chain. Big mistake.

The restaurant was not crowded, yet the service was horrible. Asked 3 times for silverware and still hadn't received it by the time our food came. Took forever to get our food, then they brought the wrong food. Food was not hot or appealing. The only thing decent was the salad. Ordered a steak french dip type of sandwich with au jus. It turned out that the "au jus" was soy sauce. I don't know if that was a misktake or the way they normally serve this type of sandwich, but the menu clearly said "au jus" and our waitress was MIA so I couldn't ask. Then they failed to return our credit card which meant we had to call multiple times to get confirmation that they did have our card because they kept hanging up.

I would never go back.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Susanilz5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lone Star Steakhouse & Saloon also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing