We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fresh good food”

Niki's West Steak & Seafood
Ranked #31 of 942 Restaurants in Birmingham
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Kids, Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Brunch, Dinner, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Rye, Colorado
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Fresh good food”
Reviewed April 14, 2014 via mobile

We found this restaurant on Road Food.com. You can either order from the menus or go through the cafeteria line. We found it less of a hassle to order from the menu since we were driving through AL and had never been here. Our waitress. Jill, was really great and told us that everything was fresh. We started out with the fresh oysters, which were huge. I had the blackened snapper and my husband had the fried oysters. There are plenty of vegetable dishes to chose from, like fried green tomatoes, collard greens, etc. Be sure to order the "famous Nikki's slaw". It was unique and delicious. We had pecan pie - delicious.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Michele C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

233 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    112
    73
    25
    11
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
North Alabama
Level Contributor
86 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Totally Unique”
Reviewed April 13, 2014

Name a restaurant that has a steam table with over 20 different vegetables! Niki's is the only one I've found that has those vegetables hot and ready to serve. With over 1/2 dozen meats to choose from there is something for everyone here. Save room for those desserts! They are the typical cobblers and pies, that taste like your mom just baked them.

They operate perhaps the most efficient steam table in existence, and no matter how large the crowd, you never need to wait too long.

This is southern cafeteria cooking on a mega scale. I've never had a bad dish in 25 years of visits.

The interior of the restaurant is getting "long in the tooth", it is very dated. However this not quite rustic interior is part of the charm because it is like stepping into the past.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank PineBell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Alabama
Level Contributor
445 reviews
163 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
“Always fresh & tasty !”
Reviewed April 1, 2014 via mobile

This has to be a favorite of folks who love fresh cooked meats & veggies !
Breakfast, lunch or dinner there are a variety of foods offered. Many times the line is long for the buffet service, but it moves quickly. Needless to say this clean, well managed restaurant is a local favorite !

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank beckaj01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Alabama
Level Contributor
236 reviews
160 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Slap yo granny”
Reviewed March 4, 2014

The best vegtables served purchased at the farmers market across the street.themeat is excellent with broiled fish or chicken if you are on a diet.sream table is long and full of southern vegtables but be sure you know what you want because the servers expect a quick answer and the owner may be one of them.I go there as often as i can.its a classic.also the desserts are great.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rebelwebb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
451 reviews
409 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“skip the fried shrimp but good sides”
Reviewed February 6, 2014

had the fried shrimp for the first time, I would not recommended too much batter and did not taste fresh. But, their sides / veg. are great. I enjoy all their fresh veg. but just pick the wrong meat this time.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank billreedred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Niki's West Steak & Seafood also viewed

Birmingham, AL
 

Been to Niki's West Steak & Seafood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing