We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Food good”
Review of Shula's Steak House - CLOSED

Shula's Steak House
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions
Dining options: Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Highway 31
Description: Shula’s Steak House is the classic American steakhouse: a fine dining white tablecloth restaurant. In order to be the best steak house, Don Shula followed the same principles that made him the winningest coach in football history - select the best talent available and give them the resources they need to succeed. In the restaurant business, that meant serving Premium Black Angus Beef® steaks, the best beef money can buy and providing our restaurant team with the best training. In terms of our restaurant team, he ran it like a sports team. In sports, one's performance is based on results - either you win or lose. The same is true for our restaurant team. Our managers are called Head Coaches and they have the authority to manage the team as they see fit to ensure repeated winning seasons. Our custom center cuts of Premium Black Angus Beef® steaks accompanied with our aging process make up our award winning SHULA CUT ® , the best beef money can buy. Our custom cuts and aging process are the highest in the industry. You won't find a better steak anywhere. Our restaurant is themed after the 1972 Miami Dolphins' "Perfect Season" - the only team in NFL history to finish a season undefeated. The menus are hand painted on an official NFL game football. At Shula's Steak Houses, one of the featured entrees is the 48-Ounce Porterhouse. Those who finish it join Shula's 48-Ounce Club, which currently has more than 26,000 members. I invite you to experience Shula's Steak House, where we only offer the biggest and the best. Shula’s Steak House Birmingham is a proud recipient of Wine Spectator’s 2011 Award of Excellence. With over 150 wines in our collection and a knowledgeable staff, we can help you select the perfect pairing to compliment your meal.
Reviewed June 27, 2012

Great steak house in the heart of birmingham! Truly amazing! Reminds me of the time when we had the steak in dubai made by michillin star chefs! Service could be better tho!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank UziAFC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviews (132)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

99 - 103 of 132 reviews

Reviewed May 31, 2012

Pro's: Top rate restaurant, Top quality beef, Top quality atmosphere. One of THE best bone-in rib-eyes I've ever had and the wife agreed (quality and cut blew Ruth's Chris away). The steaks are so good they do not season them and that's the way I prefer it. If it's a choice cut, it shouldn't need seasoned except for salt to your taste. Absolutely delicious!.Awesome Football memorabilia.

Con's: Wait staff was forgetful. I ordered a pina colada and was told the blender was broken (really? at an upscale restaurant? and was not apologized to nor offered something in lieu of it at their expense like you would expect when you pay that kind of money) $$$$ Our meal was $179 for my wife and I (2 cowboy rib-eyes 22oz, lobster mashed potatoes al a carte, asparagus with bearnaise sauce al a carte, 2 margarita's, and dessert.)

Thank DaveGTR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Todd_Hagerty, Manager at Shula's Steak House, responded to this reviewResponded June 6, 2012

Dear DaveGTR from Jacksonville NC;

Thank you for your comments, both the Pros and the Cons. Your notes let us know that we did well and what we could do to improve. This will help us get better. We agree that our steak need very little seasoning – salt & pepper with a light brush of butter. Yummy! Our Premium Black Angus Beef® brand has the highest standards for quality and consistency, making it the best-tasting beef available. Delicate marbling naturally bastes beef for better taste, and the Premium Black Angus Beef® brand is all about great-tasting beef.

I am sorry about the forgetful wait staff… this can’t happen if you are to fully enjoy the dinning experience. Thanks for letting me know about the blender, it did break, so we went out today and got a brand new one.

If you ever find your way back to Hoover, Alabama please look me up I would love to personally thank you.

Todd L. Hagerty
Hotel Manger, The Wynfrey Hotel
and Food & Beverage Director, Shula's Steak House Birmingham/Hoover
todd.hagerty@wynfreyhotel.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2012

Better than Morton's, better than Ruth's Chris. It was just awesome! The service was outstanding, it just could not have been better.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank StankyRich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Todd_Hagerty, Manager at Shula's Steak House, responded to this reviewResponded June 6, 2012

Dear Benita B from Gadsden;

WOW, Thank you for your great comments. We strive to serve the best steak money can buy and served the best trained staff. We are so pleased that we succeeded with your dining experience.

We know that you have tons of chooses but I hope we see you again for either lunch, dinner or both, seriously.

Todd L. Hagerty
Hotel Manger, The Wynfrey Hotel
and Food & Beverage Director, Shula's Steak House Birmingham/Hoover
todd.hagerty@wynfreyhotel.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2012

It's pricey; but worth it!! YUMMY A treat for sure---always top quality, excellent service.

Thank Benita B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Todd_Hagerty, Manager at Shula's Steak House, responded to this reviewResponded June 6, 2012

Dear Benita B from Gadsden;

Thank you for choosing The Wynfrey again. We are pleased that you had an undefeated dining experience at Shula's Steak House, where we only offer the best beef money can buy, The SHULA CUT®.

We hope to see you for your next treat!

Todd L. Hagerty
Hotel Manger, The Wynfrey Hotel
and Food & Beverage Director, Shula's Steak House Birmingham/Hoover
todd.hagerty@wynfreyhotel.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2012

What we particularly like from this restaurant was their cheese cake. Some of the best that we have had! If you visit this restaurant, ask for the cheesecake for dessert!

Thank kerstineo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Todd_Hagerty, Manager at Shula's Steak House, responded to this reviewResponded June 6, 2012

Dear cheesecake lover, Kerstineo from Harrisburg;

We love your story! I have a great one for you. The General Manager of The Wynfrey Hotel has a requirement when he eats at Shula’s Steak House… he must bring home a piece of cheese cake to be admitted in the house. True story!

Thank you choosing Shula’s. We know you have many chooses. We hope to see you in the future.

Todd L. Hagerty
Hotel Manger, The Wynfrey Hotel
and Food & Beverage Director, Shula's Steak House Birmingham/Hoover
todd.hagerty@wynfreyhotel.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing